We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hakos Guest Farm

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of Hakos Guest Farm
 Click to rate
Gdansk, Poland
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We spent there one night and the campsite. Hosts invited us for a very dinner and their home. Evening was full of nice family stories and pictures! :-) We had a very nice stay besides the weather which enable us to see stars :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We camped there for an evening: two adults and three boys under ten years old. The gruff hostess was no non-sense. I would not come here with kids to stay in a room: pins and needles. We did not eat in the "restaurant" because there were too many guests and they didn't think they could serve us. The pool was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael K
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Not worth the money at all. People not friendly at all. Poor facilities, dirty, best of all the host replied that the fee of R2400 included breakfast, but when we arrived we were told the deduction from safari now made it not profitable to give us breakfast. As we didn't had the confirmation email with us and no WiFi available...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deon v
Manresa, Spain
Reviewed 9 March 2016

A farm -hotel located near the Gamsberg pass , rooms and dinner very correct, also it has the advantage that the owner is an astronomer , so if you like this activity you will be in one of the best places to do it !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josep M G
Zambia
Reviewed 5 March 2016

It's definitely a place that is not to be judged by first impressions!! Campsites are well positioned with each one having an uninterrupted view of the Gamsberg mountain area as well as being a good distance apart from each other. Ablutions are neat and spacious. Campsite also have a shelter big enough to pitch a small tent or to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebensandie
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 26 September 2014

After over 12 months of extensive travel throughout Namibia over the past 4 years, this is sadly our first terrible encounter with a hospitality business professional, which I feel needs to be reported here for the sake of other visitors' awareness. Not to mention that the campsite facilities provided by the farm are one of the very worst that we've...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Anne-Marie D
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 April 2014

They are pleasant enough people,but at the price(about $160 US/night per couple)it was below par in many respects,especially considering the trek.They hype the stargazing,so be sure of the weather,and be aware it is charged seperately-kind of petty on their part,IMO.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sam k
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Hakos guest farm is an interesting place for those who like adventures like me. It has wonderful mountain view, the meals are so good and reasonably enough. The only problem with the owner or the lady managing the house treat guest as children in her house, she is also a racist, I understand most of the reviews were good probably...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gabez U
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed for one fabulous night with some amazing stargazing. Middle of nowhere, clear skies. Beautiful house with indoor pool and library. Basic, nice and clean accommodation with good dinner and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YaeliGr
Angelholm, Sweden
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We went to Hakos to have a very first time experience of stargazing. The farm is on a convenient 135 km drive from Windhoek and it is easy to find - just go C26 and find the road to Hakos a few kilometres before the Gamsberg pass. Don't expect a traditional luxurious farm. This is much more homely. Rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anders E

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windhoek
26.6 km away
ROOISAND Desert Ranch
ROOISAND Desert Ranch
#6 of 76 in Windhoek
53 reviews
99.1 km away
GocheGanas
GocheGanas
#4 of 76 in Windhoek
256 reviews
0.0 km away
Corona Guest Farm
Corona Guest Farm
#10 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
118.6 km away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
337 reviews
83.6 km away
Eagle Rock Guest-Farm & Business Lodge
136.2 km away
Ondekaremba
Ondekaremba
#46 of 76 in Windhoek
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hakos Guest Farm

Address: Gamsberg Mountains | P.O. Box 5056, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hakos Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“camping spots are on an exposed hill; the shower facilities were decent. There was water at each campsite but no electricity.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelkO7417XY, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Because of the stargazing the farm is kept dark. Bring a torch to find your way between the rooms and the dinner room.”
  • Sunset over the mountains
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 13 Oct 2012 | Read review
2 of 2