We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Atwater

Booking.comUSD 134*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Atwater
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 476: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Atwater
 Click to rate
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What you don't see online and only find out if you call is most hotels on Avalon won't store your bike. My wife and I were bike touring down the coast and had no choice butto bring our bikes. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating. The bellman greeted us at the door, showed us where to put our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Kevin, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

San Marcos, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Hotel Atwater as a family of 5, so we stayed in a nice corner suite, which was very spacious. Nice large king bed and sofa sleeper, also plenty of room to add a roll-away bed. The bathroom was large with over sized tub (though the jets didn't work and the fixtures were a little finicky), but still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francisfammem
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear francisfammem, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater for your family vacation. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made a last minute booking through booking.com and we could not have been happier. We like historic hotels so we knew what to expect. There is no elevator and the trek up all the stairs can feel daunting after a day of sight seeing. The room is also very small and we shared an outlet to charge our iPhones....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thehep
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Thehep, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll pass along your compliments to Juan. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Menifee, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Liam (pretty sure that was his name) was great! He Always made it a point to chat and give us his insight on our plans for the day when we came downstairs, the room was a tad bit too small (and they said they had no available rooms for upgrade for that night) but it did the job. The hike...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angela p
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Concord, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel Atwater is right in the heart of Avalon just a short walk to the water or the many restaurants and bars. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and available 24hr. The rooms are clean but dated. Our Economy Queen room was small but not cramped. The bathroom and shower were very small. I expect some larger folks would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biodean
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Biodean, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

South Pasadena, California
Reviewed 17 April 2017

For our first trip to Catalina (Wife's Birthday), we chose the Atwater Hotel. First, you can't beat the location. It's pretty much in the middle of everything. Shopping was only steps away, as was food. The place is clean, but old. The room we had was on the third floor. There is NO ELEVATOR, so if you have trouble with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don R
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Don, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will choose the Hotel Atwater again. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Reviewed 11 April 2017

First time staying overnight in Avalon. Not sure what to expect - hadn't been to Avalon in over 40 years. We arrived on the ferry in the morning but we knew our room wouldn't be ready until the late afternoon. That was no problem because we just dropped off our luggage at the ferry terminal and it would be taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melvin W
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Melvin, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater for your family getaway. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Mountain Center, California
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go from this location. The hotel was old and the rooms were small but it was clean, neat and adequate for a short stay. We didn't spend much time in our room as we were out being tourists. The price was reasonable and the staff was very nice and friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamelaPotter
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Pamela, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

First time on the island and this hotel was in near everything. We didnt get a rental. We were on foot our whole stay. Perfect spot. If i go back to visit i will definitely book in this hotel again. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maria H
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We checked into Hotel Atwater for our anniversary and were given a beautiful 3rd floor room with a lovely view. (Room 312). We went out to grab some lunch, by the time we got back to the room, we were surprised with an amazing basket filled with wine, sandwiches, salad, water and the best cheesecake! Gary at reception took the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michellevlavianos
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater for your anniversary celebration. I'm glad we were able to make your stay a special one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,077 reviews
0.2 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
477 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
607 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: $173 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Atwater staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Huntington Beach, California
Los Angeles, California
7 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Atwater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The third floor is a climb but well worth it.”
kevinf775, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 309 was very quiet. The room has no view but we were just there to sleep so we found it perfect for us.”
thehep, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“The third floor, facing the harbor, has the best views (not really spectacular), but it is a hike up the stairs.”
  • The view from our third floor window
214donr, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Double queen room, spacious bathroom, spacious room, clean, tidy, light room, nice views, airconditioned, good choice! Room 312 on 3rd floor”
  • Welcome card with roomkey card and Ben's Cafe voucher
michellevlavianos, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the family suite, which slept our family of five.”
943candicec, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 134* /night
View Deal
HotelsClickUSD 195
TravelocityUSD 134
Orbitz.comUSD 134
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates