We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Osel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (428)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (50)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 47 hotels in Thimphu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated within the heart of the Thimphu valley but just off the main road, Osel is a 35 room 4 star property. We are proud to feature among the largest in-class rooms and be among the only few properties within the city limits to still have amazing views. Views include the Tashicho Dzong as well as the seated Buddha, all of this is in addition to the ever present glorious mountains that adorn all of Bhutan.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
339Reviews7Q+A82Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 163
  • 124
  • 38
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
thequeenej wrote a review Jan 2024
Philippines88 contributions72 helpful votes
My stay was arranged as part of my tour package. I would say it's a great choice. Hotel service and cleanliness is 5/5. My room is huge and comfortable. Hotel is close to the main road; you can walk 2-3 mins and immediately get to that line of souvenir shops and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julie M wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
I was impressed by the staff's communication and attentiveness- I never had to ask when meals were, where to get something, wifi password, etc. They anticipated our questions and were ready to help. I loved having the option of a cafe with smaller meals, snacks, coffee drinks and gorgeous desserts AND the restaurant with a wide range of meals. Both also had professional staff and delicious, well presented food. We had a corner room with spectacular views of the mountains surrounding Thimphu. Very spacious room. I'll definitely come back for another stay and have recommended it to my friends!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can for even better views. Try the desserts in the cafe!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
HSR wrote a review May 2023
Malaysia71 contributions21 helpful votes
The hotel is blessed with courteous staff esp Mr Om Nath and his restaurant staff. They provided us with VEGAN meals. The housekeeping staff is equally good. There was a mini market in the neighbourhood which is a good feature. Generally we are happy with the hotel. We wish the staff all success in life..
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BALWINDER S wrote a review May 2023
3 contributions
The stay at hotel OSEL at thimpu was just amazing This hotel is a nice hotel the staff there was very courteous the rooms were also neat and clean so was the bathroom.The food was also good there was a great spread.The hotel is situated at a sight from where the shops also close by. I would recommend this hotel for stay.Mr Omnath, the manager at OSEL is a great person very helpful and always welcoming and approachable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
M K Ganesan M wrote a review Apr 2023
Malaysia36 contributions10 helpful votes
Friendly reception and reasonsbly good food. The breakfast spread is limited. The bread is thick and hard. Fruits are limited to 2 items namely cut apple & watermelon. Service at the restaurant is very good with attentive waiter. Our room toilet was not properly cleaned when we checked in with stains on the lid and toilet bowl left by previous occupant that was not properly cleaned. No toothpaste & brush provided. Wooden floors creaks badly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel
Responded 23 Apr 2023
Dear mkganesan7, Thank you for your review of Osel, we were pleased to be your choice in Thimphu and happy to host you. We were sorry to find out that your stay was not as we intend for our guests. We are currently looking into the fruits as we normally do have at least 4 options of fruits and looking into the housekeeping issues as well. We were however happy to note that our service was as we intend in the restaurant and front office. We do hope you visit us again and give us a chance to serve you better. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mdrew0428 wrote a review Mar 2023
Hong Kong, China1 contribution
+1
Located at the heart of Thimpu, the suite possesses a luxurious & spacious design. Osel has exquisite F&B facilities, a chill cafe and an amazing bar with an extended list of cocktails. I was highly impressed with their friendly and polite staff. The porch provided a great view over the capital city and it's landscapes of the surrounding valleys. Dogs barking at night? No problem, plug in your airpods and you're all set. Special thanks to Kuenga for his generous hospitality. I recommend Osel without reserve!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Dear Matthew KH W, Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and more than happy that your stay with us was as pleasant as we expect it to be for all of our guests. We were more than happy that you discovered our Bar and enjoyed our cocktails. We do hope you come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kcmvirginia wrote a review Nov 2022
Falls Church, Virginia18 contributions31 helpful votes
This hotel was a last-minute substitute for another property under renovation, but I"m glad that it was. The staff was super-accommodating (the charming front desk trio of Sangita, Neeta, and Manita were inquisitive about my travels without prying), the restaurant folks were willing to bring dinner to my room so that I could work (alas, it was vacation in name only), and the room itself was clean and well-stocked with necessaries. The one complaint -- which apparently applies to all Thimphu hotels -- is that the local dogs decide to hold an conversation around midnight. But after an hour or so, they quiet down. Osel was a great hotel for my few nights in Thimphu. I highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Dear kcmvirginia, Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and more so that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as we do for all of our guests. We do apologise for the dogs but we do offer ear plugs for free for all of our guests. Thank you again for picking Osel and we hope to see you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katharine wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely fantastic. Massive room with great views. The internet, in particular, was very good and I was able to work in the afternoon/ evening without a hitch - I was even told my internet is better than some of my colleagues based in central London! Good in the restaurant was varied and delicious. The only issue was the sound of the dogs barking at night. I would recommend bringing wax or silicone earplugs as the foam ones weren’t ideal at blocking out the noise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring silicone or wax earplugs if a light sleeper
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel
Responded 7 Sept 2022
Dear xplore35302463629, Thank you for your review of Osel, we were happy to be your choice in Thimphu and would like to thank you for highlighting our best services and location. We do apologize about the dogs but they are a problem all over the country. We do provide earplugs to help with this. We do hope you visit Bhutan and Osel again soon. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bhushan Bajracharya wrote a review June 2022
Thimphu, Bhutan1 contribution1 helpful vote
10 Days of stay in Hotel OSEL was a great memorable moment for me. The staff are very friendly and nice. Especially during COVID time too, the staff from the Hotel were very responsive and offered good hospitality. Mansingh, who was in charge during my stay at Hotel had helped me a lot in person and made my stay very comfortable. The large suites are really nice with a substantial lounge with views of mountains and the view of The Buddha point. The amenities and service was awesome. Dogs barking at night could be an issue. Overall a good hotel with comfortable stay in Thimphu.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel
Responded 7 Sept 2022
Dear Bhushan-Bajracharya, Thank you for your review of Osel, we were pleased to be your choice in Thimphu and more so that your stay was as pleasant as we strive for all of our guests. We do hope you visit again soon! Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ViXXiV wrote a review Mar 2020
Pune, India23 contributions24 helpful votes
We stayed at Osel on our Bhutan trip for a day-night. The check in experience was ok and they did seem understaffed for a weekday. We had opted for a king bed and it was actually two single beds joined. The join was covered with a separator, but it was very uncomfortable. Thanks to the ineffective small heater, we managed to sleep on one side of the bed. The washbasin water just tricked and two calls to the reception suggested that help is on the way. The restaurant and bar had a deserted look, so we stepped out for dinner. On our return we were told that the situation has been taken care but it was ineffective. Other further calls were only acknowledged with sorry and we will get this sorted in morning. The severity of hotels water problem emerged only in morning. We only had trickling steaming hot waters in all taps (even compose hand showers) and no cold water. When multiple calls didn’t help a chaos at reception ensured that we were given an alternate room, but situation was eucalyptus bad there. On more fuss we were given keys to other wing, where things were just about ok for some time and then turned similar. Only one of us managed to bath. The hotel staff was ineffective and belonged to a budget hotel category. When requested to take a photocopy, the staff charged us Rs 10/-. While the amount is small, this definitely is not what we expect from 4* or even 3* hotel. There is no manager in hotel. Not a place I would advise anyone to stay... be it leisure or business travel. Avoid this place like plague.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sangay Chozom, General Manager at Osel
Responded 7 Sept 2022
Dear ViXXiV, We were sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected and is not indicative of the average experience at Osel. We will look into the matter. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Thimphu area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$97 - AU$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BhutanThimphu DistrictThimphu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OSEL (AU$97): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Thimphu, Bhutan) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Osel
Which popular attractions are close to Osel?
Nearby attractions include Bhutan Post Office Headquarters (0.3 km), Royal Textile Academy of Bhutan (0.5 km), and National Folk Heritage Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Osel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Osel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Osel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Osel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Osel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zombala2 Restaurant, Seasons Restaurant, and Karma's Coffee.
Does Osel have airport transportation?
Yes, Osel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Osel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Thimphu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Osel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Osel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Osel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.