We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Island Continent Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antananarivo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Island Continent Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

The rooms are clean but the TV doesn't work, the showers you have to run for 10 minutes before it gets warm and the water pressure is non existent. Breakfast is essentially a baguette (cold) with jam and triangle cheese spread, a banana, yoghurt and if you ask, 2 eggs. Dinner if you have half board consists of a choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lakota75
norotiana R, General Manager at Island Continent Hotel, responded to this review

dear Guest We have received your comment about ICHotel. Please note that we are 3 minutes near the airport and are a transit hotel not for long stay. Our guests are all for transit which means most of them arrive very late and leave early in the morning so we apologize as the noise on arrival and early departure is...

Torhout
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Spacious rooms, modern feeling, nice pool. The sign to the hotel is anything but clear, we drove around 30 minutes, until we finally, almost accidentally found it, but if you are looking for it, it is the same property as gassy country house. Music in the bar was on until very late in the evening. If you just had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofie_DBl
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We stayed here for only 1 one night but the hotel was a solid choice. Rooms were clean with decent wifi and a flat screen television. Bed was comfortable with thorough mosquito netting. Gardens were in flower and the pool was crystal clear. Bathroom and shower were clean (as is often the case, one must turn the hot water on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HardtoPlease85741
Coventry
Reviewed 9 April 2015

This hotel is about 4 kms from the airport but the airport is so quiet anyway that noise is not an issue. We found this hotel to be great. Very friendly people, very helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and every thing was good. No complaints at all ... in fact if we went to Madagascar again,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mzurisanaCoventry
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We have now had our money back. Please don't be fooled by the website as we previously published. I have had another look at the website now and it is still a huge misrepresentation. They have even added a picture with cocktails lining the blue pool. To clarify the pool is black, they don't sell cocktails and there is no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smilingsarah83
gassycountryhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Island Continent Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to say thank you to all our guests who have chosen our Hotel since its opening few years ago. By your comments you showed us your interests in the well-being of the establishment. A big thank you for the warm encouragement and positive feed-back but especially for all the negative points that you have raised, which give...

Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Reviewed 8 November 2014

We were put up in this hotel full-board by Air Madagascar because they'd changed our flights. Some other reviews have complained about noise from the reception - we were put in a very large room on the second floor in what is apparently a suite (there were two sofabeds) so that wasn't an issue, however walls seemed paper thin as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank champac
Mauritius
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had chance to stay at this hotel following a flight delay, the hotel is nice, room comfortable and elegant decorations, but the negative is the noise coming from the Reception. This can be avoided by having a self-closing door in the corridor. Otherwise, the local entertainment in the restaurant for breakfast is well appreciated. Food is average

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bkarroo
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Do not be fooled by the website. The pool is black and everything around it is broken. The area feels unsafe and you are locked in with a prison gate. Outside the hotel is a dirt track and a huge rubbish dumping pile.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Smilingsarah83
Cape Town
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As everyone has said, this hotel is very close to the airport and a good choice for that reason. As you approach along the rough roads, you do wonder what awaits, but the hotel is a pleasant surprise once you get through the gates. Our room (number 4) was nice enough with a big bed, good mattress and nice linen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarveyCapeTown
Rotterdam Netherlands
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The IC hotel is perfect if you need to stay in a hotel in Tana prior to your domestic or international flight. Nice clean rooms with a good shower and a friendly staff. If you want to go for Dinner in town it takes +/- 25 minutes. During the day time there are a lot of traffic jams and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FranciscusG

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.0 km away
Les Hautes Terres Hotel
Les Hautes Terres Hotel
#54 of 61 in Antananarivo
27 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#33 of 61 in Antananarivo
6 reviews
0.0 km away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#7 of 61 in Antananarivo
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#52 of 61 in Antananarivo
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Relais de la Haute Ville
Le Relais de la Haute Ville
#37 of 61 in Antananarivo
15 reviews
0.0 km away
Meva Guest House
Meva Guest House
#11 of 88 in Antananarivo
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small structure of 2 stars in the suburb of Antananarivo, 3 minutes from Ivato International airport. Very handy for people on transit and also people avoiding the heavy traffic jam in town. Composed with nice and cosy 10 standard rooms with mini bar,TV with TV sat, hair dryer, ensuite bathroom. Internet with Optic fiber for free. Large swimming-pool of black colour to keep the water warm when guest swims in the evening. Price is 44 eur per room per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island Continent Hotel

Address: Lot 043 MMAII, Mamory Ivato | Tana 105 Ivato, Antananarivo, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Island Continent Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island Continent Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Antananarivo, Madagascar
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Island Continent Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would recommend a room on 2nd or 3rd floor. Our first floor room was a bit noisy as people stood outside and chatted through much of the night.”
 of 5 bubbles HardtoPlease85741, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose second floor rooms if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles champac, 8 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Avoid choosing a room close to the Reception”
 of 5 bubbles Bkarroo, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Upstairs, away from entrance gate.”
 of 5 bubbles HarveyCapeTown, 24 May 2014 | Read review
“The family suite (room 14) has a double bed with mosquito net, and two single beds without nets. One of the better showers I came across in Madagascar. Its quieter at the end of the passage on the top floor, as many people come and go to the airport at odd times of night.”
  • Room 14
  • Room 14
  • Family Suite Room 14
  • Family Suite - Room 14
  • Family Suite - Room 14
 of 5 bubbles mmre, 20 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5