We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Country InnsUSD 111*
View Deal
#7 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 114*
USD 111*
USD 114*
USD 111*
USD 114*
USD 111*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 377: English reviews
Kansas City, United States
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teddi W
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Oklahoma City
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S830IWbrianl
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Oregon,
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel. Just off the highway. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was hot and tasty! Rooms were clean and TV/AC worked. That's always important to me! Pool was very clean. Overall, this is my second time staying here and I will continue to stay because it's a convenient location and very nice hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa T
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Hello Theresa! Thank you very much for taking a moment to post such a nice review regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites of Ames! We were extremely pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments mean so much to us. If I can ever be of any assistance, please feel free to...

Minneapolis, United States
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We were in town for a college football game. Hotel was nice- updated and clean. Employees were all helpful. We could hear activity outside of the room- the walls appeared to be very thin- walking above us, in the hallway and water running in other bathrooms.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Hi Kimberly! I wanted to take a moment and thank you for posting such a kind review regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites of Ames! Your comments mean a lot to us- as they help guide us in our mission to ensure complete satisfaction and memorable guest experiences each and every time. I am, however, terribly...

Minocqua, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suewil63
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Spicer
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 189wadea
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Barrington
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I have never been treated so poorly by hotel staff. I arrived with my 2 teenage boys only to be told they only had a king room instead of the 2 queens I booked. I explained that we could not fit into one bed and the girl at reception told me she could put me in a room with two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gingerl41
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

I was so deeply disappointed to see your review as it is never our intention to leave our guests with the type of impression that would warrant such feedback. I was promptly informed about the concerns and conversation shared between you and our guest service staff- as well my assistant shortly after their occurrence. I assure you that they were...

Ames, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Lamoni, Iowa
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Staff was nice and the place was clean. Prices seemed fair. We were very disappointed in the mattress. Very very hard and uncomfortable ! The room was clean but a bit dated. Breakfast was ok. Our backs are sore from sleeping on the terrible mattress!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbell78rn
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Hi There! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Country Inn & Suites of Ames! Your feedback is very important to us. I was saddened to see that you did not get a restful night on one of our new mattresses. We typically receive such great compliments on them; however we understand that...

Tiffin, Iowa
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Friendly staff. AARP discount. The best part was the outdoor firepit! Happy hour. And the delicious cookies! Clean rooms. Great breakfast. Close to great food and shopping. Easy to find. We'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
Jeremy M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review

Hi Dee! I'm ecstatic to see that you had an awesome "Girl's Getaway" while you were in Ames! I hope we did everything we could to make your stay with us the most enjoyable experience- and we surely look forward to seeing you again! Of course, thank you for such a great review- and for pointing out several popular highlights...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
5.1 km away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
2.7 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
8.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Address: 2605 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6495
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: $132 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#5 Family Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a king bed. no problems.”
gregbohn2, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Extra large room is really nice”
  • Rust around inside bathroom door
  • Sink drain needs replacing
whereshouldwego44, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would image every room at this hotel is equally dirty”
gingerl41, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“North side of motel overlooks lake area.”
williamdV8314XX, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room on the 3rd floor was fine (except for the cleanliness issues), but I'd stay away from the rooms near the ice machines.”
IowaGozzie, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Country Inns
USD 111* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 111
Expedia.comUSD 111
CancelonUSD 114
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates