We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Catalina Boat House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Catalina Boat House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
St. Louis
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The history of this place is worth staying. Small place. Choose the upgrade (the room pictured the most on here). It is lovely. Clean place. Good service. It is up a hill-so maybe not ideal for someone physically challenged. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank careks
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback :)

Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

The staff was the best and room was perfect. Reasonable rates and pet friendly. The staff went out of there to do things for us. Found out they don't rent out to visitors anymore it's only for there people. Have to go Hermos which we stayed only a few hours very dumpy. I want to go back but I hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LYNN ANN F
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Room was extremely tiny. Stayed in room 5. When we arrived the room was not clean and there was blood on the toilet. All that could have been tolerated just to preserve valentines day but the bed was broken. My husband and my backs are still in pain and in need of a visit to the chiropractor. If this is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maria7458
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello Maria, It saddens us to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay with us. When your party contacted the front desk, many of these issues were not brought up. We hope that readers do not take the inaccuracy of your review to heart as we do have a front desk, we provide enough towels for our guests, and...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Worth going two blocks uphill to have the place almost to ourselves, plus a lovely view of the harbor. Not only did we get upgraded to the nicest room, but also we were welcomed with complimentary tickets to the botanic gardens and glass bottom boat ride. The young men who helped us were as sweet and friendly as could be,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KymberlyWE
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Kymberly, It pleases us to hear about your satisfactory stay with us! We're glad we were able to go above and beyond your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience with others!

Chicago
Reviewed 19 December 2015

I selected this hotel for our party of four for the New Year's Eve holiday 2014/2015, and was amazed to find how unkempt it was, considering that it (and the Hermosa) were offered as a package by the Chamber of Commerce for the New Year's Eve gala at The Casino ballroom. The bed was comfortable and the linens seemed clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello Edward, It saddens us to hear about your unsatisfying stay with us. The Catalina Boat House Hotel went through a large remodel in 2014 and took advantage of the slower time during the winter to get some more remodeling out of the way before our peak season came around again. We apologize at how this effected your stay with...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Wow I've stayed in hotels fitting adjectives ranging from Bad to Awesome. Well, sad to report our room at the boathouse was Awful. My poor hubby had to stay there for 10 days while I arrived at the tail end of his stay. We had to walk downstairs a couple flights then turn left at the junkyard. The only maintained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rho K
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hello Rho, We apologize that your husband's stay (covered by business) was so unsatisfactory that you have decided to repost this review months later. As explained in a previous response, there were some things that made you uncomfortable that could have been brought to the front desk staff's attention. We would have solved your issues as best to our ability...

Escondido, California
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Friendly staff! But not truthful. They wouldn’t even pick us up from Catalina Express however their shuttle was sitting in-front of the Hermosa hotel, at time of booking they said they would pick us up. They did take us back to the ship today, I have to give them that! Disappointed with amenities and room. NOT enough staff to run...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank frances h
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Frances, As explained to you upon booking and at time of arrival, the shuttle is based upon availability and is never guaranteed. We did not have the available staff to run our shuttle on your arrival date, so we apologize for the inconveniences your party encountered. We are still in the process of remodeling and the room you stayed...

Temecula, California
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Disappointing!, I planned a month in advance to take my son on a father son trip. get to the Long beach boat shuttle go to get or tickets an the Confirmation number I was sent from hotel is wrong and they cant find tickest?get to the island I can handle the swap out from Hermosa hotel to this place ,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mhphotoman
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 26 August 2015

This place is very very affordable... but it does come with at a few costs, comfort, size, location and cleanliness. Comfort: Spring mattress, 2 small bath towels (very cheap, wall mart style) and 1 very small hand towel. There was no bath mat, so we used the hand towel as the bath mat. We had to ask for toilet paper...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LA Epic C
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

My family and I arrived on July second before the big holiday and were able to find this little gem on the island. The place is spotless clean very quaint small but a very affordable place to stay. When everybody else was taking full advantage of the holiday weekend price wise these people were still very affordable very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HermosaHotel, Manager at Catalina Boat House, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
337 reviews
0.4 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
460 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
566 reviews
0.0 km away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#10 of 20 in Avalon
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming property is located one block uphill from the beach in a quiet residential area still walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Modern kitchenettes and our sunny patios set the scene for relaxing barbecues with family and friends. Store your bikes in our lush courtyards or enjoy lounging on one of our public or semi-private decks with sweeping harbor views. We have some pet friendly rooms. This is the perfect setting for intimate weddings and small events and celebrations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catalina Boat House

Address: 200 Marilla Avenue, Mailing: PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Catalina Beach House)
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach House Hotel Avalon
Catalina Beach Hotel
Catalina Beach Avalon
Catalina Boat House Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Catalina Boat House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Catalina Boat House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms here”
 of 5 bubbles 268edwardf, 19 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Book a room somewhere else until staff, and amenities improve.”
 of 5 bubbles 735francesh, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from room 14 at the bottom of the hotel especially if you want to rest & have quiet at 5:30 am”
 of 5 bubbles Mhphotoman, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“This place looked so much nicer in the picture. Also, it is located up a very steep hill and the walk up to it was exhausting.”
 of 5 bubbles caryles2015, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles 53jimt, 3 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5