We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Thamel

Show Prices
#52 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Thamel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Thamel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Our stay was amazing in this hotel, the rooms were very clean. the house keeping are very friendly n they clean the rooms everyday , as u want them. The staffs are very helpful. location is great, Quite rooms , as you walk out of the hotel in just 20meters you are there rite in the heart of Thamel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DorjeTsering
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Dorje Tshering Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 April 2016

This is my first time in Katmandu. I stayed at Hotel Thamel for 6 nights. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. I have stayed in a 1- 5 star hotel around the world and this is a 2 stars hotel. Hotel Thamel is a love and hate suitation. The location is great and just one minute walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank java888
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valuable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and offering useful positive feedback . Regarding some comments about generator we are so sorry that our country is facing electricity problem and every hotel’s is using generator as...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2016

It was a very nice time spent at Thamel Hotel. The suite room is very comfortable,wide and clean. The staff exceptionally frienly as allways & the atmosphere very special for mountain lovers. All facilities were given to us during our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback for our suite room as well as staff attitudes . Your five star review makes us proud and is a great...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

The location is centrally located in the heart of city proper easy access to everything The staff are very friendly and made my stay like I was not away from home Infact I was their newly hired receptionist and did my quality improvement speech To all the staff at hotel thamel Thanks for the superb services

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinahmate
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

Anacortes
Reviewed 9 April 2016

If you want to stay in the middle of the action, spend only a little money, this is the place. Close to the action, shops, Durbar square. Now after the quake the streets are in bad shape, lots of dust and a lot of buildings are down. I have my favorite stores, Whale, full of silk rugs, dresses, jackets, scarves,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bojankuure
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Room is basic and spacious. Not as clean as I expected but still acceptable. We only stayed here for a night to Pokhara so nothing to complain. The water for some reasons turned out to be yellowish. Maybe it is due to the water pipe. Not sure if other rooms have the same problem. Breakfast is basic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sonia F
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Sonia F. Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel but regarding yellowish water it is due to warm lights reflection while taking shower in bathroom and you can see in our previous reviews as well that we don't...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We started and ended our trip staying in Hotel Thamel. Perfect stay: great accommodation; great location; great food! Well-priced. Thank you Mr Gurung and team (zandro, Prem, Suboss and everyone) for all that you did to make our first visit to Kathmandu so special, so memorable. Thank you for looking after our every need: booking busses; giving advice regarding itinerary;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlene g
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Marlene Hadden Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

Roeselare, Belgium
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I have been booking this hotel at least 6 or 7 times in the last 15 years. In fact, I booked it each time I was in Kathmandu: good rooms, good service, friendly people, near the centre of Thamel and yet very quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcjoye
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Mr. Marc Joye Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay...

New Zealand
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem situated in the heart of Thamel......beautifully clean rooms.....very friendly staff and superb food......absolute value for money. Easy 1 minute walking to shops banks cafes nightlife and very safe! I would highly recommend this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 54,535,453
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

Sydney
Reviewed 27 March 2016

As above. If you need somewhere spacious to chill, this hotel got great lobby and frontyard area and great staff. But def need improvement on food and internet connections. Id say perhaps more varieties on the breakfast menu?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winnie7878
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear ,MS. Alex Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. We are planning to improvised in our Breakfast but as now country is facing blocked & fuel crisis, as for the internet on that very day from the WiFi station only we faced such problem as well due to...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 km away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,115 reviews
0.4 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
607 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 193 in Kathmandu
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
655 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
407 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#43 of 193 in Kathmandu
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located centrally in the popular tourist area ,Hotel Thamel offers homely and friendly environment to make anyone feel like their own home.The name of the hotel is itself taken from the place this hotel is located. Hotel Thamel is 15 mins drive from airport and is in a walking distance from most of the attractions like monkey temple, Garden of Dreams, King Palace and Durbar square. Hotel Thamel is one of the hotel in Thamel area with private sunny balcony in guest rooms. All the rooms are well furnished with modern amenities . To make your stay comfortable , our staff are always ready to help you with a smile on their face.Our well decorated cozy restaurant situated on the ground floor caters a wide selection of cuisines and our roof top garden situated on the sixth floor offers a peaceful relaxing spot to relax and drink a beer, sip tea or coffee We welcome you at Hotel Thamel where you are not just a guest ,but a sister, a brother and a friend whose necessity and requirements are our most priority. Facilities 1. Wi-Fi: High speed WI_FI is available in every corner of the hotel 2. 24 hr room service: 3. Baby sitter and doctor on call 4. Safe Deposit Facility: You can store your valuables in the safe deposit available at the reception areaFree luggage storage: You can leave your luggage at the hotel when you are on a trek 5. Foreign exchange Facility: You can exchange your currency at the reception. 6. Laundry service available 7. Travel Desk: Travel desk assit you in all kinds of tours arrangement, sight seeing , ticketing, vehicle rental and trekking 8. Credit card accepted 9. Hair Dryer: Hair dryer is available on request 10. Newspaper: english news paper are available at the reception 11. Wake up call 12. Restaurant serving continental, mexican, indian, chinese and nepali cuisines ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Thamel

Address: Thamel Marg 723/28, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $36 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Thamel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thamel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Hotel Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Thamel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Thamel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't expect panoramic views of lush green fields in Kathmandu, especially in Thamel as it's an ultra-urbanized environment.”
152sria, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with front side are sunny and with balcony and back side is of quieter one....”
nursangl, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lifts in the hotel”
250prasadg, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Because no elevator in the hotel, it is better for old people to request rooms in the first or second floor.”
, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe room was a bit more expensive, but with a nicer bathroom”
U3922CBdaniela, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5