We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Imperial Royale Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Imperial Royale Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Imperial Royale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This hotel has a lot of space with very big rooms. A lot of facilities which host a number of functions everyday. What is lacking at the hotel is their level of service delivery. The waiters are not responsive as you can sit for long hours at the restaurant without being attended to by anyone. Nobody come to ask you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Armah O
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 29 June 2015

The rooms where our guests stayed had an awful smell, then the conference hall had a similar smell even when the AC was on MAX. What shocked us most was the dirty toilets, for this kind of a hotel? Apparently, they were on schedule for cleaning, but Really? The here came the payments issue, the General Manager was asking me...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Wattson007
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and reviewing our hotel. We truly appreciate this detailed constructive feedback you have taken time to give us. We have moved a step further by forwarding this to the relevant departments for corrective measures to taken immediately. We look forward to hosting you again.

Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

I spent an aggregate 3 weeks in 2014 in this hotel. The hotel is very big having but always has low occupancy. What struck me was the constant dampness smell. The menu needs a lot to be honest esp breakfast. However there is some very nice nyama choma that they serve on Monday as part if their lunch buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miano M
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the nyama choma. We are continually upgrading the Hotel and a lot has changed since 2014, I do hope that you will join us for another stay in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kampala
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

It's evident the hotel was built hurriedly in preparations for CHOGM meeting way back in 2007 and it appears it's too big either to be maintained to in all aspects by average standards. Except when it comes to fresh food, there I give it credit but sanitation in the public restrooms is extremely wanting, with toilet cleaners being too old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlie K
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie, Thank you very much for choosing Imperial Royale Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and to review of our property and service. Management continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 June 2015

If you are looking for a hotel that offers space and comfort in Kampala, then you have found it! the facility makes you feel at peace and given the serenity of the surroundings, you are sure to get quality sleep and a beautiful view of the city if you are in the upper floors. The food is generally good but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucas M
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucus, Thank you very much for sharing your amazing review of our hotel, your remarks are very valuable. Management will be sure to share the same with the entire team for we believe that it is such feedback that keeps them very motivated and encouraged. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I stayed in this hotel during my workshop and it's fine if you travel for business. otherwise if you are travelling for holiday purposes not recommended. Food was ok and the staff were friendly which was the best thing about this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maryam-R2012
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maryam, Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your compliments and we look forward to hosting you again.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 23 May 2015

Having read the various reports about the Imperial Royale Hotel, I found it to be quirky. But you have to accept that it has a rather peculiar, and unique, character of its own. As a conference venue it was excellent. The meeting rooms were well laid out, properly serviced, and very conveniently located around the main atrium. But the architecture...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rball2016
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ricball, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the hotel that need updating. we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. It would be such a pleasure to...

Ngong, Kenya
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

Rooms are large and well furnished. Food served at lunch buffet is decent, though not remarkable. Breakfast buffet seems to be treated like an evening meal. On the plus side: nice swimming pool. Very poor wifi (only occasionally worked near the window of my room) and at least 80% of the hotel was unoccupied, on higher level floors the lights...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bjorn M
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bjorn, Allow me to extend our most sincere appreciation to you for sparing valuable time to respond and send us this invaluable feedback. Kindly accept our apologies for the lapse in service as noted in your experience with WiFi and lightinge and for any inconveniences it may have caused you. It's certainly not representative of the high quality standards...

Nairobi
Reviewed 10 April 2015

WIFI is crappy, Rooms not entirely clean, Food not any where near acceptable with humongous rooms that look like a movie set scene out of the 1940's. Towels are dirty and old and only two re provided. The Place lacks ambiance especially for a business traveler and its a total waste of my 360 bucks!. Most ridiculous of all is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeffmurage
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, We sincerely apologize that you found your visit disappointing. We keep our housekeeping to the highest standards, sorry about the WIFI we had issues with our internet service providers which has been resolved, We hope you will return to experience the many enhancements we made with the lighting and food.

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 April 2015

I stayed there to attend a conference at the neighboring Serena. The hotel is large and spacious. Staff are quite helpful especially when I locked myself out of the room.There however is a smell from the carpet that needs to be dealt with. Rooms are clean and very airy. Air conditioning works very well. Excellent location if you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makobu
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Makobu, Thank you for taking the time to visit us and for your review, Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission, we apologize for the smell coming from the carpets, we have addressed issue. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.4 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.9 km away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#25 of 94 in Kampala
178 reviews
1.1 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 94 in Kampala
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 94 in Kampala
22 reviews
0.3 km away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#53 of 94 in Kampala
30 reviews
0.5 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 94 in Kampala
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imperial Royale Hotel is a Conventional Centre because it has the Biggest Conference facility in Uganda. It's located in the central Business city of Kampala with easy and traffic free access to Government offices, Banks, Ngos, Diplomatic missions and shopping malls. The Hotel has 275 rooms, 22 Conference Halls with the Biggest hosting up to 2,000 guests under one roof. The Hotel also has guaranteed parking facility for 500 cars on 2 level underground parking. Imperial Royale HoteL was designated "The Media Hotel" during the Common Wealth Heads of Government meeting (CHOGM) in November 2007 in Kampala. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial Royale Hotel

Address: Plot 7 Kintu Road | PO Box 4326, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $196 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imperial Royale Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Imperial Royale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request for rooms away from the conference centre( other floors)”
 of 5 bubbles Muchogu, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles globalswede, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Corner room- has more space”
 of 5 bubbles 477RobN, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Hotel in front side should be good and overlooking Kampala Serena.”
 of 5 bubbles serameverywhere, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else. The Protea wasn't bad the last time I was here.”
 of 5 bubbles stjameskid, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5