We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Athens

Booking.comUSD 72*
View Deal
#12 of 23 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Athens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Athens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 344: English reviews
Macon, Georgia
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This property is in a great location with a very courteous staff. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The breakfast isn't bad either. I definitely recommend this hotel. It's right across the street from The Varsity. For those of you that are not familiar with the Varsity, google it!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G7655MEjamesn
TrippMoore170, General Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review

It makes me happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a good night's stay, G7655MEjamesn! Cleanliness is one of our biggest priorities; I'm glad our cleanliness was able to leave a lasting impression on you. We hope you'll keep staying with us!

Reviewed 19 April 2016

The staff was super polite and accommodating, taking the time to answer my many questions about restaurants and the campus. The location cannot be beat! We were pleased to find a hotel that was both affordable and very comfortable -- a great home away from home for our bulldog weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lane A
TrippMoore170, General Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review

Lane A, I'm happy that you decided to stay with us despite any first impressions you may have received due to our construction. I'm even happier to hear that my staff was able to provide you with an excellent stay! Let us know next time you're in town, you'll always have a home-away-from-home in Athens with us!

Williamsburg, United States
Reviewed 18 April 2016

April 15, 2016 - The hotel is under a complete renovation which is very inconvenient. The construction blockage means there is a long walk from the rooms to the lobby for breakfast along a narrow street with no sidewalks and little lighting. Very frightening for my family. Rooms are OK, but one bed had blood stains on the pillow cases...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phillip D
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 18 April 2016

This hotel's rooms are directly accessible to the outside with only a door between the two. I usually do not stay in places like this because I feel it is less secure among other reasons but had no issues during my stay. The picture on the site led me to believe it was an indoor hotel though so be warned....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MTravi
Minneapolis
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel because it is pet friendly, and the location was perfect. Many choices for dining in walking distance. Our room was very clean and smelled amazing when we walked in. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and professional. We didn't eat breakfast there so I can't comment on that. We will definitely stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sienna06
TrippMoore170, General Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, sienna06! It's always a good day for me when I hear that one of our guests had an outstanding stay. You and your pet are always welcome. Next time you stay with us, you should definitely try our complementary hot breakfast!

Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

There is a new BW Plus tower under construction. The existing rooms are BW Minus. Very ordinary rooms. Breakfast barely acceptable. Only good thing is the bargain rate. OK for overnight if nothing else is available. Feels very sketchy when you check in and have to drive around the block to find your room

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank webtravel
TrippMoore170, General Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for your criticism, webtravel. Yes, we are currently undergoing a major transformation from motel to hotel, which as you can imagine is a messy process. We're sorry for the inconvenience caused. I sure hope you'll give us another shot once our tower is complete at the end of the year!

Huntersville
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I have stayed here a number of times and every time as been great a good very clean Hotel they are building an extension but don't let that put you off from staying here we will be back there in a few weeks time Keep up the good work

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
TrippMoore170, General Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review

I appreciate your kind words, Kevin H! Thank you for working with us as we renovate our property. Give us a call next time you'll be in town; we always have a room for you!

Athens, United States
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We had to walk through a dangerous neighborhood just to eat breakfast every morning. They were out on their balcony's looking at us as we walked by and it was very uncomfortable. The phone in the room didn't work properly and there are no microwave ovens in the breakfast area to heat the food after getting cold quickly. I wouldn't...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vincent A
TrippMoore170, General Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review

Vincent A, I'm sorry you had such a bad time at our property. I can assure you that the apartment complex near us is safe, despite the bad vibe you may have gotten. As for the microwave, we have foregone having a microwave in the breakfast area because our food is served straight out of the oven and kept hot...

Vidalia, Georgia
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Booked a 3 night stay with a school group. Rooms are not cleaned after first day. Specifically asked for a certain number of towels to be clean readily available. Not enough shower products available. Tried to call front desk 8 times no answer. Tried to call 1-800 customer service and they won't be available for 2 more hours. Basically NO...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Millieprice05
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 17 March 2016

I was less than thrilled with the Best Western in Athens. It's a motel. The rooms were dated; there was a microwave from the 1970's in the room. I was sure to put the chain on the door. I've been all over the world, and this was the saddest place I've ever stayed. The staff at the front desk made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WellWornPassport

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
4.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.5 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
661 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus and is a proud member of Coach Mark Richt's UGA Football Dawg family. The hotel is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as boutique shops, as well as UGA sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located less than a mile away, you will find the Athens Downtown shopping area which includes musical night life, and award winning restaurants. For passing travelers, the Best Western motel is conveniently located located near 441 North and South, with a staff ready to assist with any traveling questions. Make sure to stop by the world-famous Varsity Restaurant located right across the street! Best Western Athens is pleased to announce that we are now under construction on our new tower that will sit just off of historic Milledge Avenue. With this project, we will become a Best Western Plus upon completion. In the tower, we will be adding 55 guest rooms that will be interior corridor and 100% smoke free. All guests will have access to a hot complimentary breakfast every morning- next to this breakfast area will be meeting space that can host all kinds of events from wedding parties to business meetings. Guests will also have access to a 600 square foot workout facility as well as a spa to relax in during their free time. All rooms come with free Wi-Fi of course, and access to a business center that can be utilized to print documents if necessary. The future looks bright for us here at Best Western Athens! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Athens

Address: 170 N Milledge Ave, Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $90 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Athens staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Athens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the construction - if that exists”
bklynbiker, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms open to the outside.”
Oaklnfan, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms open to parking lot.”
jvcs, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I have found all the rooms to be equally good”
malikw491, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose any until remodeling is completed.”
mcrba, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 72* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUSD 88
Orbitz.comUSD 73
Hotwire.comUSD 73
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates