We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 356: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the pleasure of staying There were always some functions happening at this hotel on 2 occasions as part of an organized tours. Both times we had a garden view room which is considered the better option than the rooms facing the road. There were functions being held in the garden area some days-never noisy and would finish no later...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripMember07162015
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you! for your kind feedback. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed our award winning landscaping and the ambiance. Myself and the team will be happy to receive you again at our Hotel. Please do let us know your next plan for visiting Kathmandu. Best Regards Samir Banerjee

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well organised hotel, don't expect many cuisines in breakfast list, rooms are fine, easy access to roads and nearby visiting sites security is much perfect yes the piano player is bit attitude guy be careful with him if ever your mobile rings when he is playing the piano he will react In a way that he owns the hotel rest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarfaraz S
Kishor T, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you! for your kind feedback. We at The Shangri-la Hotel, delighted to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality. However, we have noted your comment and surely work on that. Myself and team will be happy to see you back. Best Regards Samir Banerjee

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are cosy and specious, welcome fruit basket and cookies are good, view from the room is poor, a/c just fine or not at all working at times, breakfast in my 3rd day is still the very same except for noodle is replaced with fried rice. If you reach a restaurant after 9.45 the breakfast will be cold and juice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holiday K
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback at Tripadvisor. We at The Shangri-La Hotel are known for our International spread of buffet breakfast. However your feedback has been taken very positively and surely team will work on this. On your next visit you will find more innovation. Please do let us know your plan of visit to Kathmandu. We...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I originally thought this Shangri-la belongs to the worldwide Shangri-la chain. Although found out at the end it wasnt, the stay was in fact not bad. Front desk staff were attentive and fast. Breakfast at Lost Horizon was average but had all the basic items. The room I had on 3rd floor was abit tired but was clean and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at shangri la and wasn't a pleasant stay. For that amount you can get amazing facilities and food in Kathmandu. Room service just entered the room when I was in bed. It's a show and just poor management. They are hospitable but surely do not qualify and even close to a five star standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shivendra G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is lovely and the staff are very polite & friendly.We loved the beautiful garden/lawn.The location is also convenient- away from the chaos of the busy streets but located so conveniently that we could reach Thamel ( for shopping ) in 8-10 mins(without traffic).We ordered Nepalese food & burgers via room service on our last night of stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nammi S
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is basically a 3 star hotel with shangri la brand..rooms are old fashioned..bathrooms leak..room service is horribly slow..have to call twice or thrice to get even a dental kit..food is ok..prices are high..proper 3 stars at less price and better service are available...casino is pretty small..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RajatK19
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Shangri-La. My second visit, Di's third. Perfect to relax and recuperate for a few days after trekking, before heading home. Staff great. Rooms very comfortable. Food excellent!! Cocktails..... Coffee...... Just do it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel H
Delhi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi...i like the ambience of the hotel..but service is poor...food is horrible no one care about food at the time of breakfast its ridiculous... .cost of food is too high. Rooms are good but very old style furniture...bathroom needs lot of attention no hot water at all....?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yatin S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Reception staff (males) were unfriendly. I wanted to arrange for a taxi to a business meeting and they were not helpful. The lady secuity guard was far more helpful. Recommend asking her to hail a taxi from the road side. Don't use the one taxi parked at the Hotel. He charges exorbitant prices. The room was a disaster! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anny3737

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#29 of 191 in Kathmandu
1,362 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#54 of 191 in Kathmandu
942 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#50 of 191 in Kathmandu
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#40 of 191 in Kathmandu
964 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#20 of 191 in Kathmandu
311 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#17 of 191 in Kathmandu
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $114 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a garden view room on 2nd/3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles TripMember07162015, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden view rooms are the better selection.”
 of 5 bubbles noelh461, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms above ground floor, which are garden facing. Tell them at reservation time itself that you need a King size bed.”
  • Ground floor room door
  • Ground Floor Room Entrance
 of 5 bubbles anny3737, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I would say choose a room overlooking the garden area. Such a beauty”
 of 5 bubbles 77mzm, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay in top floor to avoid street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles cartycd, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay