We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,241: English reviews
Start your review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
 Click to rate
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel itself, its rooms and amenities are very good. But the attitude of the management running this hotel is terrible. (I've never seen anything like that before in my 64 years of age). They send cleaning personal to clean your room almost at 5 pm when you are already back and cannot afford the waiting for cleaning and due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m1fir
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent 4 nights at the hotel and were very pleased. Modern and well appointed with excellent service. Location is perfect. Heart of Downtown with share bikes everywhere to get around. There is even a great laundry a 5 minute walk away for getting a bag of washing done. Downside is the breakfast is average (but heaps of better restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ringsau
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review. I'm pleased to inform you our culinary team is looking at our breakfast options. Hope you come back soon to see our new offerings!!

Corning, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great place in a nice location. I have no complaints at all. Near a few fun bars and restaurants. I'm an easy-going person so I tend to like most places. It was clean and there was relatively cheap parking across the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mclancy2017
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing!!! We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay!! Look forward to seeing you again soon!!!

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'll preface this with the fact that we've stayed at many Marriott properties around the world, being Platinum members. I had high hopes for the Renaissance DC, but having just come from staying at the Bethesda Marriott - we were sadly disappointed. Our "upgraded" room was tiny - barely enough space to get around in the room with two adults...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeninden
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback that will ultimately help improve our dining procedures and effectiveness. We hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travels bring you back to Washington DC so that we can provide you with a premium experience that not only meet, but exceed your expectations.

Belle Mare
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful from start to finish. Outstanding service, great rooms ( the pillows are outstanding) the location is perfect close to all modes of transportation and walking distance to White House. Room service could be better. But overall well worth it. Look forward to my next stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank faseegr
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review!! Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future!!!

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a family event. No upgrade for being platinum. Concierge lounge closed. Assigned room was closet-like, with an interior view. Several other couples who we traveled with got much better rooms, on much higher floors. They booked after us, and checked in after us. So much for being Platinum. Service at all dining / drinking facilities on site were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg S
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of Hotel management and staff, thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. My sincerest apologies regarding the elite appreciation opportunities mentioned. I would like to personally welcome you back to our hotel for a second chance! Look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us!

Aristes, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited for a seminar and don't think I received the seminar rate even though I booked early. When I asked at check in was told I was getting a good rate. Do not agree. Sat morning woke up to no water. No explanation until I went to the front desk. Very casual response that we could move to another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LDBrennan
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel management and staff, thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. Our sincerest apologies regarding the unfortunate event with the water. We have corrected this opportunity going forward.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am staying at the hotel. There was a major water issue this morning and my room had no water for several hours. Staff was calm and helpful and offered to honor rate at nearby hotel. Happily the problem was fixed before we had to move. Thanks to Joachim for trying to please a distressed customer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing! Our staff worked diligently during the unfortunate water event. Really appreciate your recognition for their hard work. Look forward to seeing you on a return trip to our great city!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took a one day get away to visit D.C. to see the museums and thought this was a convenient location. Unfortunately the price was absurd especially for the level of service. $700 room with service that I would expect for a $160 room. The room was nothing special, just a dark interior facing room, nothing wrong with it, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review! I sincerely apologize for the frustration regarding our fitness center rules. I assure you the intent is to ensure the health and safety of our guests. Will bring this to our senior management for discussion. Please come and visit us again!!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is perfectly situated for the conference centre. It's not luxury at all. Very basic in fact. But it is just fine for a business meeting if you need to attend a conference. The foyer is its best feature. Basic, but unremarkable. Reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank englishmaninmidtown
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing!! I am delighted to inform you that we are working on some indigenous updates coming soon!! Look forward to showing them off to you!!!

680 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (374)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
King Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Studio Suite (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
915 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
1,499 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
771 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes DC exciting. Award winning restaurants, boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Address: 999 9th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4427
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Price Range: $227 - $749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the Marriott is across the street”
belltownvisitor, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to not get a room next to a suite or just stay in a suite or corner room,”
5Starr4Me, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms near elevator are not noisy.”
420eugenes, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a decent view.”
thenanatraveler, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Inside rooms rooms are very quiet.”
bills617, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5