We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames

Booking.comUSD 144*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 144*
USD 144*
USD 144*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Start your review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
 Click to rate
South Dakota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice place. Friendly and helpful staff. Was there with a group and we sat in the breakfast area to visit. We ordered food to be brought in and the staff gave us a list of places that had carry out. They were quite accommodating for a large group. Pleasant stay and those that swam enjoyed the pool. Rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zevah93
FairfieldInnAmesGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Our staff will be very happy to see this survey. All of us strive to give our 100% attention in all areas. We look forward to seeing you again in future stays with our hotel! Thank you for your time and have an awesome day!!! AGM Leahla Wierson

Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stayed here twice in 2016, April and October. The location worked well for us, relatively near the Iowa State campus. Our rooms faced the field in back (away from the highway) and were quiet and comfortable. We visit Ames twice a year, and will probably stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Golf_Scuba_Eat
Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Really pleasant hotel. Having a pool and weight room on site is a definite plus. Helpful staff, in particular Santoshi who checked me in and answered my 1000 questions and Chelsea who set me up with a 1-day extension. One critical comment is that the phones in the room didn't work. There were two in the room, one at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StatenIslandGuy
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival, after a long and tiring day, I was met by the nicest and most courteous young woman. Not only did she take the time to make me feel welcome but went out of her way to make certain I was receiving the best accommodation for the price. Thank you Santoshi!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert W
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 1 December 2016

The room had mold. When I complained to the manager they told me to leave. Never staying here again, I will be going to the Hampton across the street that is new. The internet never worked. Then they charged me the night I left because I checked out at 4:00 and not 3:00. Manager and staff is rude.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kennykotwas
FairfieldInnAmesGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review

Hi Kenny, Could you please give me a call regarding this tomorrow (12/2)? I tried to look up your information in my system and wasn't able to locate you. I am very sorry you were treated this way and would like to look further into this issue. Please give me a call at 515-232-4000 and ask for Chelsi. Thank you.

Bettendorf, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Problems with check in, mix ups with billing, charged for two rooms that we didn't stay in. Manager wasn't on the property to correct the billing situation when we checked out. I was assured by the front desk staff that she would " take care " of us when she was in the following day. Fast forward 5 months and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna S
FairfieldInnAmesGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review

Hi Joanna, I once again do apologize for this issue. There was a miscommunication between myself and Marriott Customer Care. You were refunded yesterday so you should see that credit shortly. Again, I apologize for this issue and thank you for staying with.

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Front desk very helpful and friendly. They are always available to help especially Santoshi. I recommend this hotel. Clean rooms. Needs more variety of breakfast. Nice location near by good restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gcarmonar
Mpls
Reviewed 9 November 2016

The last several stays at this Fairfield have been out of my desire to log Marriott nights (Platinum status). I will be staying across the street at the new Hampton Inn next trip to Ames. This Fairfield has terrible internet - wasn't able to connect with my laptop nor my iPhone. Everything they do is on the cheap. Last stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank discerning07
FairfieldInnAmesGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review

Hello, I am very sorry for your recent disappointing stay in our location. We are looking into our internet issue as we speak and seeing what we can do to better this. I want to thank you for bringing this to my attention. I have also spoken with my breakfast staff about being more present and checking the water regularly....

Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

This is a fairly new hotel; everything is new with a bold color scheme. We reserved our room online. This was uneventful and easy process. At our check-in, the hotel clerk was courteous and welcoming. Everything is clean, fresh, and well decorated, since it's so new. We stayed in a "Senior/Handicap" room on the first floor. The bathroom was to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onecleantooth
Saint Peters, Missouri
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I traveled to Iowa deciding to stay at the Fairfield Inn in Ames. The room size was bigger than imagined with a separate sitting area to watch tv. The shower was great with awesome water pressure. Breakfast in the morning had a nice variety as the coffee was also very tasteful. I'd definitely stay here the next time I travel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah O

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
2.3 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames

Address: 2137 Isaac Newton Dr, Ames, IA 50010-8216
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: $151 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Fairfield Inn And Suites Ames
Fairfield Inn Ames
Fairfield Ames
Ames Fairfield Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on back (North) side are quieter, away from Hwy. 30.”
discerning07, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Stay for fair price”
325pacob, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“another hotel.”
jondough0320, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the first floor away from the pool and lobby. But neither were noisy anyway.”
karlah251, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“request and upper floor room”
jennifermG4427JE, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 144* /night
View Deal
Fairfield InnUSD 144
Orbitz.comUSD 144
TripAdvisorUSD 144
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates