We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this property for one night over the weekend. Firstly, the check in process was quick and efficient however, the person working behind the desk was not enthusiastic or welcoming; they seemed very bored. When we entered our room (202), the first issue was the smell of dampness and humidity. I do understand this is an issue in Dar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harryklona
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing gym facilities with top of the range equipment,everything was within my reach as the location was so convenient.I enjoyed the variety of cocktails served at the Newscafe restaurant which is all under one roof,spacious rooms coupled by timely room service.

Helpful?
Thank atummay2004
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Mr Murray Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Regards Shawn Ritchie More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has a cold, cool ambiance. Asked for a quiet room and got one on the top floor. However, think the roof is the local zoo since lots of noisy bird and/or monkey activity taking place. The windows don't have proper curtains but Luxaflex blinds so it gets light very early in the morning. Toilet seat was loose, after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Herb M
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We (2 adults and 1 child) had a very pleasant 11 night stay, much better than our expectations. Our selection was based on 1) proximity to City Centre 2) reviews on Trip Advisor and 3) room rate including breakfast. We have almost same views and experiences as expressed by game8le Rooms are spacious and serviced regularly. Towels and Toiletteries are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Salman A
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Salam Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you at the hotel again Regards Shawn More 

Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Within the context of African Hotels this is above average but not super luxury. The rooms are large with large beds. Loads of pillows but the bed squeaked every time you moved. And the mattress was a little spongy. The shower stall leaked as did the hose next to the loo. But the room was overall pretty clean, they spray... More 

Helpful?
Thank gam8le
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Gamble Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Shawn More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

The thing you notice first are the wide corridors. The standard rooms are big and very cool during the day. They have aircons and every night they are spraying for mosquitoes. The gym which guests have access to in big and well equipped. The pool is also bigger than most. The News cafe is the only restaurant but the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frances M
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Frances Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Shawn More 

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Here for a Workshop and served hot water in a dirty tub with an industrial tap. Lunch was COLD and tasted leftover. Staff keep interrupting the conference room and walking around like there is nothing going on. The Room was not cleaned over the lunch break

Helpful?
Thank Mary N
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Mary I apologize that you had a bad experience but I think we need to clarify a few point. The tub you mention is a commercial stainless steel Urn with a commercial tap. The organizer of the conference arranged the lunch time for your conference at 13h00, but the conference only broke for lunch after 15h00, so the buffet... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2016

gym is very good . I have stayed several times at the hotel and the Gym and spa is what i most love. I do not think there is another one like it nearby. I enjoyed going to the gym in the morning. They also serve great breakfast

Helpful?
Thank andynji
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am please you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Shawn Ritchie More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We spent five fantastic days at the Colosseum Fitness and Hotel in Oysterbay as part of our holiday to East Africa. Pros include -Lovely and helpful staff -Staff put in a fridge in the room on our request which kept our soda chilled - thanks! -Friendly and informative sesaion with the hairdresser upstairs. And hey, my new haircut looked good,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Magnus D
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear Magnus Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am pleased you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Shawn Ritchie More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at the Colosseum on three occasions and it remains a decent selection for the business traveller. It's in a great location close to a number of good restaurants and night spots. Rooms are comfortable but require a bit more personal detail in presentation and amenities. Would be a plus if they could inform guests that room service closes... More 

Helpful?
Thank James M
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this review

Dear James Thank you for taking the time to write a review, about your stay at the hotel. I am please you had a comfortable stay at the hotel. I have taken note of your concerns but would also like to state that the room directory does state the opening and closing times for room service Shawn Ritchie More 

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es S...
#19 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
95 reviews
3.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
2.4 km away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#12 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
260 reviews
20.1 km away
Best Western Plus Colosseum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With inspiration drawn from classic Greco - Roman architecture; the hotel offers complete facilities and relaxation whether you arrive after a long day in the office or as a stop of between your safari and Zanzibar beach holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club

Address: 79 Haile Salassie Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $186 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#14 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on the first floor right above the cafe, so the music could be heard till late mid night. Not much choices in terms of view.”
 of 5 bubbles 176salmana, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try get a room at the end of the corridor away from the elevators as the tiled floors turn out noisy when baggage is wheeled over them.”
 of 5 bubbles Safariafficionado, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“top floor has great views”
 of 5 bubbles nikkijune2015, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Valerie48_11, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“upper floor has good view”
 of 5 bubbles 306hj, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay