We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Q-Bar & Guest House

Jumia TravelUSD 55*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 77*
USD 55*
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Q-Bar & Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Q-Bar & Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Large, clean rooms, huge breakfast, great AC and room service. My husband and I are currently staying here with a 13 month-old baby and are all managing to get a good night's sleep. This is the best value for money in a prime location in Dar es Salaam. You cannot beat it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Globalnomad71
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hard to get better value for money in Dar. QBar is well located on the peninsula so easy to reach a range of restaurants after a busy day down town without fighting the traffic. Supermarket next door, also internet centre for copy, printing and binding ,also hair salon for waxing and manicures. Rooms are comfortable, spacious with AC and ensuite....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne d
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2013

First things first, there is definitely some soliciting going on here. I'm not saying that it is anything to do with the dorm or its owners, but if that sort of thing puts you off, look elsewhere. However, the girls definitely have a target market and it is not travellers but rather seemed to be the middle aged expat crowd....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kampala_Hoop
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are very glad to hear this would be your bar of choice if you lived here and equally happy that you were comfortable in your room. I can assure you that Q-Bar has nothing to do with the "girls" and have spent the...

united kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I am a regular visitor to Tanzania for work and pleasure and I choose to stay at Q bar. OK, it can be a bit noisy at weekends (ask for a room further away from the bar) but in this location, close to Coco beach, near to many offices of international companies and organizations and adjacent to great restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chinchillarat
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much from myself and our Team for your great review. We love all kind of feedback and feel very motivated with a review like yours. We hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again. Thank you .

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed in the 'backpacker's dormitory', which consisted of two sets of bunk beds and is the cheapest option on site. AC was great, the bathroom was passable and conveniently located, the beds were comfortable. I arrived with two other backpackers, which meant that the three of us basically had the room to ourselves. The WiFi was intermittent but free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shleach
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and would come back again. We are working very hard to have a good, fun and respectable crowd at the Q-Bar. We are making many changes to the Bar and the Hotel and hopefully you will come...

Liverpool
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Unfortunately we chose to stay in Q-bar on a Saturday night. The rooms are comfortable and although our airconditioning and toilet were not working they did offer us a change of room. The food was good to for a reasonable price. The main reason for the poor review was the noise level. You are right above the bar and although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jc0pe
Q-Bar, Owner at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you were comfortable in the room and enjoyed the food. It is always great to hear when the receptionist has done a good job and made sure you got a room you were happy with. I am very sorry that you did not have a similar experience with the manager. I am...

Mtwara, Tanzania
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I've stayed in Q-Bar a number of times for work and while the other reviewers comments about the music and the bar are true, I've never experienced any problems, and know that on weekends especially there is going to be music and noise in the bar. That kind of reputation can be intimidating for a woman staying solo but in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cryptomania
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed all your stays with us. We have started upgrading the rooms with flat screen Tv's, new full size mosquito nets, and of course bedding and towels. We hope you will be back with us soon again.

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I had to find some where central to crash for 1 night and this wasn't a bad choice. A loud boer-ish bar packed with heavy drinking rugby watchers, high density of predatory prostitutes. Saying that it is what it is, a decent choice for lone guy stuck in Dar for the night. Beer, dinner and lady of the night, if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kris_mzungu
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The bar and restaurant has a very mixed crowd but perhaps South Africa was playing when you were there. They do tend to be the most passionate of the supporters. We do have Live Bands on Thursday's and Friday's and a resident DJ on Saturday's. Even with the double glazing...

Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were here on a saturday night, and as suggested by the other reviews the noise from the disco at the bar was quite loud. We had a budget room at the back of the building (no 11) and we could hear the bass line, although it didn't stop us sleeping after a few beers. The room was fine but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsMiles2009
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We agree that the Budget room is quite basic, it has AC, Tv, Refrigerator, Safe and a desk, but could probably do with some paintings. We thank you for your suggestion and will rectify it immediately. We are not sure why the shower did not work for you, I wish you would have informed us...

Chile
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I was in the Q Guest House two days, Sunday and Monday and the music was very hi until the 2 in the morning. The rooms where ok to me, but the worst was the bar full of young ladies sinting over old men, a lot of weird men, soldiers, etc... a really weird place famous in Dar for the...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Pilar V
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you liked the rooms. There was a navy ship in town and our night managers decided to play music to please the crowd, this was obviously not the best decision. We are sorry the music kept you awake and hope you will come back again one...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.7 km away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#56 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4 reviews
5.9 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#39 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#28 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#31 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
159 reviews
5.7 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
649 reviews
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A small hotel on the Msasani Peninsular. Only 10 km from the city centre, a ten minute walk to Coco Beach and right behind the famous Tinga Tinga market. There is now an inside and outside area for the bar and restaurant. You can choose to sit under the stars or if it is too hot you can cool off in the Air-conditioned lounge. We have a Live band on Thursday's and a DJ on Saturday's. The bar is busy and has a good vibe, the restaurant is well known for the BBQ, Sea Food Platters, Steak Flambe and Fajita's. There are also several restaurants and shops within walking distance. The atmosphere is laid back and a great place to meet other travelers and people living in Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Q-Bar & Guest House

Address: Haile Selassie Rd | Crossing Ali Bin Said Rd, Dar es Salaam 4595, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $21 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Q-Bar & Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Q-Bar & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q-Bar And Guest House
q-Bar & Guest House Hotel Dar Es Salaam
q Bar Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Q-Bar & Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Q-Bar & Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in the bigger rooms facing the entrance of the hotel!”
myjourney16, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The big rooms are away from the bar. The cheap rooms are for those who want to enjoy the bar, with live music up to 1AM in the weekends.”
DaktariMzungu, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“they are all noisy - take ear plugs”
bwanajimbo, 30 May 2015 | Read review
“If you want WIFI ask for a room that the WIFI signal can reach. Ask for a room away from the bar for less noise. Room #12 is ok for that. Check of the AC is working in your room before committing to it.”
SophieTremblay17, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The farther up you are, the better it might be.”
Supaimorani, 30 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
USD 55* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUSD 77
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates