We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
 Click to rate
Dallas, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I should have stayed here The first night I arrived instead of the last. Open and airy hotel overlooking the Indian Ocean and harbor. I took offense to Hadi73 review. He quoted "although the people are black but they are white from their heart." This is insulting and degrading on all levels. There were some minor hotel concerns . Elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddagency
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Ddagency Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am delighted to hear that you had a good experience when you visited the Golden Tulip Hotel. We are in the process of renovating the hotel and the elevator is definitely on our list to fix. Well look into the pricing of the transfer fare and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a calm and beautiful stay on the outskirts of Dar, whether you want luxury or simple accommodation. We stayed here for 10 days in unexpected circumstances. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the chefs did a great job providing us with varied and tasty food, the standard rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 697joy
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear 697joy Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Golden Tulip hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay when you visited the hotel. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best culinary experience combined with great leisure. I am happy that we met all your expectations and...

Attock, Pakistan
Reviewed 3 February 2017

i stayed there for one week and i found this city wonderful. although the people are black but they are white from their heart. People were good and very helpful. i really enjoyed in Dare e salam. It is green and not full of trafic. I saw many foreigners there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hadi73
Reviewed 24 January 2017

I stayed at the Golden Tulip in Dar Es Salaam for a business conference in late November for a week. According to the website, the hotel seemed nice enough and located in pleasant surroundings, but when we arrived there we soon realised that behind the facade and hotel lobby, which was pleasant enough the place was quite old and dilapidated...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Alessandro M Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your visit. I am very disappointed to hear about the difficulties that you have encountered during your stay at the Golden Tulip hotel. It is unacceptable that you have experience the kind of service at the reception and that you had endured huge backlogs regarding the check-in and check-out times....

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had a good experience in this Golden Tulip hotel in Dar Es Salaam. The view was just amazing, the ambiance really good and the service was also good. Its located in sort of a porsche area of the city so it is really quite. If you like quite and scenic this is the place for you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gureni L
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Gureni L Thank you for taking the time to write about your good experience while visiting the Golden Tulip hotel. The Golden Tulip hotel in the City Centre is our sister hotel and we will surely pass on the wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the best of what the hotel brand has to...

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Sorry, Golden Tulip in Dar is a 2 star hotel. Very poor and I say this as I stay in many hotels global including Golden Tulip. Food was not good. It says this hotel has recently been upgraded, not true.. Best stay in another hotel as there is many.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Geoff P Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is very disappointing to hear that you have not had a good experience while visiting the hotel. I have discussed the issues that you had with the relevant department and we are doing the necessary changes. It is unacceptable that you had a bad culinary...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 7 November 2016

this place is a heaven @@@pineapple pizza was the best ### wine#### just wow####loved the samaki hot from grill#### charges are on steep side### can they provide card facilities. kids friendly areas can be considered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwake
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Kiwake Thank you for taking the time to write about your Sunday experience. It gives me pleasure to come to know that you had a good time when you visited the Golden Tulip Hotel, Masaki. We will definitely look into providing the card facilities as well as the pricing. We will surely look into the kiddies area as we...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Difficult to imagine a place like in our days. The hotel was empty, a dead place where you feel really unconfortable. No facilities, nothing related to luxury etc ... food is really bad, I have seen the meat for barbecue for our outised, under the sun in normal boxes, nothing to the meat cold. Never again !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amédée S
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Amédée S Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at the Golden Tulip Hotel. It is utterly disappointing to hear that we have not met your expectations when you visited the hotel .We have discussed your feedback and since June we have made a lot of changes in the kitchen as well...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The hotel is old and facilities are poor. It's a pity this is still listed as a Golden Tulip hotel while the staff on site clearly says this is not GT management anymore. Breakfast was ok, but restaurant is poor.

Review collected in partnership with Golden Tulip Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mathieuv184
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Mathieuv184 Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is disappointing to hear that we have not met your expectations this time when you visited the Golden Tulip hotel. We are in the process of renovating the hotel and will soon upgrade all facilities as well as refurbishment. I can assure you that the hotel...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Perhaps the owners are trying too hard without understanding what their clientele really want, they may want to engage with visitors to see how they can improve. They cant improve on the service of their staff who were all excellent and make the place worth visiting. Shock horror the owners may even consider talking to their staff to see how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave c
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Dave C Thank you for providing feedback of your experience at the Golden Tulip Hotel, Masaki. We are aware of the improvement the hotel needs and we will soon be doing major renovations . I am happy to hear that you have received good service as we work very hard on providing our guests with the best service possible....

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
7.4 km away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
54 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#14 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
286 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#13 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
2.7 km away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hote...
#11 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
154 reviews
7.2 km away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Golden Tulip Hotel - Dar es SalaamFor a luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean. Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam, a pearl on the Indian Ocean, is located on the Msasani Peninsula, one of the Dar es Salaam’s most tranquil and elegant neighbourhoods. It is 4 kilometres from the city centre, main business area, international organisations and embassies, while the airport is just 18 kilometres away. The hotel has fantastic views overlooking the Indian Ocean and offers exclusive services to its guests. With an interior inspired by a blend of Arabic and Swahili cultures Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides a unique and comfortable experience, starting from the lobby through to the large spacious rooms. Free wireless internet is available, making it the ideal hotel for both business travellers and holidaymakers. Golden Tulip Dar es Salaam has 84 full-sized rooms, 4 Executive Suites, 2 Diplomatic Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. All rooms and suites have a private balcony and offer all the comforts you would expect of an international hotel on the East African Coast. They are air-conditioned and are equipped with satellite television, a large writing desk, in-room safe, direct dial international telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathrooms are all equipped with hairdryers. The hotel offers 24-hour room service and laundry services. Both restaurants provide a unique dining experience in a relaxing environment be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sanaa Restaurant a la carte restaurant, located on the first floor provides a panoramic view of the ocean while Ocean View Grill & Bar directly overlooks the ocean. Le Rendez-Vous Café is open all day for that informal business meeting over tea or coffee, or simply for a nice break, which will not be complete without one of the chef’s fresh pastries. Additional business and leisure facilities include spacious banquet and conference rooms, which provide ideal venues for meetings, conferences and weddings for up to 500 guests while the infinity pool offers that is perfect for a quiet moment of leisure with stunning views of the Indian Ocean in the backdrop. With competitive rates throughout the year, Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides great value for money in an ideal setting. A luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam

Address: Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula | PO Box 6300, Dar es Salaam 6300, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $178 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Reservation Counter so you can book your Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Golden Tulip
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor is ideal”
 of 5 bubbles ddagency, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are connected by an adjoining door so if you want maximum privacy, suggest you ask about this.”
 of 5 bubbles 697joy, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are having good sea view because it is just on the sea shore”
 of 5 bubbles Hadi73, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor beachside rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles gurenil, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Over the weekend rooms near the marquee are very noisy when there is a function there.”
 of 5 bubbles DurbanPearl, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5