We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunbird Capital

Hotels.comUSD 166*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 190*
USD 166*
USD 190*
USD 190*
USD 166*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunbird Capital
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 184: English reviews
Start your review of Sunbird Capital
 Click to rate
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel for business travelers. The hotel is directly across and within walking distance to the new Bingu International Conference Centre. The hotel staff are nice and accommodating. The hotel is very nice and clean. The food is good, although I recommend eating at other restaurants in Lilongwe for the long stay visitors. There are conference rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salsez
Management response:

Dear Our Valued Guest . I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received . Whilst a number of issues happened , your observations highlight specific areas where , with a more coordinated approach , we...

Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

During a recent business trip to Lilongwe I stayed at sunbird capital. I had booked an executive room and to be completely honest I did not think it was worth the extra money paid as it was quite small and not really any added benefits. The bed was quite small - would say only a double maybe a queen, for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peks92
Management response:

Dear Our Valued Guest , Thank you so much for the feed back . We are very sorry to learn about your disappointment regarding your stay with us . Please receive our sincere apologies for the inconvenience which was caused to you . We are very grateful for your support and sincerely thank you for choosing Sunbird Capital as your...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sunbird Capital is centrally situated in Lilongwe and is good for short to medium stays. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated, with good aircon, all the basic amenities and an adequate selection of TV channels. There is good desk space and easily accessible power connections for a computer and other devices. Most rooms look out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WP664
Management response:

Dear our valued customer, Thank you so much for the feedback. We are always gratified when we receive positive compliments from our customers as this motivates us. We have taken note of the areas which needs improvement and please be advised that management will address the issues accordingly. Once again, we thank you for your support and hope to welcoming...

Lusaka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed my 3 night stay at the hotel. The hotel provided free airport shuttle. Meals were fresh and well cooked. Breakfast was a fairly decent affair with enough variety to choose from. The rooms were clean and spacious and had all the basics I needed for rest, entertainment and work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabskon
Management response:

Dear Our Valued Guest , Thank you so much for the feedback . We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the professional service you received . Customer care is amongest our highest priorities and it is always gratifying...

Viaregg
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

It was my first time in Malawi. I liked Lilongwe. The hotel is very green and beautiful. It has beautiful garden and swimming pool. Unfortunately, I did not have much time to swim. The staff is very kind and available. The gym is not big. Good breakfast and dinner. I think it is important to know that there are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail K
Cambodia
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last couple years. The pros: friendly staff, good restaurant (try the grilled beef medallions with nsima); the cons: you're in Lilongwe and the hotel is dependent on the city's services. On one stay in 2016 there was no water for at least 3 days. The hotel sent one notice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nklevy
Minnesota
Reviewed 15 February 2017

You don't have many options in this city, but that doesn't excuse the terrible customer service at this hotel. Despite having my credit card and a guarantee from my employer, the hotel demanded upfront payment for the stay. After explaining that I cannot do so, per my company's policy, I was harassed every 5 days to pay that portion of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GTINTC11
Management response:

Dear Sir , Thank you very much for your feed back . We have taken note of your concerns and management will address them accordingly . Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience which was caused to you during your stay. We are very grateful for your support and hope you will not judge us finally from this experience...

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I stayed at the Sunbird Capital from October to December 2016. It's not a modern state of the art hotel, but has all the facilities one needs, i.e. business centre, coffee and tea in the room, gym, swimming pool, etc. The free internet is good, contrary to many other places in Lilongwe. One advice to the management re the Wifi:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arnohaegens
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! It's great to know that you had a pleasant stay with us at Sunbird Capital. We are happy that the food and the service was to your liking. We do hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We are grateful for the feedback that you have provided, and we will be...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Sunbird Capital Hotel was an excellent Hotel for holding conferences with spacious rooms and a nice ambiance. It has a branch on lake Malawi that the best shoreline and recreational activities. One wont regret visiting it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank memuhu
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and for sharing your experience with us. It brings us such great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your linking. We do hope to see you back soon, and that you visit more of our hotels and resorts. Kindest regards.

Malawi
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel doesn't diserve the 3 stars. All inside is under maintained and probably a full refurbishment is highly necessary. The room had a dump humid smell and I think the windows where not opened in a long time. The AC was damaged, in working condition and full of dried bugs. The food was decent but nothing special. I guess...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdiCV
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Capital, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and for bringing the issues that you experienced during your stay with us to our attention, as your feedback is very important to us. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced while you were at the hotel. Kindest regards.

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
4.7 km away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
195 reviews
0.0 km away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
75 reviews
4.6 km away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
149 reviews
5.5 km away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
66 reviews
0.0 km away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunbird Capital (formerly Le meridian Capital) in Lilongwe Malawi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunbird Capital

Address: Chilembwe Road, Lilongwe 3, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Price Range: $184 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Capital 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbird Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Capital Lilongwe
Sunbird Capital Hotel Lilongwe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunbird Capital staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Capital staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about views”
WP664, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Nice location in the heart of the capital Lilongwe”
memuhu, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room with good wifi as this is bad in the hotel”
Lucien1972, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
andyw255, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“second floor is best”
145jkp, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 166* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 190
Expedia.comUSD 166
TripAdvisorUSD 166
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates