We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Vaishali

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Vaishali
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vaishali
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and the lobby looks lovely, internet is ok most of the time. Breakfast is average, nothing special but will fill you up for the day. The bathrooms are very old and worn. We had a few instances where the hotel staff were trying to rip us off hence the low rating (would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Girl-about-town-84
kumar v, Executive Director at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Vaishali Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide. Naturally, I am extremely disappointed and apologetic for the...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very comfortable with free wifi and swimming pool.. It feels like staying in our own home. Very good and attentive staff .. The food served at the restaurant was delicious. Enjoyed alot..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kabita K
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel exterior looks ok and the hotel lobby looks nice. Inside the rooms however the showers are very old and full of stains and the toilets don't flush. We went after the earthquake so there power cuts and water shortages were to be expected. However for a 4star hotel and the price you pay I would expect more. At...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cakebaker54321
kumar v, Executive Director at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Vaishali Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide. Naturally, I am extremely disappointed and apologetic for the...

Delhi
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The location of hotel is not very good, faced jams in slender lanes. The price for food is kept very high as compare to India. Hotel staff is quite cooperative and also provided complimentary breakfast. Toilet has broken seat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suresh Kumar B
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Very convenient and strategic location. Clean rooms and excellent services. Breakfast was simple but good. The 'chai' is superb. My daughter loved their ice cream. I had to call when one the lights was not working but they checked all lights and made sure I was happy. Front desk to cleaners are friendly and serves you with smile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 641sheelas
kumar v, Executive-Director at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room and the services by the staffs . It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We...

Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Located in touristic Thamel of Kathmandu, the Hotel Vaishali is a good place to keep yourself happy, specially when you are with your family, though single people also do enjoy it. It is more calm than other hotels in Thamel area. It has some rooms for business like workshop and meeting. They give good hospitality but have a limited items...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gpojha
kumar v, Executive Director at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room. It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We would love to welcome you and your...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The hotel was booked by our tour guide. It is right in the city centre, and has easy access to the main shopping roads. There are several ATMs nearby as well as exchange shops, plus the usual bunch of restaurants, gift shops, trekking-wear shops, and a couple of supermarkets and a bakery The hotel was clean and the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richardinprague_11
kumar v, Executive Director at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room. It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We would love to welcome you and your...

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here from 5th to 8th July with family. A bit run down but service and staff response real good. It's well located in Thamel with access to shopping, food and other tourist needs. A little touching up here and there would make it a better choice for those who frequent Kathmandu. However, no complaints and am satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NigelRandolph
kumar v, Executive-Director at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were...

Philippines
Reviewed 16 June 2016

The Vaishali Hotel is centrally located right in the middle of the tourist district where most of the shops and restaurants are situated. The staff was extremely helpful and tried their best to meet ones needs and requirements. The internet connection was poor and we encountered much grief trying to log on and obtain emails, etc. The breakfast was okay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M O
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Nothing much to talk about. We spent one night. The entire get up is shabby. The e reception area is impressive, but that is not an indication of the room. Located in Thamel the hotel is popular with Indian tourists and those seeking to stay in the shopping area. The buffet breakfast is average. Cannot complain about service. Staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank puchka
kumar v, Executive-Director at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We take all our guest reviews very seriously as we value our guests opinions and feedback in order to better our services. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and have already taken immediate action with our team. Please be reassured that point you have raised has been addressed and...

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.3 km away
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
#73 of 194 in Kathmandu
94 reviews
0.0 km away
The Amadablam Hotel Pvt. Ltd
The Amadablam Hotel Pvt. Ltd
#158 of 194 in Kathmandu
3 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#48 of 194 in Kathmandu
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 194 in Kathmandu
330 reviews
2.8 km away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 194 in Kathmandu
263 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#98 of 194 in Kathmandu
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Vaishali is situated in Thamel -The heart of kathmandus business cultural and shopping district,just 20 minutes from the airport. Vaishali offers guests a choice of 95 centrally air-conditioned elegant modern rooms including 8 splendid suites to cater the needs of the travellers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $55 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Vaishali staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Vaishali staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good as they do not offer any kind of view from any specific room. But it might be good to opt 2 & 3 floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great hotel with poor location”
 of 5 bubbles 244sureshkumarb, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best location that serves you with smile at all times”
 of 5 bubbles 641sheelas, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the eastern side are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles gpojha, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The wifi works better near the central part of the hotel. We struggled to get a signal at the end of the corridor”
 of 5 bubbles richardinprague_11, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5