We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Show Prices
#8 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 349: English reviews
Homewood, Illinois
Reviewed 9 June 2016

The hotel is on the older/dated side, but still very nice and close to Iowa State U. Emma checked us in and was extremely polite and gave us move information for our new Freshman =). We stayed for two nights, unfortunately we did have the time (or energy) to utilize their workout or pool facilities, but I did peek inside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane S
Debra P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased we were able to be part of your orientation experience. Cyclone nation welcomes you! We look forward to seeing you again during your college years.

Huntley, IL
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Made our reservations as usual, but when we arrived we were informed that we had been upgraded. When we got to the room , what a surprise. It was a two room suite, and our granddaughters wanted the private master bedroom - too bad, grandma and I got it. This property is very clean and quiet. The service was great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emil P
Debra P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the upgrade and pleased we could provide it to you. We look forward to your next stay.

Streator, IL, United States
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Debra P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Georgetown, Kentucky
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgia B
Debra P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Ashburn, United States
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

I am a Club Carlson member and I usually make a point to stay at Country Inns and Suites. We booked our room for 2 days while attending orientation for my son who will be a freshman this fall at ISU. I requested a first floor room and was pleasantly pleased to find it right across from the breakfast room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timi B
Fort Benton, Montana
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We have stayed at this hotel before, while visiting our son and grandchildren. Primary reason was the warm pool. The room we stayed in, a king suite, was clean and comfortable but a bit dated. I am assuming, from the condition of the lobby, that eventually, they will update the room. The lobby and breakfast area are nicely done: beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7gma
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

It is so refreshing when you drive miles and miles for a family event, and you walk into your hotel to find everything you need! My family and I were exhausted after driving to Iowa, but your showers were clean, your desk attendants so welcoming, and even cookies and coffee awaited us. We were part of a larger group which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie P
Omaha, United States
Reviewed 20 May 2016

The staff is friendly and accommodating without being ingratiating. The facility is clean and well maintained. The hotel is close to the highway and easy enough to find, though just a bit "tucked away." This makes it a little unsettling to find the first time, but it makes it a quiet corner to get away.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Curtiss H
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
5.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
0.1 km away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
267 reviews
8.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Address: 2605 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: $140 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#5 Family Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Extra large room is really nice”
  • Rust around inside bathroom door
  • Sink drain needs replacing
 of 5 bubbles whereshouldwego44, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would image every room at this hotel is equally dirty”
 of 5 bubbles gingerl41, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“North side of motel overlooks lake area.”
 of 5 bubbles williamdV8314XX, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room on the 3rd floor was fine (except for the cleanliness issues), but I'd stay away from the rooms near the ice machines.”
 of 5 bubbles IowaGozzie, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 119,121 due to proximity to dining, kitchen, laundry”
 of 5 bubbles Nancy4Jayhawks, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5