We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Athens

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Athens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
Evans, GA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is perfect for an overnight visit to Athens. In walking distance of the university and downtown restaurants and bars, it is an older facility, but well kept. Rooms are a nice size, and while some reviews reported that rooms were noisy, our room near the back of the third floor was quiet as it could be. Bathrooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Management response:

We appreciate your great review of the Holiday Inn Express in Athens. Our location and is great and we continue to focus on what is important to our guests; clean rooms, great service and breakfast. We continue to work to find solutions to all of our rooms having a quiet room. We look forward to seeing you soon. Michael Coward... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Holiday Inn express is so conveniently located! We were able to walk downtown in minutes and had a delicious bagel at a place called Ideal right down the street. The front desk was pleasant and very accomodating. The rooms were nice and clean outfitted with kuerig machine and several pillow options of various firmness levels. The complimentary breakfast has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruby K
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review

We appreciate your great review of the Holiday Inn Express in Athens. Our location is great for access to UGA and downtown Athens. We will never rest on our success and will continue to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to seeing you again. Michael Coward General Manager More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is very centrally located but is in sore need of an upgrade. The noise from the hallways was a disaster. Two women attending a conference were having a chat outside the room across the hall, and they might as well have been sitting on our beds! Why? Because the door was so poorly hung that the light (and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review

Dear Barbara M, Your insights are important to us and we appreciate your visit. We are pleased to learn that you have taken note of our hotel's convenient location. On the downside, we are regretful to learn that your stay was negatively affected by the hallway noise due to the door's soundproofing in your assigned room. Your informative review will... More 

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Property was average at best. The goods news is that it was reasonably priced and close to downtown. The property is very dated and in needed of remodeling. The rooms were just OK. Bathroom dated as well.

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review

Dear Mark E , We appreciate your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Athens, GA, and providing a review. It is great to know that you received 5 star service for your stay and that we were able to provide you budget friendly rates at our convenient location. Your feedback of our property being beyond its years, is well... More 

Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Location: very close to college - Staff: Polite, no issues - Room: Very clean, bed was very comfortable, clean linens, fluffy towels, room was updated. Bathroom was TINY. Interior hall access. - Noise: Walls seemed paper thin. You could hear the next room and any noise in hall.

Helpful?
Thank -OuidaWarren-
Management response:

Thank you for providing use with your review. While we did provide you with a clean, safe and friendly stay, we understand there were other areas we can imrove in. we do look forward to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Michael Coward General Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, good location, delicious cinnamon rolls! A very good value. The property is very well maintained and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend for anyone visiting Athens.

Helpful?
Thank Kris B
Management response:

Thank your for your amazing review of the Holiday Inn Express in Athens. We continue to focus on our guest experience and ensure we wow them like we did you. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Michael Coward General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

In my 36 years of going to Hotels this was my worst experience by far. I had made reservations on September 10th for October 7th and 8th, 2016. I used a valid credit card and received an email stating my reservation was confirmed. On Wednesday October 5th the hotel called me to ask if I was still coming and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank John C
Management response:

We do apologize for your poor experience during your stay. The Hurricane did cause many issues at the time of your stay and we worked to accommodate everyone that came. This was a challenging time for everyone and did what we could to aid those in need. Thank you Michael Coward General Manager More 

Level Contributor
89 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Room was comfy and had everything you need for a short stay. Breakfast was uninspiring and very basic. Good value for money although needed updating. Was however very noisy the night I stayed as there was a bulldog football game that day and the fans were staying in the hotel overnight.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review

Dear Adrian S, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to provide feedback. I appreciate the positive remarks regarding our comfortable room. We pride ourselves in making sure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay and it is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this expectation. I am... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

There are very few things about this hotel that would make me want to stay there again. I would check every hotel in a five mile radius before settling on this one. The location is decent (not great). You can walk by the government housing up to the town. You can look out your window at the view of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dane A
Management response:

While we cannot change our location we failed to exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We will take your feedback and use it as a training tool improve future guests experiences. Again I am sorry for your poor stay. Michael Coward General Manager. More 

Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is decent value for the money and in a collage town. Floors, walls, furniture could use some updating, but a good value for your money. Rooms are a little small and the bathroom is very small. I would stay here again if I'm back in the area.

Helpful?
Thank mcmillan865
Management response:

Thank you for providing honest feedback. We are in the middle of new design for the hotel and in the coming months we will be addressing many of your concerns. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you Michael Coward General Manager More 

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.1 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
564 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
4.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.2 km away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you re coming to Athens for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens be your home away from home. Travelers appreciate our corporate atmosphere and how we make comfort and convenience a top priority. Conveniently located off of I-65 at exit 351 and easily accessible to I-565 approximately 20 miles from Huntsville International Airport. (HSV) We are also located near TVA Brownsferry, Delphi, Steelcase, Federal Mogul and Athens State University.Each guest room is beautifully appointed and equipped with a microwave and fridge. Our guest rooms also have a large work space with ergonomic chairs. We are the perfect choice for business or leisure guests. Wireless and hard-wired Internet access is provided free of charge in all guestrooms and public areas. We offer an on-site cardio fitness room and on-site guest laundry for your convenience. We also have an in-door pool and hot tub for year round swimming.Start your day by enjoying our deluxe hot continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to a lighter fare such as yogurt, muffins, toast, or fruit. Don t forget to try our delicious cinnamon roll that you can only get from Holiday Inn Express. If you are in a rush in the morning, just ask for one of our convenient To-go Bags and cinnamon roll box.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens will be everything you expect and much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Athens

Address: 513 West Broad St, Athens, GA 30601
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $119 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Athens Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Athens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Blaine, Minnesota

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Athens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.....”
 of 5 bubbles C8789MCjohnc, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't book when there is a bulldog football game as very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles adriansX7090OE, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“first floor is convenient”
 of 5 bubbles nancyd34, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were across from ice machine. It was noisy and a busy place.”
 of 5 bubbles paulsY5512KT, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The hotel has five floors. The lower floor is for pets but the upper floors which have suites as well as rooms do not allow pets.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanH300, 12 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay