We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Potala Guest House

Expedia.comUSD 24*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 25*
USD 24*
USD 25*
USD 25*
USD 24*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Potala Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Potala Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Haifa, Israel
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stopped here for a couple of nights. We know the place from previous visit, now it was disappointing: grey towels, stained linens, leaks in bathroom etc. For 25$ a night you can get better stay in Kathmandu. On the positive side - the staff is always there to help when possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are really sorry to know about your experience with us during your recent visit, while we were on renovation Phase. Well we always respect our customers feedback & feedback like yours really helps us to improve our guest satisfactory motive. Once again, sincerely apology for inconvenience caused & it will be our pleasure to have an another...

Washington
Reviewed 11 October 2016

This hotel is being updated and I got one of the very lovely new rooms. Very tasteful :) Hotel is in the middle of Thamel but very quiet. Staff is great. They could definitely charge more for these rooms. The picture above is of the old rooms. The website shows the new rooms. Restaurant does great momos.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThickDescription
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this review

sincerely thanking you for your kind feedback & observation regarding Deluxe room, we are pleased to know that you had a very wonderful time with us during your recent visit. Sincerely, Operation Manager, Rinjen lama

Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on my way back from Pokhara. Located conveniently in Thamel, this place is good option for budget stay. Nice clean hotel with comfortable bed, hot water and free wifi is also available. Staff were super helpful. When I visited in December, the place looked a bit shabby though, due to ongoing renovation and most probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avik H
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this review

Sincerely thanking you for your kind & sincere feedback, Well we wore on renovation phase during you visit to Nepal with us & sorry for the caused inconvenience. Renovation is all done & hotel looks very beautiful. you can log on to our web page & face book page for the latest updates, it will be our pleasure to have...

Wauna
Reviewed 17 January 2016

In November, 2014, and November, 2015, I have stayed at the Potala with a trekking group. The staff is helpful. Compared to most budget hotels in Nepal, the rooms are comfortable, clean with their own bathrooms. Be sure to stay, if possible, in room in the back. Front rooms are exposed to street noise and dust. One word of caution:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal V
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights.. Nice clean and cozy rooms. Centrally located near Thamel market. Reasonable price. They also have good in house travel desk. Food is OK.. But staying in Tha mel you have plenty of options to explore for restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asif M
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Spent three nights here and loved my stay,I stayed in the new part of the hotel single room,very clean and room cleaned everyday towels etc.Lovely new modern bathroom,the shower plenty of hot water and strong the best shower in all of my stays in Nepal!!! The staff are so nice willing to give advice or help with any questions nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveller180
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 19 April 2015

I stayed here before and after a trek to EBC. For starters here is what you will not get: No air or heat. No elevator. Limited room cleaning. What you will get is a charming hotel with character, very friendly front desk staff, helpful bellmen and good wifi. They have great hot water and most of the rooms have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carol_l_kelley
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights during my visit to Kathmandu. Location is good as there are lots of shops and restaurants around. The room is small but adequate. What really surprised me is that there is consistent power supply as I experienced power outage all the time during my travel through Nepal. Wifi is good on lower floors. If getting connected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria1126
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I rented a room next door that was awful. These guys saved the day. The rooms were clean , the bed was really comfortable, tv air conditioning. But The best part was the staff. They not only were bilingual polite and informative. But they they had a fun sense of humor. I felt that as an American they got me....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marta S
delhi
Reviewed 17 January 2015

the hotel is very nice in every way, the best thing about this hotel is its very clean and standard. the people are warm and nice. it is well managed. the restaurant is something that i didn't feel like part of this guest house as it mainly serves only Chinese. but rest everything is good about this guest house.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ladiesman883

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 km away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 km away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#101 of 198 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#117 of 198 in Kathmandu
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#81 of 198 in Kathmandu
333 reviews
0.2 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
618 reviews
0.5 km away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#99 of 198 in Kathmandu
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the center of the Thamel, the tourist hub of Kathmandu , Potala Guest House provides budget rooms with attached bathrooms as well as spacious, comfortable deluxe AC rooms since 1983 AD. The Guest House has a courtyard garden with patio and reflection pool, a newly opened multi cuisine restaurant and renovated deluxe rooms and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Potala Guest House

Address: J.P Road | Chetrapati, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $19 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Potala Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Potala Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potala Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Potala Hotel Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Potala Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Potala Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the street are more quiet”
tanja2200, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose the deluxe rooms”
Sarah_Wonder, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the newly redecorated rooms”
ThickDescription, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to stay in rooms in the back.”
nealv2013, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“if you can afford go for the super deluxe rooms. i have stayed in other rooms as well, and are good.”
ladiesman883, 17 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 24* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 25
Orbitz.comUSD 24
Hotels.comUSD 24
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates