We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Seaside Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Seaside Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this simply because we wanted to book something for one evening before we went on to the islands. So dirty and dark and hot and I'm pretty sure my sheets weren't washed and got bitten my bugs. The lady who checked us in was pretty cool but the whole place didn't have a nice vibe and was way... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katiesarahd
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016

This was the first place I visited in Belize, I arrived very early off a bus from Cancun and didn't feel very safe when I arrived. I wish I had taken a photo as the photos on here make it seem clean and like it has been freshly painted. The floors and walls are wooden but the felt dirty, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie C

Travellers are raving about these Belize City hotels

Oakland, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016

My friend booked our stay at the Seaside, so I arrived without any prior information or internet research. The guesthouse is easily accessible, right across the swinging bridge with a great view of the water. True to other reviews, the house is an older glory, but it still has charm and character. I loved the upstairs porch with hammocks and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Treegrapes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Upon arrival, the main host, Mitch, was drunk as a skunk. He had no record of our reservations that we had made, and insisted that we pay cash because he owed money to some other people and needed the cash. He then kept pressuring us to buy some leftover ceviche they had made the night before. He bickered with some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean J
Driehuis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The guesthouse is within walking distance of most points of interest in Belize, particularly the San Pedro Boat Terminal to Caye Caulker, Sand Pedro and beyond. It's a two-story house that has all the facilities you need: a shared kitchen, fridge with utensils that you can use. My room had 3 beds of only one was in use during my... More 

Helpful?
Thank timnij
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The staff here are very friendly and made me feel right at home. Going out of their way to take me to places to buy food and provide important information for travel throughout Belize. The house itself is a traditional old fashioned Caribbean style wood frame house, which has seen better days but I found it charming whilst a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank AblazeRich
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Although everyone who worked here was friendly the guesthouse itself is pretty disgusting and overpriced. Bed bugs, broken window, holes in the bathroom so you can see the floor below, dirty sheets, and to top it off..$50US a night!! I can deal with a dirty hostel/guesthouse if that's what I'm paying for but for $50 a night I do have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grecia A
hurricane4mitch, Owner at Seaside Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Friend, As the owner of Seaside I am saddened and disappointed that you did not have the best experience here at our family run guesthouse in the historic colonial district of our quaint Belizean City. I am sorry that you did not find the conditions up to par but we strive every day to improve on our standards with... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I booked this hotel on my first night to Belize from the glowing reports in the Lonely Planet Guide. Not the best arrival. Extremely intimidating. There was a big dispute with another guest and the front garden was full of trash. Arguments continued threw out the night. Though the manager/owner "A" tries to coast over the obvious problems with the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank John W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

We are use to rough travel but after visiting 9 countries this place is hands down the absolute WORST place we have ever stayed! We booked a private room were charged twice the price advertised on Trip Advisor. Our son's bed seemed to have cement as a mattress. There were gaps in the floor where you could see and hear... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Doria R
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Some people use Belize City only as a hub to launch out to the cayes. However, I am incredibly glad I took the time to explore the city. The Seaside guest house was charming and unpretentious. The Staff made you feel like one of the family. They were incredibly helpful and offer a rare and wonderful chance to experience Belizean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fionn M

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.5 km away
Chateau Caribbean
Chateau Caribbean
#3 of 7 in Belize City
126 reviews
0.4 km away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
74 reviews
0.1 km away
Coningsby Inn
Coningsby Inn
#19 of 26 in Belize City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Belcove Hotel
Belcove Hotel
#10 of 26 in Belize City
171 reviews
0.7 km away
Bella Sombra Guest House
Bella Sombra Guest House
#6 of 26 in Belize City
86 reviews
2.6 km away
Bella Sombra Guest House Kings Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We accommodate backpack travelers from all over the world..... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Seaside Guest House

Address: 3 Prince Street, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Price Range: $57 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seaside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Guest House Hotel Belize City
Seaside Guest House Belize/Belize City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Seaside Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“flirt with owner”
 of 5 bubbles AblazeRich, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There are none”
 of 5 bubbles waferb, 3 May 2015 | Read review
“Go for the dorms if you are on a budget...”
 of 5 bubbles Z1839RXjohnt, 9 Feb 2014 | Read review
“No tips. Just don't go.”
 of 5 bubbles vancitybabe22, 22 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Just don't choose a room here. Go to the Cayes!!!”
 of 5 bubbles wanderingfeet24, 13 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay