We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Q-Bar & Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Q-Bar & Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Start your review of Q-Bar & Guest House
 Click to rate
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

It's my second visit in 6 years and the building has been improved and the bar more lively and more smiles. A great base for a DSM adventure and a perfect watering hole in a hot and sticky climate for the young and playful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DXB_Traveller_2000
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's a good place ..for me I found it interesting and fun and amusing! I enjoyed their mishikaki and chicken curry, Stayed here for almost three weeks and it was okay and had a lot of fun..You need a drink ,all you do is go downstairs! Though the music is loud in some hours at night and too many ladies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neema W
Tanzania
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Very clean rooms, reasonably priced, air conditioning that works. Bar is lively and food is excellent. Better if you're going to be out at night as the music from the bar is loud till about 2am. So go enjoy the bar; it's one of the liveliest in Dar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nyerere
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I wasn't staying in the guest house, just visited the bar. Even if the place itself is nice and the prices are normal, the atmosphere was quite weird so we didn't stay for long. Good location and music.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pani A
Mountain View, California
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The room was great except for on weekend nights there is very loud music playing directly below some of the rooms, so ask! The second night we stayed in a different room and it was quiet. The rooms were large and clean, the air conditioning worked and we didn't have any bug problems. The food at the restaurant attached was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. A big thank you from the kitchen who were very happy to hear your feedback. Regards from the Q-Bar Team

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

The Q Bar Guest House is as it says on the tin: a guest house attached to a bar, which means you will get the DJ sounds direct to your room without having to go to the bar. But in all other respects the Q is laid back and provides decent facilities both comfy and clean. I was never offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are glad you were happy with your stay. We have live music by the famous Banana Zorro on Thursday's and a DJ on Saturday's. There are rooms in the back where you do not hear the music. Coco Beach has had an extreme amount of sea weed in the last 6 month but...

Morogoro, Tanzania
Reviewed 31 October 2016

full of aggressive or very young prostitutes. Avoid at all costs, the cheap price is not worth almost being punched for "stealing" a prostitutes bar stool. Rooms themselves ok, except the noise from the bar makes it impossible to sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haylee42
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, I am very sorry you had such a bad experience. We have had problems with some unwanted guests, which we are working hard on removing. We do have an upstairs balcony which is for hotel guests only. Glad you were happy with the room. Thank you for taking the time to make a review, we value all feedback and...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Although the location is quite good that is all good there is to say. The place is very unresponsive to e-mails. I stayed on a Sunday and Monday and could not sleep on Sunday-night due to the noise (even though they promised the noise problems should be solved now). Even after opening the windows for several hours the room still...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G_Stevers
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 June 2016

I've stayed at Q-Bar for a total of two weeks spread out over one year during my frequent visits to Dar Es Salaam. The pictures are incredibly misleading as this place does not look like what they show you. If you are a budget traveler who just needs a place to crash in the Oysterbay area for one night, then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myjourney16
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Our room was right above the bar which is not advisable for people who don't like loud music while sleeping. The room service was good. There is a nice lounge area where breakfast is served for free. Overall, our stay was pleasant as I appreciate hotel rooms which are clean with working geyser, AC and Wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iKaaya
Q-Bar, Manager at Q-Bar & Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a good stay with us. You will be happy to know we have closed in the bar, so there is an inside area with Air-condition, where the band will play and an outside area if you are not a fan of live music. The private Breakfast Balcony can also...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 km away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#30 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
17 reviews
5.3 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#31 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
132 reviews
5.1 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hote...
#11 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
153 reviews
4.8 km away
The Bedroom Hotel
The Bedroom Hotel
#52 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A small hotel on the Msasani Peninsular. Only 10 km from the city centre, a ten minute walk to Coco Beach and right behind the famous Tinga Tinga market. There is now an inside and outside area for the bar and restaurant. You can choose to sit under the stars or if it is too hot you can cool off in the Air-conditioned lounge. We have a Live band on Thursday's and a DJ on Saturday's. The bar is busy and has a good vibe, the restaurant is well known for the BBQ, Sea Food Platters, Steak Flambe and Fajita's. There are also several restaurants and shops within walking distance. The atmosphere is laid back and a great place to meet other travelers and people living in Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Q-Bar & Guest House

Address: Haile Selassie Rd | Crossing Ali Bin Said Rd, Dar es Salaam 4595, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $21 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Q-Bar & Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Q-Bar & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q-Bar & Guest House Hotel Dar Es Salaam
q-Bar And Guest House
q Bar Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Q-Bar & Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Q-Bar & Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in the bigger rooms facing the entrance of the hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles myjourney16, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The big rooms are away from the bar. The cheap rooms are for those who want to enjoy the bar, with live music up to 1AM in the weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles DaktariMzungu, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“they are all noisy - take ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles bwanajimbo, 30 May 2015 | Read review
“If you want WIFI ask for a room that the WIFI signal can reach. Ask for a room away from the bar for less noise. Room #12 is ok for that. Check of the AC is working in your room before committing to it.”
 of 5 bubbles SophieTremblay17, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The farther up you are, the better it might be.”
 of 5 bubbles Supaimorani, 30 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5