We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Agoda.comUSD 167*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 171*
USD 167*
USD 170*
USD 171*
USD 168*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 315: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 July 2016

The receptionist was very professional and helpful. The food at the bar was way better than the Mahogany restaurant, but the double burger and club sandwich is a rip off. The only good food at the Mahogany was the bread rolls. The ribs and chicken wings were good. The rooms at the old section of the hotel is better than...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucien1972
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Lucien1972 Taking the time to review our property is appreciated. Meeting guest expectations are priority to us and we have not quite achieved that during your visit. Concerns raised will be addressed and we trust, next time you visit our property, we will achieve and exceed your expectations. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Da Re Salaam
Reviewed 28 June 2016

It is a good hotel though here and there they need to improve. Overall I enjoyed the stay and am not ashamed to recommend it to someone else. Management there is good. My only worry was on service of food during lunch time which I feel should improve given the serious delays my group faced.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R5658MCjohnm
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear K5658MCjohnm Your objective and fair review of our property is appreciated and allows us to address matters to improve overall delivery of service to our guests. Your concerns are important to us and will be addressed immediately. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Francistown, Botswana
Reviewed 27 June 2016

My room was excellently prepared for my arrival, everything was in order. Housekeeping excellent!!! I Ordered few things at night and within a short time everything was delivered. Before we slept there was one member of staff who checked on us and he wanted to know if we were fine withe rooms, it was marvelous!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank waronamorake
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Waronamorake It is always fun to share comments such as yours with our staff. It brings a smile to their faces and puts a spring in their step - thank you! We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Johannesburg
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Keep up the great work. I look forward to my next stay when the renovations are completed. Whilst, i have yet to use the gym, I expect it to be more modern by the time of my next trip. It would be great that for early morning departures top the airport, other breakfast besides toasted sandwiches would be great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank yoganathann2016
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Yoganathann2016 We thank you for your positive review of our property. Your comments have been shared accordingly. We are all looking forward to our refurbished product and the early morning departure breakfast selection will receive immediate attention. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Bahrain
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

A not bad experience I would say. Overall, a pleasant atmosphere with positive vibe in it. The staff are helpful and the service was very good. The room was old and the food was not that great. I tried both restaurants, pictures added. The bar next to the swimming pool was the best thing the hotel had to offer. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadhemjf
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Nadhemjf Your objective review of our property is sincerely appreciated and your comments were shared with our staff. We will commence with a major refurbishment of our property starting August 2016 and we hope to welcome you back to our brand new property soon. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Stayed at the Avani while on business in June. The hotel although a bit dated is very clean and neat and the staff are amongst the best I have seen at any hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and they went out of their way to help me charge my phone after I had left my charger at the business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarrellBN
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear DarrellBN Receiving comments such as yours makes every single day worth while! Our Front Office Manager has already shared your comments with staff, a clear indication how much it means to all. We look forward to welcome you back to our property. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Absolutely horrible hotel. Rooms are dark, smelly and disgusting! Most of the staff are rude. Food choices very poor in restaurants especially if you do not eat meat. I booked early this morning to eat at the A la crate restaurant only to turn up and be told it's been reserved for a private party. Next time I'll be staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank serge286
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Serge286 Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Reading a report such as this after the guest has checked out is disappointing as we are unable to address concerns raised. We will always strive to meet and exceed expectations of our guests. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Hong Kong
Reviewed 24 May 2016

When I read the historical comments, I was not impressed. However, it seems that changes have now been wrought. The Internet is reasonably reliable. Rooms are reasonably comfortable (no comment on air conditioning since now is Winter). Service in the restaurant is reasonably prompt. The number of guests seems to have rebounded. The cigarette smoke is no longer here. Meanwhile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TempleofPeace
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear TempleofPeace Thank you very much for your objective review of our property. We are commencing with a complete refurbishment of the property within the next few weeks and we hope to welcome you back to a brand new hotel on your next visit. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Letlhakane
Reviewed 3 May 2016

i think dress code must be considered especially for people who jus come in for the bar not for sleep over,some outfits dont really suits the place,some clothing such as overall and safety shooes or boots are not suitable for that area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kabelomrs
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear kabelomrs Thank you for the review of our property. Your comment regarding dress code is well noted and the matter will be addressed. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

I am so upset with the condition and services fir this hotel....I have been to this hotel for more then 18 years and this is the worst Dirty rooms Passages dirty Food cold and not tasty...who serves food in pots that I will not buy Food the same for five nights...some foods not available...excuse was no stock Furniture old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrie N
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Gerrie N Receiving comments as above from our guests is never pleasant to read or receive, however, if we have faltered, it need to be addressed and rectified. I am aware that you have stayed with us since writing these comments and on your next visit I would like address these matters should you have time available. Sincerely Derick...

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
2.6 km away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 16 in Gaborone
361 reviews
2.0 km away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
173 reviews
1.3 km away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#7 of 16 in Gaborone
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#10 of 16 in Gaborone
46 reviews
5.2 km away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
6.0 km away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: Chuma Drive 4727, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Price Range: $197 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Gaborone, Botswana
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Presdential suites and other rooms close to those one”
DrBeautyMMuzadzi, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First FLoor”
628willyv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best view from rooms facing the pool area.”
hugot790, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away if you can”
nazparmar, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor, Pool Facing rooms”
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
MoeYou, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 167* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 170
Expedia.comUSD 168
Booking.comUSD 171
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates