We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 740: English reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Had a good time at this hotel.Special thanks to Nasima the lady at the reception. She really went out of our way to make sure we have a comfortable stay!The breakfast was great and the rooms especially the beds

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dora N
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We have been to Double Tree many times and have always had great service and friendly smiles from everyone. Greeting us like long lost friends. The manager always remembers we are here to visit our daughter in Iringa and asks after the grandchildren. This is something you don't get everywhere and makes us feel special. I personally love the cookie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grandmatorufus
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for once again choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The hotel does not have clear signage from Ali Hassan Mwnyi Sreet so I could a bit of difficulty in locating it. There is a need to provide enough beach beds even for non swimmers. The gym also needs to be expanded

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James N
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and...

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Doubletree. The staff was wonderful on all levels~check in, service on the terrance, pool side service & housekeeping. The rooms were well appointed and a very spacious baothroom. ( plenty of very hot water to take a nice bath) The location over looking the water provides for a nice relaxing setting. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMA1203
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Where do I start, the double tree Hilton by far surpassed my expectations. Situated in oyster bay the hotel ticked all the boxes and did not disappoint. I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel for 10 days in November and I must say it was worth every penny The customer service was superb. Every staff member I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neemalovesyou
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Friendly front desk staff, clean rooms, towels and comfy beds. Close proximity to the cape town fish market restaurant. quiet environment. Love this hotel for the location as it is close to some fun spots. the slipway market.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chukwuemeka E
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for once again choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you...

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Good hotel with a good rooms with ocean view, the room was good with a good space, nice bathroom, good air conditioning,i loved the opened restaurant looking at the ocean, but the food variety was not enough,the stuff were not that helpful,but not bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amrshabana
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Reception staff service was repeatedly mediocre to say the least. Training is necessary. The manager was great.. He addressed all of issues encountered. Location of hotel was great, restaurant service was great including servers

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 752robert2016
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and...

Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located in Oyster Bay, an area a bit far from downtown Dar and airport (can take 2 hrs to the airport) but worth the "commute" to escape Dar hustle. It has a lovely pool, postcard-like jetty and ocean view, very good food and particularly friendly staff. The rooms are large, but not cosy (marble floor, impersonal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G C
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Reviewed 9 December 2016

My host showed up several hours before I arrived to check on my room (this was at 17.00h and check in was 14.00h according to the reservation) and the room was not ready. When I checked in at 22.00h they didn't have my name correctly and told me the hotel was sold out - nearly had a heart attack! Lastly...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and...

371 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
8.5 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#4 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
280 reviews
7.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
456 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#14 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
286 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $220 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the rooms at the back of the hotel which have an ocean/ pool area view.”
 of 5 bubbles Eva_hawa, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Western side rooms are the best as they face the Indian Ocean and beaches”
 of 5 bubbles 466japhetk, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not take rooms on the 5th floor. the hotel has meeting rooms on the 6th floor which can be quite busy.”
 of 5 bubbles sood_varun85, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Due to the construction happening next door you may wish to consider asking for rooms with ocean view rather than streetview.”
 of 5 bubbles o2bnkd, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are a bonus”
 of 5 bubbles NDawbneyFisher, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5