We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

San Luis Bay Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
San Luis Bay Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for San Luis Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 205: English reviews
Buena Park, California
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is not a hotel, but a time share and they treat you like the unwanted in laws. No clean towels or sheets allowed for non owners, as they informed us . Expedia was even apologetic as they were fully aware of this but chose not to disclose it us. There are other hotels in the area that can provide...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Debbie T
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

First off, I want to apologize for the poor servce that you recieved from my staff. All guest should be treated with respect. I will be using this as a tool for training with my staff. Thank you Ben Banks

Los Angeles
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We've stayed here several times. It's actually a timeshare property but available to public as well. They are just across the street and down the road from the Avila Pier to the south, fishing markets to the right. Free parking, and good customer service. Very accommodating. All suites so stock up with whatever you will need. Even the smaller studios...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nhfn
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

I wanted to Thank you for all of the nice comments you gave our resort. take care and hope you stay with us again. sincerely yours Ben Banks

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the San Luis Bay Inn on 6/7/14. After getting home, I realized I had two shirts missing. After searching everywhere, I call the Inn and explained my situation. The lady I talked to was very pleasant and wanted to help me. She said she would check the lost and found, to which I replied,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kathy L
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First off, I want to apologize for what happen here at the resort. We will be doing an investigation on your missing shirts. We are having a hard time understanding how your shirts ended up by the pool, but I wanted to Thank you on bringing this to our attention. sincerely yours Ben Banks

Fresno, California
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

First off let me say that we are Diamond Resort owners, we have stayed at Kaanapali Beach Club, Point at Poipu and Cabo Azul. San Luis Bay Inn did not compare to those in many ways. This is the equivalent of a beach condo. The pool was ok, not what I would consider a resort style pool. The building and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sabrina J
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

Good morning, First off, I wanted to thank you for all of your comments that you had on the resort. Board of directors have plans to finish remodeling the rest of the rooms. We are a older resort, which start out as a hotel back in 1968, so we do have some restrictions, but over all you are right. It...

Kauai
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I spent a week of traded timeshare at the resort. We were so lucky to get an ocean facing unit and the view is spectacular, the unit was comfortable and clean amd we had a really pleasant stay. Grounds are immaculate and pool and hot tub were warm and welcoming, We enjoy eating in and there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4fishtaco
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

I wanted to Thank you for all of your kind words. Sorry, about the one elevator and the slow wifi. take care and have a great summer. sincerely yours Ben Banks

San Francisco
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a studio room for two nights. Room was very comfortable and clean. Patio small and disappointing. Great space with dining table, fully stocked kitchen, spacious bathroom. Shower head was a bit too powerful and rather loud, the husband compared it to a rocket engine, however I'd rather have it that way than poor pressure. Front desk staff had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SFCrabette
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

I wanted to Thank you for the very nice comments that you gave the resort. Sincerely yours Ben Banks

Willcox, Arizona
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We just finished our second stay here, we stayed for a week. I cannot say enough nice things about this resort and the people. The entire Inn, including the lovely grounds were immaculately clean and well groomed. The staff, from desk clerks, concierge, to housekeeping were all so friendly and helpful! The pool is heated to 83 degrees and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TomKat2006
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

I wanted to THANK YOU for the nice comments that you gave us on the resort. Sincerely yours Ben Banks

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our second visit to this resort, our experience was a little different from our first. We will return with hopes that some of our experiences will not be repeated. The good: The staff are friendly and helpful, the location is great, we had a wonderful view of the ocean. The bad: This resort is not good if you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan E
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

I wanted to write a response to you and apolgize that you were so far from the elevators. The problem is all of our handicap units are not closed to the elevators. A very poor design. thank you for your time sincerely yours Ben Banks

Reviewed 28 April 2014

All rooms are suites with kitchen, so be prepared to cook your own food or eat out (no restaurant on site). The pool is not heated, so most guests were in the jacuzzi. Best part was the close walking proximity to Avila beach below. I rate this three star hotel, but if you look around the area it's the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doccao
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

I'm very happy that you enjoy your stay, and we hope you will come back to visit us again some day. take care Ben Banks

SAN FRANCISCO
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Out of hundreds of rooms with views in this hotel, we were given the room with absolutely NONE - we had a nice view of an interior wall. It's really a bummer when we drove 3 hours out to have no ocean view, TOTAL buzz kill for our vacation ......we were told 'timeshare owners have first choice'...... Pros: + Clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MCTAI
Ben B, General Manager at San Luis Bay Inn, responded to this review

I wanted to apologize for you not have a view from your room. All six of our rooms that we have do not a view. Ben

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.6 km away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
800 reviews
0.4 km away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
659 reviews
0.7 km away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
584 reviews
7.8 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,297 reviews
5.0 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Concierge

Additional Information about San Luis Bay Inn

Address: 3254 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93424
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Price Range: $198 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Luis Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Luis Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Bay Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel San Luis Bay
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Avila Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from San Luis Bay Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from San Luis Bay Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont come here unless you are an owner”
geiszler, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front.”
need4sand, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Ocean View room.”
cherylhubartt, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Despite asking for an upgrade (I would pay) - they said all rooms are the same”
92brentm, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get an ocean view if you can”
Hiptovacation, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5