We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Tulip El Mechtel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a conveniently located property in Tunis City Center. Good security and very helpful staff. Tunisia is still suffering a PR problem but the Golden Tulip is doing its bit to combat that. The chicken caesar salad is really good!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard Eric C
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Richard, Many thanks for your nice feedback. We are glad to see that our hotel corresponds to your expectations. It is a pleasure to read your kind words about the security, the staff of our hotel and the food. I am as well delighted to learn that you appreciated our hotel’s convenient location. Thank you again for your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As expected wonderful stay including nice room a little bit old but really comfortable...good variety of food for breakfast..the location is really perfect and the stuff are reaĺly helpful and people are nice and welcoming..i really recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romeo r
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear guest, At first, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Golden Tulip El Mechtel. Thank you very much for your amazing review and recommendations. We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us and that you found your accommodation and the service that you received from...

Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at the hotel on 3 occasions. Staff are friendly and helpful, though the place is a little worn. It has a couple of alright restaurants, and a friendly bar. The location is good to walk down to the old part of town. Breakfast is fit for purpose. Wifi connectivity was marginal and frustrating in my last room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toreiraq06
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, This is with regrets that we have read your comment. We are very sorry to see that your experience at Golden Tulip El Mechtel was not as you expected. We are very delighted to read that you liked our staff, bar and location. However concerning the Wifi connectivity, we have shared your comment to our IT Manager and...

Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The rooms are quite small but they are comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located about 20 minutes from the airport. The service is poor. I asked if I could arrange a cab for the medina. I was told to go outside when I was ready and get a cab. I had a very early morning flight and wanted the assurance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s G
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment following your stay at Golden Tulip El Mechtel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and the location of our establishment. However, we are very sorry to see that your stay was not as you expected. Regarding the booking of a cab,...

Reviewed 4 March 2017

Was here in first week of March 2017. People were very good and helpful. Restaurant is excellent. BReakfast has limited vegetarian choice. However variety of food was good. Lebanese restaurant was excellent and good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaykumar K
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your lovely comment. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us at Golden Tulip El Mechtel. We are pleased to see you liked our staff, Lebanese restaurant and food. It was a pleasure to share your comment with our teams. We have well taken into account your observations...

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived before midday and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready.very well designed with coffee machine, iron etc. very well located, huge bright clean open planned reception with sofa sitting area and a TV, room was very clean, bed was very comfy, near the lifts and the free breakfast was outstanding

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NioS G
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear guest We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comment about our hotel. We are glad to read you enjoyed the room, staff and reception. I will transfer your comment to our team, they will be very pleased. Make sure that your satisfaction is our priority We hope to welcome you again soon for your next...

Emmen
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Been there several times. Staff Friendly but rooms are old and in need of maintenance. Tiles are broken, damaged and carpets old. Food is good and local cuisine offered as well. Breakfast service early departure seems to be very difficult and after two visite without succes I stopped asking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexhozee
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your comment. We are very sorry to see that your experience was not as you expected. We have well taken into account your observations; they help us to improve our service. Concerning the tiles and the carpets, we have shared your comment to our housekeeping service and regarding the breakfast, we...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Wonderful amenities and design, perfect location, helpful staff, clean, modern, great services, delicious daily breakfast and food, it is incredibly peaceful and serene, nothing better can make our stay memorable

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philippopeterson
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you very much for your amazing feedback. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed our amenities, design, location, staff, room, services, breakfast and food. We will share your comment with our staff; they are going to be very touched. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

This hotel has a great location, but the condition of the rooms (the fridge taped shut, the housekeeping not replacing empty toilet roll) are rather lacking. We made reservations through the central booking number, but when we checked in only one person's name could be found, and he was oddly told to pay right away. The rest of us were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catatonia_10
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel. While we are delighted to see that you enjoyed our location, we do apologize if your experience at our establishment did not fully meet your expectations. We are extremely sorry to read that the check in matters disturbed the tranquility...

Lyon, France
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Hotel where people do not respect the smoking area, Coffee machine is a household one, maybe someone has to explain them what a commercial one is!!! the Hood at the italian restaurant was not working on feb 1 it was smelling awfull!!! the waiters (from outside the restaurant) were so rude, I have never encountered such experience. I asked a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank abou-abed
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in our establishment. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Be assured the satisfaction of our guest is our priority. Regarding the waiter’s attitude, again we apologize for the inconvenience. It was an exceptional situation....

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
1.7 km away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#5 of 54 in Tunis
375 reviews
1.0 km away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 54 in Tunis
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
435 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
369 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#15 of 54 in Tunis
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Golden Tulip proudly opens its new doors in previous Hotel El Mechtel.Situated on the perimeter of the Belvedere Park, Hotel El Mechtel, now under the management of the Golden Tulip chain, combines the ideal world of both business and relaxation. Having gone under extreme renovation of it's rooms, reception and conference facilities, with a focus on service upgrade, the Golden Tulip El Mechtel is now prepared to welcome international and local guests, while still offering international service standards. Relax and recline in the luscious greenery that surrounds this pacifying hotel, where service is ready at the ring of a bell.Please let us know your feedbackPaul Z. DiabGeneral Manager ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Address: Avenue Ouled Hafouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Price Range: $90 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip El Mechtel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Tulip El Mechtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel El Mechtel
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Tulip El Mechtel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the other side of the busy intersection that it is located on.”
sg578, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room was viewing the garden and excellent view.”
, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If they have no smoking levels, ask for it.”
catatonia_10, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Individual "villas room" are located in quieter areas on the ground of th Hotel”
henristetter, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i recommand the fourth floor”
nhkelaswai, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5