We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ambassador Garden Home

Show Prices
#20 of 188 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Garden Home
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Garden Home
See the most recent reviews
Showing 527: English reviews
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Hard to beat the location of this central Thamel hotel, just next to KGH. The superior rooms are very spacy, nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast is another highlight while the staff is always kind and attentive to customers' needs. A bit on the pricy side by KTM standards (EUR 100 per day for a family of 4) but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WoburnExpress
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Spent six nights in the Ambassador Garden Home as a base for day trekking and exploring Kathmandu. It is in a central location in the heart of Thamal, off a busy street but it is quiet and has a cosy lobby area and secluded courtyard for breakfast. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The bedroom was small but clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seanjoe
Indian Land, South Carolina
Reviewed 26 October 2012

AGH is a nice property in the Thamel District of Kathmandu. Down a narrow alley from a busy street, this hotel offers a respite from the hustle, bustle, cars, scooters, rickshaws and bikes of a busy, noisy city. The rooms are nice and the staff is very accomodating. One drawback . . . their reservation system is lousy. After several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelKeith001
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for sharing your experience with us , about reservation , i will pass this message to concern department , thank you once again for your time. Hope to see you again in future. warm regards, Prakash

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The thing that struck me the most was how friendly and accommodating the staff were.. and we had uninterrupted power supply.. a big deal in KTM (Kathmandu). One of the best things about this hotel it their garden patio - was a welcome respite from the orgasmic chaos that is KTM. The rooms however are just so-so, but who stays...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mtl_guy36
London
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at Ambassador Garden Home for 4 nights overall during our trip in Nepal end of September 2012. We paid our room around 90$ a night, through booking.com. After spending time in Nepal, we realized that this is far too much money for a night stay in Kathmandu, and Nepal in general. The manager of the hotel agreed (he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yano224
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for your comment , yes you have paid deluxe double including taxes, service charges & breakfast. usd 89 (before tax usd 72.00). Cost includes : Government taxes,Service charges,Ambassador breakfast,Tea/coffee in room 2 bottles untouched water in rooms everyday, Daily news paper in rooms Free high speed wifi facility with computers in lobby & wifi in...

Reviewed 17 October 2012

Its a highly overrated hotel. My room was on 3rd floor and you get irritated to climb esp after walking around thamel. No room service menu n very basic kitchen only good for breakfast. Travel desk was asking much higher price for flights and hotel booking. Very poor lighting n ventilation in room. Bathroom was basic, cleanliness was good. No...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dr SSS MRCP
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comment , the room you had stayed with us is room No 304 which has exhaust fan where you have to switch on for ventilation , which had been told you at check in time. about locker off course we do have locker in every room in cub-broad , you must have over looked...

basejump
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel is everything it and the reviews on this site promises. We stayed for three night in two bed super deluxe room. We had booked a deluxe room up were upgraded on arrival. Check in was very professional; we were offerred cool drinks on arrival and the check in was done in the airconditioned lounge area - a similiar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank basejump123
Reviewed 11 October 2012

If you choose to stay in the craziness that is Thamel, do yourself a favor and stay here. It backs of the main street a bit, I can't believe how quiet it is right there in Thamel. I was blown away by the rooms as compared to the cost of the hotel, and the customer service was outstanding. A peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graybeard73
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Almost unexpectedly, in the disarray, dust and noise of Thamel, with its small shops, traffic and complete disorder, is a small side lane, and nestled within, completely out of sight, is the Ambassador Garden Hotel. Stepping into the small but cosy lobby is like stepping into a refuge of sudden calm, cool and order. The hotel may be small, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeyuk
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights, and enjoyed the quality, cleanliness and location. It is small and family-like with a lovely garden for breakfast. Good wifi and 2 computers for guest to use in the lobby. The staff is gracious, led by Nabin!! Thanks for a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DBeer

440 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (368)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 km away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#17 of 188 in Kathmandu
96 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 188 in Kathmandu
1,044 reviews
0.5 km away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 188 in Kathmandu
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#7 of 188 in Kathmandu
325 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#10 of 188 in Kathmandu
303 reviews
5.6 km away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 188 in Kathmandu
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $51 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Garden Home staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Sacramento, California
over a year ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Garden Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift so best to have a room on the first or second floors”
 of 5 bubbles e2ek1elk, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Given it is in Thamel, try to get a room on an upper floor. That said you will have to walk up.”
 of 5 bubbles dougf805, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Street side provides great view of the city life but noise. Garden side provides more quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles Jean760placeP, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden view rooms are quiet.Street side rooms seem bigger. Difficult to choose!”
 of 5 bubbles mirakangel, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No lift. You to hit the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles in2it54, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay