We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

761 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 709: English reviews
Tanzania, Tanzania
Reviewed 22 May 2016

the service offered to the hotel is very good and attracting any person to come. in my first time my choice was slip way hotel. when i come to double tree hotel ,i would never shifted to another hotel due to services i got from this hotel including security assurence

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Turid K
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

We are delighted you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam – Oyster Bay as your home away from home and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to improve the guest experiences. We are pleased to read that that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and...

Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Dar es Salaam is such s wonderfully crazy city! Traffic, markets, corn growing in front gardens, great food and thousands of the greatest invention in modern times: THE TUK-TUK! Lol!!! Love them! Once you are done with sightseeing, shopping or working... come home to the Doubletree Oyster Bay!... Forget about the ugly 1970's or 1980's ... Maybe 1990's weird exterior...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tzingote
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

We are delighted you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam – Oyster Bay as your home away from home and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to improve the guest experiences. We are pleased to read that that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

The rooms are a good size add comfortable. Evenings having dinner outside as the sun sets see an absolute pleasure. This is normally a buffet, but the quality is still good! Staff are friendly and helpful. Try and get one of the sea facing rooms! Tuk Tuks are a cheap alternative to getting to anything fairly close by.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alex_Fox_27
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

We are delighted you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam – Oyster Bay as your home away from home and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to improve the guest experiences. We are pleased to read that that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and...

Delhi, India
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Overall experience at Hilton is very poor. TV Cable doesn't work. Hotel takes out your personal belongings from your room without informing you. Doubletree Hilton does exactly opposite of what should be done in hospitality industry. Very poor and unprofessional. Not recommended and won't come back here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sumit D
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you. Personal belongings removed from your room was...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Very friendly service. Excellent location, offers beautiful view of the sea. Spacious and comfortable room. Decent choice in breakfast buffet including fresh coconut water. Willing to accommodate dietary requirements when ordering eggs.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank M Arif P
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at the doubletree in Dar on numerous occasions during work trips. As a tip, I suggest looking on multiple Internet sites for the lowest price, as experience suggests price for this hotel can vary more than you would expect (ie>USD40). The rooms are huge and have great air conditioning. I've only ever looked over the road, as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tom M
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Very spacious rooms, very clean. Kind and friendly staff, esp at the reception and all day dining restaurant. Good pool and well equipped gym. Breakfast was excellent, very good quality and taste. High level of security.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank likestotrave2014
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at the Double Tree in Dar es Salaam. the hotel was bery neat and clean and does present value for money. The gym is small with basic equipment. The food was quite good, but the king prawns was not value for money as they served queen prawns. The other meals were very good like your...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lucien1972
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Aldie, Virginia
Reviewed 9 May 2016

I continue to see immense improvements and positive changes, especially with the hotel's policy and practice to use local talent. I have watched the addition of new and talented personnel, like Jerome, and observed that junior staff are being promoted quickly to managerial positions, and this is excellent management from any perspective. I would like to congratulate and commend the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jenkinsc2014
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Antwerp
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Traveling around a lot for work in the region, normal budget of 120$ per night I usually don't complain, but here we paid around 250$ and I did it worth adding my comments (I would have stayed else were in Dar if it was not a question of early morning meeting, location and traffic to consider) I stayed in 916...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OlivierM08
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel and your detailed report, following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during...

330 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
8.5 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
236 reviews
7.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
429 reviews
7.2 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
624 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#12 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $216 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Cairo, Egypt
over a year ago
4 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not take rooms on the 5th floor. the hotel has meeting rooms on the 6th floor which can be quite busy.”
 of 5 bubbles sood_varun85, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Due to the construction happening next door you may wish to consider asking for rooms with ocean view rather than streetview.”
 of 5 bubbles o2bnkd, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are a bonus”
 of 5 bubbles NDawbneyFisher, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher is better. Hilton Honors members get best dibs.”
  • Great view from the room this stay.
 of 5 bubbles rmc1971, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask the front desk for a sea view since the hotel has different rooms. My experience has been the even numbered rooms are sea facing.”
 of 5 bubbles monuh, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay