We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

HolidayInn.comUSD 112*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 320: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location and very friendly staff! I got upgraded to the executive tower and the rooms are good size and clean but nothing special. I stayed on the 6th floor and the one elevator was very slow. Breakfast buffet was OK and again the staff is great! Free parking. Best thing about the hotel is the location convenient for everything!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ola M
Summerfield, Florida
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the University of Georgia campus and favorable Trip Advisor ratings. Reality surpassed expectation! Reception staff warmly welcomed us with city and campus maps and hot coffee. Our KNS room 3470 was on the fourth floor of the Executive Tower, accessible by key card access only. Thus, we felt exceptionally safe and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wanda71
About Hotel's Favourite Review
amberlk27, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Wanda71, I am so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Athens! We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member and are delighted that you enjoyed everything about your stay from the pleasant and helpful team members to the clean and spacious room! We hope that you will choose...

Americus, Georgia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here on two different occasions in May 2017. Both my rooms were comfortable and clean with the exception of the bathroom in the second (which was filled with hairs that didn't belong to me). You can't beat the location in terms of proximity to restaurants, shops, and UGA. Had a terrible time getting the wifi to work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCF22974
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient to UGA and dining. Located on a busy street in Athens but the parking lot is accessible. This is an older building with updated decor. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. The facility is clean and well kept. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a restaurant on site with good, moderately priced food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denny56
Duncan S, Guest Service Rep at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn of Athens! I appreciate your thorough review of our hotel, and I'm so pleased to see that you were happy with your stay. It's always nice to see when our team members and our facilities combine to make a good experience for our guests. We hope to see you here again...

atlanta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite some renovations the hotel still seems average and dated. The one thing it does have going for it is it's superb location right next to campus. Rooms were typical, nothing fancy. Other choices in the area are superior.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 30,043
Duncan S, Guest Service Rep at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel! I'm sorry to see that we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations during your stay, even if you did find the location convenient. We hope that you choose to stay with us again, so we can have another chance to exceed your expectations!

Peachtree City, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In town for the UGA G day game, this location was excellent and provides free parking for its guests. That might be the only highlights to brag about. Room was not ready at check-in but we came back after the game got our room and walked into a sauna. We quickly informed the front desk ( friendly people) and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
Duncan S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. I'm glad to know that you found our location convenient for your G Day festivities, and I'm also very sorry that you had those difficulties during your stay. We have already made steps to improve our room readiness by our 3 pm check-in time, but I'm still saddened to see that there...

Stockbridge, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was speaking at the Administrative Professional Day Conference at the University of Georgia on 4/28/2017. I arrived at the Holiday Inn on 4/27. Check-in was a breeze. It took 4 minutes at the most. Google maps took me straight to the hotel, not a problem. Just a minor note, this is the Holiday Inn located at 197 E Broad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrismenard
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear chrismenard, Thank you so much for your positive and detailed review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Athens! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our team thrives on delivering exceptional service to our guests and we are very proud of our awesome downtown location! We hope to have you as our guest again in...

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, but that's all the positive feedback I can really give. The room smelt moldy. The amount of dust around the room was pretty bad. Just didn't seem very clean. We were going to a show at the Georgia Theater so you can't beat the location for that. It was ok for one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie2417
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Marie2417, Thank you for taking the time to provide candid feedback about your recent stay with us. Your feedback helps us to coach our team in order to provide better service in the future. I apologize that we failed to exceed your expecations but hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to deliver an exceptional experience....

Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Reviewed 16 April 2017

This is the second Holiday Inn property where the rooms smell moldy. After requesting a second room, it was no better. The windows do not open and the Amana room air conditioner does not circulate fresh air from outside into the room. Humidity level was very high in the room. If you have allergies,COPD or sensitive nose... PAY MORE to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gasnailer
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear gasnailer, Thank you for taking the time to provide candid feedback about your recent stay. I apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations during your stay, and will use your comments to help us improve our services and products to future guests. We welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future so that we...

Suffern, New York
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I really loved this hotel and will make this my home when visiting my son at school. You can't beat the location and the rooms were clean, updated and lovely. The bed was so comfortable it afforded us a good night sleep for the full day ahead. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and helpful. This was a home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BusyLori
amberlk27, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear BusyLori, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Athens. We know you have a lot of options when it comes to hotels and are glad that you chose to stay with us! I am happy to hear that our team delivered exceptional service to you and that you were able to...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.8 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
660 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
3.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.4 km away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Address: 197 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2801
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $138 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Athens-University Area staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Buford, Georgia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Athens-University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great location near a lot of restaurants”
  • Desk and chair and free WiFi
  • Room 2391 - comfortable bed
  • View from room 2391
  • View from room 2391
  • Holiday Inn - Athens GA nice room
  • April 2017 - pool was open
  • Holiday Inn - Athens GA nice room
  • Holiday Inn - Athens GA nice room
chrismenard, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay at the Hampton Inn, Athens, GA (free breakfast) or pay more and stay at the Hilton Garden Inn,”
gasnailer, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If in the executive tower, park in the overflow parking lot and go in the back door with room key.”
SusanCully, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in a part of the building directly above the front desk!”
Jamesmedlock, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the executive tower”
Y5860JHdavidm, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
HolidayInn.com
USD 112* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 112
Hotwire.comUSD 113
Booking.comUSD 112
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates