We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Stanley and Livingstone

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Stanley and Livingstone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Stanley and Livingstone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 202: English reviews
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Stayed here for three nights recently. The estate is beautiful and game viewe ing at the large water hole us excellent. We found our room faded and dark and needed updating. The shower was a dribble and taps kept sticking and furniture was old and a bit worn. The staff were all delightful and keen to help us. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pfromshipston
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments have been noted and we will attend to areas needing attention and ensure there is more variety for vegetarians on our menus. Your comments about Mike have also been noted and much appreciated. Regards Vincent

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We stayed at this amazing lodge in December 2015. The experience was memorable. The accommodation was lovely with picture perfect gardens and good close viewings of animals drinking at the waterhole. We were lucky to see Zebras and a Buffalo drink there when we stayed. Our game drive was very interesting with a very knowledgeable ranger. Of the big 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monica M
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

Your feedback has been noted and thank you for taking your precious time to give such feedback. The cats are always difficult to see but our Guides always try to make the game drives as interesting as is possible even when there is the disappointment of not seeing these cats. Our meal venue in the bush is just as safe...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We took a game reserve tour with this company in their private reserve and after circling for almost 3 hours we didn't see any animals in the wild. There was one Rhino which the company made to arrive at the anti-poaching area. Other than that, not a single animal. Waste of money and time! They have a lavish hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parindshah
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback. It is most unfortunate that you did not see any animals other than the one rhino on your drive. We do have a variety of animals on our reserve that includes the big 5, giraffe, hippos, crocodiles, impalas, zebras, kudu, sable, eland etc. It is rare that guests don't get to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We were spellbound by the property. It has lavish rooms with amazing balcony and views. From the Terrace one overlooks the waterhole and you see an amazing collection of animals in tranquility. Zebras, Impalas, Waterbucks, Kudus, Monkeys abound. The staff is amazing. Our Driver Zulani was superb and took care of taking us around for River Cruise at Sunset, Walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaiswal_ajay
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to emulate and excel on our product offering and hopefully continue to satisfy as many of our guests as is possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Vincent

Torquay
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Met at Airport by personable friendly driver, 15 minute transfer to a welcome at the lobby by Moline Shoriwa and a refreshing cold drink. Quick check in and shown to suite (No 7) which is absolutely superb in every respect - including a large deck where you can have a drink and watch many animals also having a drink in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel7mm
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been noted and we will certainly work on improving the dining experience. Our product is about peace and tranquility and we are pleased you managed to experience exactly that. We look forward to your return some day in the future. Kind regards Vincent Makamure

Ostend, Belgium
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Lovely lodge and game reserve! From our balcony we could watch the animals like zebras and impala coming to a pond early in the morning. The driver Mkosana was very experienced, he does his work whole-harted! Wqe had a bush-dinner and during our meal, a herd of elephants walked gently up to the building, as they were looking for food!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PIETERMAN
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

"lovely lodge and game reserve" thank you for describing our products so convincingly. We are pleased your experience was good seeing all those animals from the comfort of your balcony. We appreciate your taking the time to make this review and look forward to welcoming you in the future. We would like to wish you a merry Christmas and a...

Montreal
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Our experience far exceeded our expect ions. One could not wish for more. The game drives were excellent, the Guides knowledgeable and the staff and service outstanding. The accommodations were excellent. There were many activities available should you wish to do other things than just the game drives. We would highly recommend this Lodge. The location was great as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwearycanadian
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

We are pleased that our product and services exceeded your expectations, we strive to achieve that in everything we do. Your review makes us feel proud and we are confident it will inspire other travelers out there to visit our reserve. We would like to thank you for taking your time to make this review and look forward to welcoming...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We decided on this hotel because it was a private game reserve and we weren't let down. We were met at reception (which looks just like a beautiful old office) and sat down and worked out our activities for our few short days here. We settled in our room and off we went on the evening dinner safari drive. Wow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra A
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased you didn't feel let down. We always strive to make our guests feel special and have the most of experiences. You feedback inspires us to look ahead with positive minds. We trust you will come back in the near future. We wish you a Merry Christmas and a...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We came to celebrate part of our 30th anniversary in Victoria Falls. First of all, this hotel is designed and decorated to look like the 1920's or 30's. The hotel is only 16 years old but looks like it's been around for a while. We walked to our room which was half of a hut with a living room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luvrockymts
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. We have noted the good and the areas not so good. Our lodge is 16 years correct and we would like it to show this old Victorian look complimenting the scenic view of the animals coming to the watering hole. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you in...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

The lodge at Stanley and Livingston just outside Victoria falls is fantastic! Beautiful rooms with private veranda overlooking the watering hole. Early morning game drive is excellent and the lodge is close to the entrance of the reserve. We saw the rare black rhino with babies here which is amazing. The food is delicious and beautifully prepared and served. Be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kittyfitz
VincentMakamure, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed seeing the rhinos and the delicious food we offer. We trust you will come back to visit us again in the future. Wishing you all the best in the years ahead. Regards Vincent

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria Falls
0.7 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,020 reviews
2.7 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
336 reviews
1.1 km away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
742 reviews
3.0 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
480 reviews
3.3 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury Accommodation and the Big Five Minutes from Victoria Falls Home to the "Big Five", The Stanley and Livingstone at the Victoria Falls Private Game Reserve is an attraction in itself. Immerse yourself in the abundant sights of Africa just minutes from the Victoria Falls in all her glory. Here the luxurious Stanley and Livingstone Safari Lodge and intimate Ursula Camp spare no expense. 16 opulently appointed private suites overlook the abundant Reserve - and four intimate chalets offer retreat from daily life, amid green manicured lawns and flowing fountain ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stanley and Livingstone

Address: Old Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Price Range: $431 - $1,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stanley and Livingstone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Stanley and Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley And Livingstone At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Stanley Livingstone Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stanley and Livingstone staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Peoria, Illinois
Peoria, Illinois
over a year ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Stanley and Livingstone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cottages have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles janhF116LC, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were great. If you want more privacy, ask for a room with a higher number, further away from the communal areas. ”
 of 5 bubbles Heloiise, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms good!!”
 of 5 bubbles Marlie900, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face the waterhole”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisW311, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to get the honeymoon suite as it has a jacuzzi!”
 of 5 bubbles AndreDarlene, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay