We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holy Lodge

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holy Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Holy Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed there at the holy lodge in Katmandu twice and was always very welcomed by the friendly staff, the hotel is in a quite street in front of which there is a very nice garden restaurant. There are very authentic Nepali rooms with low ceilings at a cheep price, and they have also very deluxe private rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in this hotel on many different occasions. Every experience I have had has been exceptional. It has everything going for it, affordability, location, cleanliness, extremely friendly staff, wifi, beds etc etc. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Look no further then Holy Lodge when considering where to stay in Kathmandu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Killian C
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

I had booked a family room (travelling with 2 children 10&11yrs) on arrival we were delighted to find it located right in the heart of a busy tourist area of Thamel.. the location could not be better....then we stepped inside!! The hotel does not resemble the photos they post. Everything was dirty. The 'family room' was absolutely shocking on every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKERRATTFAMILY
holy l, Manager at Holy Lodge, responded to this review

We want to apologize upon hearing your long thread of complains you made about our hotel.But at the same time we like to strongly defend some of the complaints those are dramatically exaggerated. Regarding the first family room you checked in which you told was nasty from all the levels; all right we beg pardon for that. But, do you...

Melbourne, Victoria
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Spent my first 4 nights in KTM at Holy Lodge and subsequently came back at later stages. On first impression I was not wowed, however I grew to thoroughly enjoy the place: - the standard rooms are budget, yet clean and functional (it was the only place I stayed in KTM and so can't compare with other places of similar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grant H
Kathmandu
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Holy lodge located in right center of Thamel . Hotel have nice tarrace and helpful staff with sunny roof top garden. It is excellent place to meet other travelers . Hotel staff are very friendly and staff are very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nepaltrekking09
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 10 March 2017

center of thamel with affotable rooms. hotel is very nice and clean.staffs are friendly and very helpful. big rooms with big tv with cable channels. fast wifi servics. hotwl,s restaurent is very good. you can oder whatever you want. but nepali food and momo was delicious. and lots of shops around there and hotel is mobbed by shops. you can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank inquiry544
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Because of a bad belly I had to spend a lot of time in the hotel room. We booked a standard double room with a bathroom. It was clean and everything is good to use. The bed is pretty hard, I like it. No back pain even after two days of laying down. The bathroom is simple but clean. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sina S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights whilst in Kathmandu and was impressed. Room was nice and big with a Tv with cable channels and fast wifi. Shower was nice and hot throughout the day and evening. Centrally located with lots of shops and restaurants around. The only issue was noise and to be fair that wasn't the hotels fault but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethan1122
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We stayed in the Holy Lodge as walk-in guests for one week. It's a great central location right within all the shops in Thamel. We had a nice big clean room with a big clean bathroom and proper toilet (not squat). Best feature was the really hot water shower, too hot to stand under without adding cold water. The three...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank aussimarco
Sneem, Ireland
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Not sure how this place was so high on the list. I booked a room over the internet and got put in some grubby twin room with a share bathroom that had no light working. Had to tell them 3 times to put in a lightbulb, still no lightbulb in the toilet. Far from what the pictures looked like. Spend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank isamdavis

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
618 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,165 reviews
0.1 km away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#52 of 198 in Kathmandu
677 reviews
0.1 km away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,134 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome and Namaste!! Holy Lodge, which was opened 25 years ago, has recently undergone a facelift in order to cater to the growing needs of the 21st century traveller; however, it still retains its old-world charm, the ever-present warm Nepalese hospitality and unmatched comfort not to be found anywhere else. The rooms have been tailored to meet the needs of those who choose to travel alone to those who travel in the company of friends or family. Whether you want modern amenities like wi-fi internet, flat screen TVs, air-conditioned rooms, hot showers or simple basic, but clean and comfortable, rooms - we provide them. Even if you are a budget traveller, we guarantee your stay with us is "a home away from home." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holy Lodge

Address: 7 Corner, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $13 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holy Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holy Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holy Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor room”
Nepaltrekking09, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“front side of room is better you can see view of main road.”
inquiry544, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The room facing the street have a nightclub opposite. You can hear people leaving the club late night but it's not too disturbing.”
aussimarco, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“top floor room. great view of rooftop garden from Thamel area.”
DitaGenier, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room on the top floor”
andrew45138, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 10
Hostelworld.com
Expedia.comUSD 10
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates