We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant

Booking.comUSD 354*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Panoramas (33)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 617: English reviews
Start your review of Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
 Click to rate
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This historic hotel is situated on the corner of 11th and L. I will admit, I have a long history with DC, so I was familiar with the area before booking, but I could not have imagined the amount of hospitality and homecoming this would be. I was in DC for work, but this whole trip felt like a vacation!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lili C
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

D.C.-area graduations forced me to look beyond the normal chain hotels to find other options with vacancies--and I'm so glad it did! This hotel is fabulous. Cozy feel. Friendly staff. And very spacious and well appointed rooms! Wonderful downtown location. Highly recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very convenient location-close to sites, excellent restaurants, transportation. Hotel staff was helpful. Room was clean, good size and well appointed. Very comfortable bed. My only problem was the restaurant. We tried to have 2 meals there, but due to poor service we ate elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KT4840
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the convention center. The rooms are very clean and bed is very comfortable. Although I stayed in a room facing the street on the first floor, I didn’t hear the noise from the street. The only issue with the hotel is there is no coffee maker in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boning2017
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to DC. We were looking for a hotel near the convention center, as he had a meeting there. This small boutique hotel was a perfect location for his meeting and sight seeing. Everyone there was gracious and welcoming, and our king room was beautifully appointed. We were in the recently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGirl522
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were disappointed at checkout to find that we were charged $45 for valet parking. We had not been informed of a charge for parking during reservation, payment or even check-in. When we asked about it at check-out, the woman at the counter said she would ask her manager to credit us when he came in that day. Of course,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RIL88
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

RIL88, Thank you for making us aware of your valet miscommunication. It is a part of our check-in process to establish if a guest will be parking with them and go through the charge associated with it. We will use this review as a learning tool for our team to make sure they are more clear and direct with guests...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night here due to availability (it was President's Day weekend, after all) and a great last minute rate on hotels.com, but we were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up and saw a beautiful historic building. We were even more surprised when we went inside and saw how they turned several buildings into one property. While this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradandMegan
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

BradandMegan, We are so glad you found us! As you mentioned, combining 7 buildings into one establishment was a huge feat and we think it truly adds to the charm and ambiance of the Inn. Many guest don't realize that our restaurant is consistently ranked by OpenTable as a top 10 in DC; we are so glad you got to...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Morrison-Clark Inn is a beautiful blend of historic and modern. The mansion itself is on the National Historic Register while the hotel is modern, beautifully furnished and quiet. The hotel is near the Washington Convention Center and business on K Street. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Cell phone reception in my room was uneven; Wi-Fi access...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomSwain
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

TomSwain, What a wonderful summary and review, specifically for those business travelers who need to know the key details; is it modern, clean, easy access to offices/meetings, and good WiFi. Thank you for letting us know that you found a great spot right in downtown. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Urbana, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was only here for a short stay and would return in a heartbeat. The property is beautiful and the furnishings quite lovely. The bathrooms haven't been renovated and the service was a little patchy--first rate most of the time, disconcerting every now and there. I didn't find the bathmat until after I'd showered (using a hand towel) because of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CGUrbanaIllinois
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This gorgeous 1840s hotel has been updated with an Asian flare but keeps its traditional charm. Our spacious king room in the historic section was roomy and lovely. But the shower/tub had no shelf or basket for soap or shampoo, no grab bar or rubber mat for safety (even after two requests). Also, the 36" analog TV looked puny and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aareynolds

401 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Junior Suite (24)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Queen ADA (23)
Viewed
The Carriage House (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Victorian King (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Henley Park Hotel
#101 of 140 in Washington DC
759 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#61 of 140 in Washington DC
1,544 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#110 of 140 in Washington DC
414 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1011 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4359
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Price Range: $198 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison-Clark Historic Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Morrison Clark Historic
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great bed and pillows. No noise on 3rd floor. Turned off the a/c at bedtime, keeping it at 70 degrees because of a fairly heavy comforter.”
aareynolds, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Check in a bit early.”
GentlemanSportsman, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask if some rooms have better WiFi reception than others”
L356GFdavidh, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“I loved the Victorian suite, it was beautiful and spacious . Also I was on the courtyard side so no sound from other rooms or traffic.”
MegsAus, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Interior courtyard room was very quiet”
A6175VUsusans, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 354* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 354
PricelineUSD 354
Orbitz.comUSD 354
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates