We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 249: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Chameleon backpackers hostel is a very nice hostel. It's clean, the staff is friendly and the facilities are good. Breakfast is included and good. Coffee and thee are available for free throughout the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Tubingen, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

nice staff, good place, very central, for not much money. Good possibility for shopping near by. I was feeling save and lucky there. Breakfast is o.k. The beds are fine. Thank you for the good time. Greetings Stephanie

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanielF5158FG
Turin, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

320 NAD a single room with shared bathroom. A really nice place, well appointed and maintained, with lively atmosphere (without exaggeration).Generous buffet breakfast served from the property. Large, fully equipped kitchen space. Swimming pool (cold water in August). Shared bathrooms are clean enough. Nothing to complain about the rooms, I slept in the Pelikan and in the Hoopoe room. Scented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onelastwish
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights here. It is within walking distance of the center. The common areas have a typical hostel feel with shared kitchen, bar, pool area, but the private rooms look more like a B&B and are a good value for money. The issue is they are green and trying to conserve water, so have composting toilets that, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C R
Windhoek
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place with good facilities and very helpful staff. Value is very good for money and the location is great. I did not use any of the tour booking services, but speaking with other travellers it seems they are also excellent. Recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windyhoeky
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Chameleon much appreciated. I'm glad to hear you had an awesome stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you. Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future. Cheers Rosa

Windhoek
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We received a courteous welcome on arrival. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a pleasant ambience to the hostel with so many people coming and going on their travels through Namibia. The swimming pool was an excellent facility particularly with the hot climate. A great experience in a hostel ideally located near the centre of town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alastairf2017
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Chameleon much appreciated. I'm glad to hear you had an awesome stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you. Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future. Cheers Rosa

Koh Tao, Thailand
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Chameleon is a super nice, modern backpackers with a mix of old and young clientele, that is almost always booked out. It is a bit of a melting pot of solo travelers and groups settling in for a night or two before taking to the road to explore Namibia. The staff are friendly and the location is superb, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey R
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Joey Thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm glad to hear you had an awesome stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate/meet you. When we have big groups booked in they always go out for dinner so it is mostly quiet when they are booked in at night but on a Friday night it...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed there 3 times; the first time we had a brilliant room in the guest house section, second time all the en-suite rooms were full so we had a room with shared bathroom which was OK. The third time we had an en-suite room in the hostel section which wasn't as good as the first room, although it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aviatrix_aus
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Aviatrix Thanks for taking the time to review us much appreciated and I'm glad to hear you had an awesome stay with us. With experience over the years we had to implement security rules to advise clients about there valuables and safety in town because we do have crime in town especially over weekends,public holidays and at night when...

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Good value for money in the centre of windhoek. Kind staff who are very informative and knowledgeable about getting around Namibia. Good base to meet other travellers. Stayed in two different dorms, the first one was very very warm at night with the fan not doing much, the second dorm I stayed in was much cooler. Make sure to book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylie K
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Kylie Thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm glad to hear you had an awesome stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you. Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future and it is always a good idea to book in advance. Cheers Rosa

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I came here at the end of a business trip, attracted by the photos of the superior rooms on the website. The room was visually really nice, the rest wasn't. Poor breakfast, no place to work inside the room, very noisy outside area, guests start getting drunk around 9am. Wi-Fi didn't work properly, Staff at the reception was mostly pretty...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Simon Thanks for taking the time to review us it is much appreciated. Traditionally we do not cater for business travellers but if we had been informed of your requirements and that you needed to work in your room then then we may have been able to put in a small table for you to be able to get...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,173 reviews
4.3 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
193 reviews
0.5 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
183 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
323 reviews
2.1 km away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For Backpackers we offer dormitory beds. There is also a range of twin, double and three bed rooms for those wishing for more privacy. Our Guesthouse has spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms having off street parking and a continental self serve breakfast included. Need safe long term accommodation while staying in Windhoek. We have 3 flats available for stays of more than 3 months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Address: 5 7 Voight Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Chameleon Backpackers Hotel Windhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want an en-suite room, try and get one of the larger rooms in the guest house area rather than one of the rooms near the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles aviatrix_aus, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in "Leopard" for 4 people, very nice and spacious room”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are wonderful and have animal themes”
 of 5 bubbles Lil_0685, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms weather East,south ,west north are just perfect!... they are spacious,”
 of 5 bubbles liemo10, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Eagle is self contained and away from the pool area which tends to be loud. Nice bathroom space and high ceiling so it's cooler.”
  • broken toilet in love nest.
  • love nest bed.
 of 5 bubbles PreciousM474, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5