We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,179: English reviews
Baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very enjoyable stay at the Beacon Hotel with access to lots of restaurants nearby and handy for my meetings. The room as very comfortable and quiet. One quibble, I did find the shower water only little above tepid which surprised me.

Helpful?
Thank Guy S
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to DC for a quick hockey weekend, and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Location was perfectly set in a quite and cozy location but still close enough to walk everywhere. The room was so spacious with every amenity and more, I almost wished that I had brought different shoes just to use the shoe shiner... More 

Helpful?
Thank MEPlovanich
SteveRipai, General Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying at the Beacon Hotel. We couldn't be more thrilled that you and your guest had not only a great weekend but a great stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our valued team member, Desi, who has been with for 10+ years. We firmly believe that it is our staff that makes us great. We... More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel itself was lovely with a big room and in a great location. However, our stay wasn't the best experience. Be aware of calls from someone claiming to be reception asking for credit card details. We were woken by a call to our room phone at 1:30am from a man claiming we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elc2112
SteveRipai, General Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that you had a less than satisfying experience. Unfortunately, the phone call that you had received is a problem nation wide in hotels, especially during the holiday season, where someone from outside the hotel will call and ask to be transferred to a room number. We do promise and advise our guests that the hotel will... More 

yorktown virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is located in a great place with easy walking to a number of historic and cultural sites. Just a couple of blocks away in every direction--easy safe walking--are bunches of great restaurants and bars for all people of all sorts. The staff was pleasant and efficient--the room was very clean and large with a great view of Mass... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yorkriver
SteveRipai, General Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Beacon Hotel, we're so glad you had a nice visit as a guest of ours. You are absolutely correct about our location, it's one of the many things that guests love about us. We are in a great neighborhood with various dinning, shops and entertainment and we certainly hope you got the most out... More 

Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

L ocated in the dupoint area, nice hotel, very clean and friendly excellent staff. The hotel has a lot of very good restaurants near by and is within walking distance of the white house ,fords theatre and the international spy museum.

Helpful?
Thank SOLOGURU
SteveRipai, General Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying at the Beacon Hotel. We trust you had a great stay as a guest of ours and we certainly hope you got to visit all the fun places you listed. Thank you for taking the time to share a comment and we look forward to your return! More 

west Texas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From check in, to elevators, to hallways and somewhat in rooms. This hotel seemed cramped. Check in took too long although the staff was trying. There simply were too many guests for the single attendant at registration, the room keys did not activate the elevators the first try. and the elevators probably fit 4 with luggage MAX. On the plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank porter_osborne
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was fine, but check-in was not great. We arrived early, a little after one, and asked if the room was ready. I was told a half an hour and they suggested we go get some coffee in the restaurant. We went to the restaurant, and were basically ignored once they realized that all we wanted was coffee -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AmyOakPark
SteveRipai, General Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that your stay did not start off as smooth as we would have liked for you. We will certainly discuss this with the teams involved to ensure future stays are not inconvenienced. We trust the rest of your stay went well and hope you were able to enjoy the National Geographic museum, there’s a lot of... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a disappointment. Started from when the taxi pulled up 3 bell boys just stood and watched, then expected after I checked in to help with my bags. No guys it doesn't work like that. Bad luck you miss out on the tip there. The room had no compendium so we don't know what is where in the hotel, had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean C
SteveRipai, General Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry you were disappointed in your stay, please trust us in saying that is never our intention. We will certainly discuss your claim with the bell staff to ensure that they are more proactive. All guest rooms do contain compendiums on the desk with valuable information regarding the hotel and the amenities we offer. We apologize if... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is located in the center of DC, this is the perfect place for the first timer in DC because all are walking distance from restaurants, parks, museums and shopping malls. The staffs are nice and friendly. I will stay again in this hotel on my next visit in DC.

Helpful?
Thank Holly W
SteveRipai, General Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying at the Beacon Hotel. You are absolutely correct, we are centrally located in the city. One of the great things about us is that we are walking distance to so many great attractions, eateries, and entertainment. We hope you were able to see/do a lot while you were a guest of ours and we look... More 

South County, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed twice in one month. First time room was small but adequate and clean. Front desk and bell service were very good. Hotel was very quiet. Have eaten brunch here on an earlier visit and found it fine. The second time we stayed this month, the room had a mini kitchen with fridge, burners, dishes etc. Much nicer and larger... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
SteveRipai, General Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review

Thanks so much for being a repeat guest. We're glad both stays were great for you and we will certainly investigate into your comment about the bathroom. Thank you for taking the time to share valuable information with us and we look forward to welcoming you back! More 

702 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
One Bedroom Ambassador Suite (83)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (246)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Other (138)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#77 of 140 in Washington DC
1,179 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
1,153 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
571 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Li...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Price Range: $129 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Juana Diaz, Puerto Rico
Buffalo, New York

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sleep in? ask for room on the west side--sun will blast into the room if facing east--all rooms have light-quieting drapes.”
 of 5 bubbles Yorkriver, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for high floor away from elevator to stay away from hallway and traffic noise.”
  • Front side of curtains...also stained.
  • Air Conditioning Vent with lots of dirt to blow into the room.
  • Peeling wallpaper.
  • Air vent over bathtub littered with lint.
  • Back side of curtain...gross stain of some sort.
  • Chewed up bathroom door.
 of 5 bubbles number10blade, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room in the circular section of the hotel might be fun”
  • Partial view of room interior
 of 5 bubbles Wayne800, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“King Size bedroom was very spacious, but if there is a room located away from the elevator bank it would be more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles cherfoto, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are better so that the street noise is not as loud.”
 of 5 bubbles edwardsS4493AS, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay