We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Babylon Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Babylon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Babylon Lodge
 Click to rate
Sneek, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A good place as a base for hiking or climbing the Kilimanjaro. The rooms are clean and quiet, the staff is friendly. As it is not located near the center of Marangu you need to have transport or take a taxi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eaveyk
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as we walked through the reception and to the island garden leading to the rooms, we were mesmerized. We did not expect to find that hidden gem, in the nature sense, there, waiting for us. Moreover, the service from the staff was outstanding and the environment was very conducive for conversation. The rooms were spacious and different in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngieWanyoike
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

For Tanzania, this was by far the best experience I had experienced at a lodge / hotel. Management went above and beyond when I missed placed my phone to help me find it. After looking at the cameras for an hour, the owner saw I had brought it to my room. With everyone's help we found it lodged between the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell R
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

The shower was leaking electricity when I turned on the tap. All the 8 rooms my family was in had no TV nor did I see any sight of wifi in the area. Mobile service in the whole premises is poor. Dinner and room service took three hours of which the hotel service tells you with no care.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dayanachacha
Bobby L, Manager at Babylon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dayanachacha, We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations when delivering our services. At Babylon Lodge we take our clients complain very serious and we will follow up on this to ensure all our future clients receive our wonderful services that we are known for. Most of our guests were happy during the Christmas period despite the overwhelming...

Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I was there on 13 of November this year with 11 client on cycling tour around mountain Kilimanjaro. we overnight there ,rooms was very good, food was good, and staff was very familier.it good place to stay when u do cycling tour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haikaexpedition
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

All staff amazingly friendly, especially Bobby who also went out of his way even when we were not in the hotel! Staff could not do enough for us! Rooms are very comfortable, basic and clean. Excellent value for money. A perfect stay for our requirements! Thank you Babylon Lodge!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mishyyy
arusha
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Was here one week ago with 2 clients of our company Safari Mabri adventures, we had a great stay, the lodge is very nice and clean and the food is very good.. The staff is very helpfull , we will bring more clients to this lodge!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rose147
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I took an Easter getaway to Babylon Lodge on the recommendation of a friend. The food (foreign, delicious, healthy and well portioned), service (both warm and jolly) and rooms (uniquely designed and cosily impressive) were most relaxing. We also got directed to some very lovely waterfall and a crystal clear, naturally warm spring pool. The latter, though far, if highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony M
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Great place, great location, relaxing. Best thing about it was the staff. Very well looked after and given space to relax. Wonderful place and very well run Sorry it's taken so long to write a review…i stayed in Summery 2013. :-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wythenshawemick
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Babylon is a wonderful place to stay! While interning on Zanzibar, a friend and I wanted to take a weekend trip to Kilimanjaro. This was squeezing a lot into essentially 2 days. I emailed Bobby from Babylon hotel because they offer a one day climb and stay combo. Sadly my service cut out while on the phone and I lost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cd02016

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilimanjaro National Park
3.1 km away
Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort
Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort
#1 of 3 in Kilimanjaro National Park
80 reviews
22.1 km away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
219 reviews
23.3 km away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
105 reviews
26.8 km away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
299 reviews
33.3 km away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 66 in Moshi
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kilimanjaro's Best Budget Hotel! Babylon Lodge is situated in a lush garden setting, just minutes from Kilimanjaro National Park. Locally owned and operated, we provide service and amenities that equal the more expensive hotels at a much lower price. We have recently remodeled with new restaurant, bar and garden areas. Also, since we are from the area and have no need for middlemen, we can help you to find low-priced, quality tours that you might not find at the larger resorts. Babylon Lodge is the perfect place to stay for a weekend away or before/after a climb. Babylon Lodge is the only hotel in Marangu that offers free Wi-Fi to its clients. Welcome to Babylon Lodge for quality and affordable services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Babylon Lodge

Address: P.O Box 227 | Marangu-Kilimanjaro, Kilimanjaro National Park +255, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Kilimanjaro National Park
Price Range: $64 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Babylon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Babylon Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Babylon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with tarace was good”
 of 5 bubbles haikaexpedition, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Walking distance to Marangu”
 of 5 bubbles 885catm, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 103 is closest to the wifi transmitter, so it does have in-room wifi. And don't forget to meet the in-house tortoise, Kobe, in the upper garden.”
 of 5 bubbles VermontToucan, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Try and see "Kobe" the tortoise living in the garden adjacent to the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles TheDailyDavies, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Our room was a twin share at the back of the lodge, lovely and quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles Aletch159, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5