We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quetzalroo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Quetzalroo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Quetzalroo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 292: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Honesty is one of the three tenets to live by according the signs posted in Quetzalroo, and they live by it so I just wanted to respond to some guy´s 1-star ¨terrible¨ review I read. Obviously Quetzalroo has plenty of positive reviews so this is probably not even necessary, but some of his claims are just truly inaccurate. Manuel´s corrections...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat L
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We found the staff to be very informative and welcoming. We spent our first night in Guatemala in Quetzalroo, and they answered all of our questions patiently. There was not hot water, but the rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Overall, we were so glad we started our trip at this hostel and look forward to ending it there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic darlinton
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2012

First things first: the service is excellent, they pick you up and they drop you off safely within the vicinity of the city. The guys at the desk are supercool and are very friendly. I have been to many hostels around the world but this is one is probably the best. And to be honest..it didnt even feel like a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isma1
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I've never stayed at another hostel in Central America that made me feel so at home. After staying at the Roo on several occasions, I now consider Manuel and his family/staff to be good friends. They always have friendly, smiling faces when you walk through the door, are genuinely interested in what you are doing on your travels and always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany B
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I came to Guatemala City about one month ago admittedly very freaked out to be in what is considered a "dangerous" city. However, I was in luck! After spending what seemed like eternity in a Hotel in a gated community I was rescued, like the damsel in distress that I was, by Quetzalroo. Over the next 6 weeks, in between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zsofia Z
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed here for a few nights with my dad while in Guate and loved it! the owners are great! very knowledgeable and hospitable! we got many recommendations for other places in Guate to visit and the best things to see while we were there! they drove us to the airport when we needed. they were extremely helpful in every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Azalea B
San Pedro, Solola, Guatemala
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Wow. Don't know where those other 3 reviews came from. They probably stayed at another hostel. haha. Hands down the best and ONLY hostel you should stay in Guatemala City. Our first hostel on our 6month trip and they set the standard for service. Manuel and the staff bend over backwards to make sure you have a great time and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlo M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a great hostel! Free pick-up/drop-off from the airport/bus station is the first bonus. The owners are a friendly family who take the time to talk to you about your plans and to offer valuable travel suggestions. A safe and fun vibe in a relaxed environment is what makes Q'roo the perfect place to stay. The rooftop terrace is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty M
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I could write a novella on how many things are wrong with this place but I will keep it short. First, Manuel (the owner) is the most abrasive person I think I've ever met in my life. I read some other reviews of people talking about a specific person they disliked and I can guarantee it's Manuel. He insulted our...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Richard L
Management response:

For anyone who reads this review: We believe that the same couple wrote the other only two "terrible" reviews we have. Please reffer to the review titled "worst hospitality in Guatemala" for our response.

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 6 July 2012

we stayed at quetzalroo for our last 2 nights in guatemala and it was by far the worst hostel we stayed at out of the 5 we visited. the main problem is the hospitality from the owner. the first guy that worked for the hostel was super cool and nice to us. the next day we met the owner and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank catherine w
Management response:

Dear guest: Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, although we regret that you had an unpleasent experience. We will address the key issues you have raised: 1. Hot showers: We do provide hot showers in all our bathrooms. Unfortunately during the high season we sometimes experience issues with the heater. This was the case at the...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.3 km away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
1,288 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#8 of 48 in Guatemala City
171 reviews
1.9 km away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#13 of 48 in Guatemala City
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
953 reviews
1.1 km away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
639 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Price Range: $17 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quetzalroo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Quetzalroo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They're all good.”
 of 5 bubbles mariegshelton, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms are best option.”
 of 5 bubbles Tapete62, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in most of the dorms and two of the privates, to be honest all of them are good and pretty equal”
 of 5 bubbles ivant987, 13 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs do not get wifi, that's the only bummer, if you have a private room that is likely the case. All the shared rooms have wifi so no worries there.”
 of 5 bubbles VonBlanco, 24 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The private rooms aren't that private - you can hear everything from the dorm and vice versa. There's no internet on the lower floor - not sure about the rooms on the same level as reception.”
 of 5 bubbles 1mmy, 29 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5