We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 312: English reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Hello travelers and world wanderers, Let me start of by saying that this was a trip that was beyond all my expectations, that i actually don't know where to start or to explain the exceptional experience I endured. We came on a Dreamtrip and arrived quite late in the afternoon due to the traffic on a Friday, to be greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J M
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear TrullySkilledCpt Receiving a review like yours makes every day worthwhile!! Your review and staff mentioning has been shared and sincerely appreciated. On your points raised: * Pool Supervision - we do have a lifeguard on duty over weekends, however he will only commence his duties again at the end of September. Locals consider August to be the middle of...

Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My wife and I stayed again at the Avani Gaborone Hotel & Casino. We've stayed there several times over the years and had an especially good experience last year. Thus, we looked forward to another several days at the hotel. What makes the experience memorable is the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. My work requires that I do a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RexS36
Elsewhere
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Stayed here for two nights on business en route to Kasane. Hotel is very similar to so many across the world but appears older and much more tired. Breakfast buffet was good, reception was medium with most enquiries being met with a shrug or indifference. The room was insecure in that the window/door to the outside had a broken lock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank visitorwithsense
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear visitorwithsense Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to make up for the shortcomings experienced during your visit. I am excited to advise that our property refurbishment will commence during the latter part of September. Regards Drick van der Nest

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We had a very nice stay, found staff to be friendly and helpful. Loved the bird song in the courtyard! Appreciated the personal nature of packing breakfast for us since we had an early start. The hairdryer was hard to fine (in the desk!) but it worked fine once we found it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L8015XLdenisem
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear L8015XLdenisem Taking time to review our property is sincerely appreciated and it is always great when our guests had a pleasant stay with us. Wishing you very safe travels and looking forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This is a great hotel. I recommend getting a rate that includes their excellent breakfast. I appreciated the gym with its ample strength building and cardio equipment. I arrive late in the evening and was happy that room service was still available. The fish and chips was excellent as was the house dry white wine.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbj2016
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear johnbj2016 Taking the time to review our property is sincerely appreciated. Your positive comments regarding your stay will be shared with staff and next time you visit, the bottle of wine is on us! Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Centurion
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Poor experience and very bad customer service. Baffles me how a reception operator who is meant to be excellent with customer service can be so rude. Furthermore sending a driver who is not accredited with an unroadworthy car to be a driver is not only unprofessional but endangers our lives!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kumedzanil
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Kumedzanil Your concerns raised in reviewing our property is important to us and will be addressed immediately. We have one driver in-house who uses a company vehicle and should guest require public transportation a taxi service is contacted. We will address the matter accordingly regarding the condition of vehicles. Sincerely Derick van der Nest

Johannesburg
Reviewed 31 July 2016

I am not sure what reviews I should capture here but anyways, I assume that it is expected to give an overall comment about my stay. My stay at Avani was not that bed at all but the only problem I had since I have been staying at the hotel was 2014 and I have been having the same problem...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacobmU7899UR
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear jacobmU7899UR Thank you very much for the review of our property. Your comments regarding staff in our breakfast restaurant is a concern and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. Our F&B Manager will be in contact with you soon to discuss this matter. Thank you Derick van der Nest

Kanye
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Room service was prompt and up to standard, Internet fast and reliable. All enabled me to do work in the room. Housekeeping was also excellent and employees always friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was also tip top!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tttshipinare
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear tttshipinare Receiving comments like yours is wonderful and a great inspiration to all staff members. Your wonderful comments will be shared and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property. Sincerely Derick

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

I stay on business quite often. I find everything to my satisfaction bar two issues that can be improved. One being the ageing bathrooms and the other being the poor wi-fi coverage. Especially when one gets a room at the back section.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kriben M
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Kriben M Thank you for taking time to review our property. Wi-Fi connection will be addressed immediately and I am happy to inform that a major refurbishment of all public areas is imminent. Sincerely Derick

Lobatse
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Food was perfect except that the menu is for the whole day, that is the same thing is served during lunch and dinner.The location of the place is good for convenience as well. The rooms are amazing, very clean and everything is provided in the rooms.The security is ok as well and the employees are friendly especially Benjamin Moilwe.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gtshutlhedi
Derick v, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear gtshutlhedi Your positive review of our property is sincerely appreciated. Mentioning a staff member by name is also a highlight and this will be shared with Benjamin. Thank you for acknowledging is efforts. Sincerely Derick

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
2.6 km away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 16 in Gaborone
349 reviews
2.0 km away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
166 reviews
1.3 km away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#8 of 16 in Gaborone
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#10 of 16 in Gaborone
46 reviews
5.2 km away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
6.0 km away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: Chuma Drive 4727, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Price Range: $206 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Gaborone, Botswana
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Presdential suites and other rooms close to those one”
DrBeautyMMuzadzi, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First FLoor”
628willyv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best view from rooms facing the pool area.”
hugot790, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away if you can”
nazparmar, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor, Pool Facing rooms”
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
MoeYou, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5