We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Posada Belen Museo Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Posada Belen Museo Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Posada Belen Museo Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The staff were great, the hotel is quaint, but this may not work for you if you need any amenities. The rooms are a bit stuffy--so if it's a warm time, be warned there is no way to get air into the rooms. And if you arrive after dark the only way to get food is order in from fast... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kellermaryrose
posadabelen, Director de Recepción at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we want to thank you the comments about your stay at Hotel Posada Belen Museo Inn, in July. It helps us to improve our services. Due that the house was built in 1873, and we are at the Historical Center of Guatemala City, there are things that we can´t change because it´s not allowed to change as make... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This small hotel is not fancy and elegant but has a lot of charm and local color. The staff members were super friendly and helpful, and my stay was very pleasant. It is within easy walking distance of the main square, but at night taking a cab is recommended.

Helpful?
Thank zug55
posadabelen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it was a pleasure to serve you. We thank you very much for your comments about the Hotel. We are glad that your stay was very pleasant. Hope we can serve you again!!! Best regards. More 

Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

After spending the previous week in remote jungle locations, Posada Belen was a welcome relief with warm water showers, rustic, yet beautiful and clean rooms, and a wonderful staff. They will bend over backwards to make you feel welcome. The first night we arrived, the taxi driver didn't have change for the taxi ride. I was going to eat the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dodgerdog925
posadabelen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we want to thank you, your nice comments during your stay at Hotel Posada Belen Museo Inn. We are glad that you were welcome and could have warm shower after your previous week in the jungle locations, and the staff was helpful. We hope we can serve you again. It was a pleasure to serve you. More 

Portales, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I went to Guatemala last summer for some cultural classes and stepping in this hotel was a nice beginning. There were Mayan styled statues and stone slabs with Mayan letters. The couches in the lounging area had crocodile skins, the rooms had some nice art hung in them, the wooden wardrobes had a classical look about them, and I loved... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anabel M
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Hotel Posada Belen is a cozy,small homely clean hotel in "Centro Histórico". The owner is exceedingly kind and accommodating. The hotel is very quiet, ideal for rest in the middle of the city's buzzle. The place is full of small corners, chairs for rest, pieces of Mayan culture, and in the bedrooms/bathrooms you find the extra essential that other places... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheContentSojourner
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2016

I want to start of saying how disheartened I am reading the 1 and 2 star reviews. Occasionally you will always have the people who expect American all star treatment from a third world country and are too posh to understand that this is Guatemala... not Hollywood. That being said, for being Guatemala, I could not have possibly felt safer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anngilyn D
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Absolutely amazing to stay with staff that feels like family, in a beautiful hotel museum, in the heart of Guatemala, Guatemala City. I cannot say enough about the staff, they are simply amazing! The courtyard is a treasure, I loved it so much that when I returned home, I bought a bunch of tropical plants to put in my house,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy H
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2016

I now feel like I have a caring family, and a lovely home away from home, in Guatemala. I was here for a week. During that time, the staff was very attentive, they learned my likes and dislikes, and always made sure I had fresh cup of coffee as soon as I sat down for breakfast. The food was exceptional,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We stayed here 1 night, arriving late and leaving early, so did not see much. When we arrived it looked right, but I could not figure out how to get in. I was getting nervous, but finally found a little button to press which called the staff who came and let us in. We had rented a car, and they... More 

Helpful?
Thank MCAInnkeeper
Orcas Island, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Although the host was charming and accommodating, including moving me to a different room, he couldn't make up for the fact of black mold, to which I unfortunately had an allergic reaction. In the first room it was in huge patches on the walls of the bedroom and bath, and speckled all over the ceilings. In the second room it... More 

Helpful?
Thank agtraveler2016

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (21)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#29 of 47 in Guatemala City
56 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#27 of 47 in Guatemala City
14 reviews
4.3 km away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#21 of 47 in Guatemala City
105 reviews
4.9 km away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#13 of 47 in Guatemala City
169 reviews
4.1 km away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Price Range: $55 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Posada Belen Museo Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Posada Belen Museo Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“first one to the right as you walk in has weak wifi”
  • our bedroom
 of 5 bubbles Sharonbader, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a spacious bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles robertam761, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are equally pleasant , clean and quiet with lots of hot water.”
 of 5 bubbles thomasrI9958KG, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 2, awesome view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles 457ricka, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“any of the rooms are nice, the interior rooms would be more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles hemmersp, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay