We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 298: English reviews
Hong Kong
Reviewed 24 May 2016

When I read the historical comments, I was not impressed. However, it seems that changes have now been wrought. The Internet is reasonably reliable. Rooms are reasonably comfortable (no comment on air conditioning since now is Winter). Service in the restaurant is reasonably prompt. The number of guests seems to have rebounded. The cigarette smoke is no longer here. Meanwhile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TempleofPeace
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear TempleofPeace Thank you very much for your objective review of our property. We are commencing with a complete refurbishment of the property within the next few weeks and we hope to welcome you back to a brand new hotel on your next visit. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Letlhakane
Reviewed 3 May 2016

i think dress code must be considered especially for people who jus come in for the bar not for sleep over,some outfits dont really suits the place,some clothing such as overall and safety shooes or boots are not suitable for that area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kabelomrs
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear kabelomrs Thank you for the review of our property. Your comment regarding dress code is well noted and the matter will be addressed. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

I am so upset with the condition and services fir this hotel....I have been to this hotel for more then 18 years and this is the worst Dirty rooms Passages dirty Food cold and not tasty...who serves food in pots that I will not buy Food the same for five nights...some foods not available...excuse was no stock Furniture old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrie N
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Gerrie N Receiving comments as above from our guests is never pleasant to read or receive, however, if we have faltered, it need to be addressed and rectified. I am aware that you have stayed with us since writing these comments and on your next visit I would like address these matters should you have time available. Sincerely Derick...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at Avani in Gaborone while on a business trip. Staff very helpful and friendly from checking in and out at reception to the bar and dining room to the cleaning staff and housekeeping.... Sitting having a drink or light meal on veranda by the pool while in the middle of city is relaxing my room over looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Claire H Your positive review of our property is sincerely appreciated. Happy to inform that our mock-up room has just been completed and the refurbishment of our property is imminent. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

UK
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The facilities were OK but the gym needs some air conditioning. The pool ran out of the advertised pool towels and was told to go back and use the one from the room. The staff are very friendly and professional. Food was excellent. Showers and floors could do with a proper clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheSpooks
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear TheSpooks Thank you for you review of our property and positive comments regarding Staff and Food. Please accept our sincerest apology for the way the pool towel matter was handled. I know it is after the fact, however it will be rectified. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Maun, Botswana
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Have been visiting this hotel for 15 years , the casino staff are tired arrogant and unfriendly, expect to not get any beverage service , Sun International seem to be cutting every corner they can , a shake up in casino management needed throughout the hotel group . Grand Palm a better option for discerning travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Graeme P Appreciate your candid review of our property and more specifically, our Casino. Please no that this matter will be addressed immediately and I sincerely hope that you will return to our property. Regards Derick van der Nest

South Africa
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Original room had a running toilet, generally the rooms are decently spaced. Service around the bar and restaurant area was particularly poor. Expensive for the facilities, some parts of the hotel are not well maintained. Certainly won't be staying at Avani on my next trip to Gaborone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 80arthurd
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear 80arthurd Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Reviews indicating our shortfalls are never pleasant to receive or read, however, they are needed. It allows us to rectify the wrong, ensuring positive experiences going forward. Sincerely Derick van der Nest General Manager

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Avani. Whenever I walked around the hotel, the staff were always friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant where I ate the best fillet steak I have ever had, and at such a cheap price compared to the UK! There was a live pianist and again the staff were very helpful. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Kate B Thank you for the positive review of our property. Happy to inform that all concerns raised in your review will be receiving attention during our upcoming refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property next time you visit Botswana. Sincerely Derick van der Nest General Manager

Palapye
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Good hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Some of the rooms have been upgraded and very muck ok now. Reasonable Internetbut could be very slow and furstrating. Meals are good and resonable. Above all the hotel is Conveniently located for business and easy access to different parts of the town

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 532elis
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear 532elis Your comments regarding your stay with us is sincerely appreciated. Noticing the efforts in our rooms are also very welcoming. Happy to inform that we should be starting with a major refurbishment of our property very soon. Sincerely Derick van der Nest General Manager

Orapa
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Good and clean.. My only concern is the smell of tobacco. Sometimes the bacon is just too dry in the mornings. Otherwisefriendly staff. It will also be helpful to keep cab numbers incase someone wants to leave earlier.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank violetm50
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Violetm50 Taking the time to review our property is appreciated. Dry bacon on the breakfast line will be addressed and we will ensure that the contact numbers for transportation is readily available. Sincerely Derick van der Nest General Manager

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
2.7 km away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 15 in Gaborone
330 reviews
2.1 km away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 15 in Gaborone
157 reviews
6.0 km away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#5 of 15 in Gaborone
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
1.3 km away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#8 of 15 in Gaborone
13 reviews
0.0 km away
Aquarian Tide Hotel
Aquarian Tide Hotel
#7 of 15 in Gaborone
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: Chuma Drive 4727, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Price Range: $205 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Gaborone, Botswana
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First FLoor”
 of 5 bubbles 628willyv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best view from rooms facing the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles hugot790, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away if you can”
 of 5 bubbles nazparmar, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor, Pool Facing rooms”
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles MoeYou, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a round floor garden room”
 of 5 bubbles tourismplanner, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5