We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pan American Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Pan American Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pan American Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 62: English reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

While traveling with grand circle travel, we were taken to this hotel on 5/4/14 departing the next afternoon. Was told my our travel guide not to go out after dark..it wasn't safe. My room 201, looked out onto a broken down building. Blankets were frayed and questionable of cleanliness. Grand circle travel made a Hugh mistake in placing a group...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Molly C
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Molly C, Thanks for your comments; it is importat for us to know our weakness and work hard to turn them into strengths. Unfortunately we cannot do to much directly with insecurity in the streets, however the Government has been working hard to improve this aspect in the Historical Center and we believe that the situation is much better...

fort worth
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Flew in from San Jose Costa Rica in March and selected this hotel based on it's past history. I had prepaid at the hotel web-site a cab to pick me up for $20.00 (US). Landed and no cab. An hour went by before the cab finally came. Livid? Yes. But... The explanation that I got was that the hotel had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FortWorthJeffie
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FortWorthJeffie, Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you better. Cordially, Silvia Cruz / Manager

Portland, OR
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Hotel Pan American is a clean, bright hotel in the heart of the historic district of Guatemala City. My room was a good value. Small, but comfortable, as was the bed. The bathroom was clean and stocked with good soap and shampoo. The bathroom had a vent window that opened to the lobby. No one could see you but,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven3000
Silvia C, Gerente at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Steven I would like to thank you for your opinion about us. Your comments are very important because they encourage us to improve our service. Hoping to see you soon,

Manhattan, KS
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel needs serious renovation. The rooms are ancient, the beds and bedding are definitely decades old. We found the beds rather comfortable. There is no decor in the rooms. The elevator doesn't work. We were not given the TV remote and had to look for filtered water (it is located in the hallway, but nobody told us about it)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Witoldzio
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Witoldzio Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you better in the near future. Cordially, Silvia Cruz / Manager

Pirkkala, Finland
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We, a family of four, stayed here for one night. The hotel was very clean and the room was nice. The noise of the other guests spending time in the lobby downstairs was pretty loud but it didn't disturb us as we were really tired. Nice place, thank you for the stay!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jari F
Silvia C, Gerente at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jari I would like to thank you for your opinion about us. Your comments are very important because they encourage us to improve our service. Hoping to see you soon,

Nowra, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After a great stay in Antigua, we decided to spend one night in Guatemala City close to the airport because we had to be at the airport at 5am the next day. Reading the info on tripadvisor, we booked (through hotelclub) largely because of price and the advertised 24 hour airport shuttle. On arriving late in the afternoon we were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Trevor K
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trevor K, Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. We are also working in the descriptions at some web pages that offer things just to catch travellers and cause serious problems. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The service was very good, the hotel is very well situated (in the center, right in the middle of a spot of restaurant and main street). The room itself is OK for one night of two, nothing exceptional tough. Hot water, clean room, good bed for 60$/night.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank S G
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S G, Thanks a lot for your comments! they encourage us to strive in attenging our guests and make them fell better than at home. Our rates are changing according to season and now you could find real offers. We hope to serve you in your next visit to our country. Cordially, Silvia Cruz / Manager

Washington, DC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Pan American compares well to other tourist hotels where I have stayed in Central American capitals, but I was here on business. For me, the lack of in-room wifi and business services was a slight annoyance, but on the plus side, the staff was extremely gracious. They went out of their way to make my stay as wonderful as...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank djinna
Silvia C, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buen día: Reciba un cordial saludo de Hotel Pan American en el Centro Histórico de Guatemala. Nos alegra mucho el...

Tralee, Ireland
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago Well located in old town Old rooms with not much mod cons but functional Fairly cheap Not much to do in Guatemala City itself Also stayed in newer embassy area Stay for a couple of days then maybe head to Antigua

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samboDublin
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for five nights. Its located in zona 1, the historic distric. So the hotel is greatly located. Right outside the hotel you will find coffee shops, restaurants, boutiques, cultural centers, galleries, sightseeing. The problem is that the hotel itself is really old. Once you walk in you will notice the old furniture, the old decor....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank frequentflyeragain

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#27 of 47 in Guatemala City
15 reviews
0.8 km away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
299 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#28 of 47 in Guatemala City
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Capri
#38 of 47 in Guatemala City
8 reviews
2.3 km away
Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center
Conquistador Hotel & Conference ...
#40 of 47 in Guatemala City
132 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Royal Palace
Hotel Royal Palace
#37 of 47 in Guatemala City
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Address: 9A Calle 5-63 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Price Range: $53 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pan American Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pan American Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pan American Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think all rooms are noisy, but that's just part of its charm!”
 of 5 bubbles 151clareg, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles RandyOK, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We never pre-reserve. We like to SEE the room before we sign up.”
 of 5 bubbles CaboSanLucasCocinera, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel with no bugs in the mattress”
 of 5 bubbles patrickw335, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make sure that you see a room before you pay for it. That is my advise.”
 of 5 bubbles lilyput2016, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay