We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Speke Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Speke Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 296: English reviews
Start your review of Speke Hotel
 Click to rate
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewed today NEW

Nice and comfortable place to stay in Kampala. Hotel is well maintained though it looks old however service and Courtney offered by senior and junior staff is simply superior. Its a nice hotel for a short or long stay for the people who come for a business in Kampala.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinaycare
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of beautiful hotel in kampala and maintained well in colonialist. Me and my Friend wear very happy with the good service and yummy food in all authentic Restaurants. A special Thanks to Pizzeria for their break fast in the morning and staffs are very polite and manager is so kind.! I would like to suggest to travellers if they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deepak k
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Deepak, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback and for recommending Speke Hotel! We are so pleased to note that you had an enjoyable event while staying with us. Speke Hotel offers an unforgettable experience to all our guests’ your kind words of appreciation about our hotel and staff is very...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

👀✍A beautiful and a lovely place to stay at speke hotel. I would like to thank to all the team of speke hotel for their good customer care and kindness. 👍 A big thanks to Mr. Bhupendar singh for everything he is so kind. Special thanks to all breakfast team and Manager Mr. John. Me and my family enjoyed lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raj B
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Raj, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are honored that the hospitality showcased by the management & staff delighted you and added on to your lodging experience. My young team works tirelessly to ensure our guest stays’ are magical and memorable and it’s a sincere pleasure to know that...

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

One of the best hotel in kampla, i have enjoyed while staying in speke... Thanks a lot to all speke staff for their good service. A big thanks to Mr. Bhupendra and his entire team for their excelent hospitality. Thanks a lot to Mr. Mohanty who had told me about speke hotel.! Best of luck guys, keep it up.!!! Puri...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kishore K
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Kishore, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are honored that the hospitality showcased by the management & staff delighted you and added on to your lodging experience. My young team works tirelessly to ensure our guest stays’ are magical and memorable and it’s a sincere pleasure to know that...

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

🇺🇬It's one of the oldest colonial hotel in 🌤🌤Kampala, maintained well to remember old days of colonial styles. The rooms are very good & cleaned but I have one thing to advise kindly keep all the amenities in the rooms according to the standard of the hotel. Rest all is well n good. The hotel manager is very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitu M
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mitu, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your review and we are glad that the hospitality showcased by the staff delighted you and added on to your lodging experience. Such reviews further motivate us to benchmark Speke Hotel. Sir your comments regarding amenities are noted,...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to me thru my company. I had a pefect stay at speke hotel. The staff, service, rooms, food and breakfast are excellent. The management is always trying to go an extra mile for their guests. The different types of foods in all their restaurants are great and delicous. Rooms are clean ans spacious. i highly reccommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 12Josephs2016
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jospeh, Warm Greetings from Speke Hotel! Many thanks for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us in this forum. We are delighted to read your shining review of our hotel. We are a preferred choice for business and leisure travellers around the world and your acknowledgement of the same pleases us. It is also heartening to...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 18 January 2017

this might have been a first class hotel during colonial times, but unfortunately there was no renovation since then. rooms are quite spacious but equipment like TV and bath room are antique. AC is noisy but does not matter as the bar in front of window is even louder up to 03h. breakfast is unacceptable bad. so will not stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank moarti
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Moarti, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. It is disheartening to know that we did not meet your expectations in regard of facilities and amenities. Sir our hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda, its special décor and amenities are inspired by the era of bygone days....

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Came here on business based on TA reviews and recommendation of a colleague. I will admit that I don't have another hotel in Kampala to compare my stay to, but I've been elsewhere in East Africa and the Speke is unfortunately just an average hotel. The hotel property is in a very convenient part of town, but it's also on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark H
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mark, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your review and we are glad that the hospitality showcased by the staff delighted you and added on to your lodging experience. Sir our hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda, its special décor and...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

The only good thing about Speke hotel in Kampala is the location. The rest is just bad- awful breakfast and old rooms with tiny beds. Had been booked with my work colleagues at the hotel and spent 2 nights. We tried to pay the first night but the credit card could not run. We later paid but the following day,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick M
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Patrick, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel . It is disheartening to know that we did not meet your expectations in regard of facilities and services. After reading your feedback I had a very serious meeting with duty manager regarding your complaint. The duty manager informed that the network of credit card machine was down...

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

This is my second review of this hotel. When i returned back to this hotel in November. I found speke hotel more comfortable and better. The best part of this hotel is, its management and staff. Their real showcase of hospitality makes you come back to them. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Internet was superb. Italian and continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sapna D
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Sapna, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback and for recommending Speke Hotel! We are so pleased to note that you have been having an enjoyable event whenever you return back to us. Speke Hotel offers an unforgettable experience to all our guests. Your kind words of appreciation about our hotel...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.6 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
619 reviews
4.3 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 97 in Kampala
191 reviews
1.1 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#10 of 97 in Kampala
618 reviews
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
217 reviews
1.6 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
Khyber Pass
Khyber Pass
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Rock Garden Cafe
Rock Garden Cafe
Cuisines: French, Mongolian, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $158 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Speke Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Speke Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See my review above for comments about room selection”
Mark_Horn_CA, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I don't believe that the are any good rooms.”
Rob_DM, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get room nearest to reception area on first floor to avoid noise coming from Bar”
Akhileshjoshi, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from the road for less noise”
IBscubaboy, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not facing the main road”
Blampied, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5