We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Gorillas City Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Gorillas City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 40: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The first thing that caught my attention about this hotel was it's close proximity to the presidential house in Kigali. If there was anything I needed to feel more safe, this was surely it. Very good staff, although the use of English leg wasn't the best. They were always willing to go the extra mile to be of help. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ifada J
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

As in my previous review the hotel is still overall very nice. Rooms are comfortable and very clean and the staff is friendly, accommodating and makes you feel like you are at home. Nice touch with the buffet breakfast that is not luxurious, but has more than enough for a hearty breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Aristides K
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Kigali is beautiful and this is fairly priced with a bar and security who is very aware and also very sweet. The staff was welcoming and the room was clean. I also enjoyed eating dinner right at the hotel. While in Kigali I had a chance to visit the Kigali Genocide Memorial, which is close by and a must see.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Amber D
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Gorillas Hotels and taking time to review us. We appreciate feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and cannot wait to host you on your next trip to Rwanda. More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2015

I stayed earlier another hotel and enjoyed Kigali. When I entered hotel, felt nice about entrance, but rooms are not nice at all. very pathetic service, asked to fix broken phone nothing done. Also lot of mosquitoes no repellent in rooms. No hair dryer, no Iron board. It's simply lacking facilities required for business traveler.

Helpful?
3 Thank Malgudiboy
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We welcome feedback as it helps us to improve service delivery. I am sorry to hear that you didn't not enjoy your stay. However, Hair dryers , mosquito repellents and Ironing Boards are provided once a guests requests for them.Thank you. More 

Travellers are raving about these Kigali hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Hotel is nice and in a good location in the city centre. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are not very spacious or have amenities, but are clean and nicely kept. Restaurant is good and the food is worth trying

Helpful?
Thank Aristides K
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to say at our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to hosting you again soon. More 

Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

I enjoyed my week stay at Gorilla Hotel Particularly the friendly atmosphere from the employees. I was at first grumpy when I learnt that I would be staying there instead of Serena, but gosh I do not regret. The food is basic and healthy, and the rooms are clean and smell well. Perhaps improvements should be made on Internet at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Labane M
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Labane, Thank you for reviewing our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and all was pleasant. However, Management is working round the clock with our Internet Service provider in order to secure better internet speeds and connectivity. We are looking forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Rwanda. More 

Mombasa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I had booked this hotel for my last night in Kigali. For the price I paid the value was not to bad, but nothing great as well. Check in was fast, he had my booking and i had a special request, which was also looked after. I ordered early Breakfast, and it was ready when I arrived for it.

Helpful?
Thank slofty
Annabel U, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gorillas City Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate feedback and always ensure we make your stay pleasant within our means More 

New Plymouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place has good staff - although only one has fluent English. The rest do their best, but are often utterly bewildered by the ways of the Anglophone world. Do remember, that until 2009, Rwanda was Francophone, but that year President Kagame announced that everyone was to learn English, and that despite never being part of the British Empire, Rwanda... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cdn-npl
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had made a booking over the phone and arrived tired at 11pm to be told that the price agreed wasn't enough and whoever agreed to that was wrong, despite that being the price online. 20 minutes of debate later, we almost walked but had nowhere to go. Eventually the receptionist relented. The room was nice and clean with good... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank goodthickskirt
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Having stayed in a few hotels in Kigali I must say the this was by far the wort of the bunch. The service at the restaurant was slow and the rooms were mediocre at best. While most things in Kigali are very clean I can say the Gorillas was not up to the standard.

Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole I

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kigali hotels
6.9 km away
CityBlue Hotel & Suites, Embassy Row
8.7 km away
Gorillas Golf Hotel
Gorillas Golf Hotel
#21 of 46 in Kigali
40 reviews
0.0 km away
Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel
#33 of 46 in Kigali
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
La Posh Hotel
La Posh Hotel
#26 of 46 in Kigali
1 reviews
4.8 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kigali, Rwanda
9.1 km away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#12 of 46 in Kigali
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Gorillas City Center

Address: Rue des Parcs | Kiyovo, Kigali 1782, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Price Range: $114 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorillas City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gorillas City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorillas Hotel Kigali
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Gorillas City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are the same really, but not all have armchairs. Ask the staff for a room with one - I had to do without.”
 of 5 bubbles cdn-npl, 22 Aug 2014 | Read review
“No lifts, so don't go too high unless you like the exercise”
  • Room interior
 of 5 bubbles DavidBy, 14 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Ask for a fan in your room upon check-in. Wifi best in restaurant. Take advantage of beautifully landscaped restaurant patio in back...flowers, umbrella tables, great service. No pool.”
 of 5 bubbles sauceinator123, 2 Mar 2013 | Read review
“Recommend Garden Indian Restauarant”
 of 5 bubbles Mike_W749, 31 Dec 2012 | Read review
“Test wifi and take upper floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles BentNB, 5 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay