We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Mac Rae

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Mac Rae
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mac Rae
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Corona, California
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Mac Rae! The room was spotless, the view was spectacular, and the staff helpful and friendly. Our room (# 205) was so welcoming with a great air conditioner. All of Southern California was experiencing a heat wave when we were there, including Catalina, and the cool comfortable room was so nice. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Runnings J
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your room and your stay with us! Thank you for sharing these kind words. We look forward to having you as our guest again next year, if not before, and be sure to ask for room 205 again! Kind Regards, Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager

Orange, California
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We were a little late making reservations for the weekend in Catalina and to my surprise found a ocean front king room at Hotel Mac Rae. I snatched it before it got sold out as well, since we already had boat reservations to go. Once we arrived to Hotel MacRae, first thing we remembered them telling us is that there...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jrencher611
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your birthday experience at the Hotel Mac Rae. Those ocean view rooms are our most popular guest rooms for the reasons you expressed. Thank you for acknowledging the attention to cleanliness that our housekeeping staff pays to our rooms. I'm glad that we were able to extend your checkout and that you enjoyed our staff. We...

Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed 14 June 2016

This hotel is terrific! Right in the heart of everything. Our room had an ocean view and a great breeze with the windows open. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The bathroom is small but no need for a lot of primping in Catalina! Room was clean, bed was comfortable. I would stay here again for sure!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorri B
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and I am pleased that we were able to contribute to your island experience! We look forward to your next visit. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Like the other reviews said, the hotel is at a great location with friendly and helpful service. Pretty basic hotel- The main reason I give them less stars is for the poor value... Even though it was peak season, the $300/night we paid seems extreme for just how basic the room was. The comforter had some yellow/discolored stains and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CATraveler30s
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

It is our goal to provide our guests with valuable hospitality to enhance their island experience. As I have mentioned before, the pricing of our property is generally the best that you will find right on the beach in the center of Avalon. Your comforter experience in unacceptable and not typical of our property, as you can see from other...

Reviewed 8 June 2016

The hotel is your basic hotel with no frills , I wasn't dissappointed with anything. .Location was good, central to everything .Room as promised , a tiny bit loud as it is above a club but really not bad. And it got quiet around midnight. We checked in early as soon as the room was ready which was nice. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you appreciated the cleanliness and location of our hotel. We have had a recent change in our office staff so you will not have the same experience on your visit. The internet on the island is substandard and a common complaint with all of...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

The rooms were very clean the hotel was nice, little. Courtyard to sit in. Felt the room was a little expensive for the size and what you got the bed was extremely hard other than that very nice and very nice people to deal with. Very convenient location. Would stay there again if had a bit better price and different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoy our "very clean" hotel. Our central beachfront location does have an affect on the pricing of our rooms. However, research will show that we generally have the best prices on the beach. We would be happy to welcome you back to the island in the future. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager

Florida
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Wonderful location in the middle of town. We enjoyed sitting on the courtyard upstairs even though you were surrounded by rooms and could not see the ocean. The hotel was old but clean and the rooms were adequate except finding plugs for computers and phones. Coffee ready at 7 am and some muffins and croissants. You pay for the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

We have 4 ocean views across the front of the hotel, on the beach. The other rooms surround our open-air courtyard. This design provides for a quiet, peaceful courtyard right on the beach, in the center of Avalon. I am sorry my staff was not able to provide you with the information that you requested. I will visit with them...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 June 2016

After researching almost all the hotels on the island, I was pleasantly surprised by how amazing Hotel Mac Rae was on many levels. I had never been to Catalina and came for my birthday on 5/25/16 and brought my mother and 1.5 year old son. The hotel was very easy to walk to from the dock where the ferry drops...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Francesber
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to share this review. I will share your comments with my staff as well. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed your Island Birthday and that we were able to play a part in your experience. We look forward to your next visit. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General...

Los Angeles CA
Reviewed 26 May 2016

There was a special event on the island the place was slammed. The Mac Rae still had one room. The room was clean and comfortable. There is a drought on Catalina so water conservation is on everyone's mind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wideglidewanted
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

We are glad that we were able to accommodate your for a Little SCUBA and Island Time. We look forward to your next Island visit. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Room was fine. But if you were unlucky and got a room off the courtyard, you would have to keep your curtains closed. Lots of stairs with no one to help you. No security whatsoever. Young people at the desk not very knowledgable. Continental breakfast only consisted of soggy pastry and extremely weak coffee

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivianrae
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

I am glad that your room was fine, but I am sorry that you did not take advantage of what help is available to your from our staff. Our office staff assists guests with their luggage upon request. We also have 24 hour security on the property. We close the security doors in the evening that only our guests can...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,022 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
467 reviews
0.2 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
179 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
339 reviews
0.3 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4th generation Mac Rae family invites you to our centrally located beachfront hotel. Our hotel features panoramic ocean view rooms, continental breakfast, an open-air courtyard, complimentary beach towels and DVDs, after check-out shower facilities and luggage storage. All rooms are non-smoking and offer air conditioning, wireless internet, cable TV/DVD, and hair dryers. Come and enjoy our relaxing, quaint Mediterranean atmosphere right on the beach, in the very heart of Avalon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Rae

Address: 409 Crescent Ave., PO Box 246, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: $91 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Mac Rae Hotel
Mac Rae Avalon
Hotel Mac Rae Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mac Rae staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mac Rae staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The courtyard is cute, it was quiet for us. Heaters in the nearby rooms were a bit noisy”
 of 5 bubbles jocelynn515, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back facing rooms may be less noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 196MichaelK, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“quaint, cozy historic hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jphl63, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Oceanfront is so worth the money”
 of 5 bubbles kelleyisaac, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the back are nice, no street noise”
 of 5 bubbles 136PeterK136, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5