We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Capital View

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in November 2016 and had a great time seeing the city. Capital View is in a great location for walking, just a 15 minute walk to the Mall and convenient to everything else, including two different metro stations. Walmart was a five minute walk for groceries. Kitchen was clean. Our private room always felt secure. And it's hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mshinall
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Considering the price, I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff are lovely, the place is very clean and the beds are quite nice. It was a nice resting place to chill and recuperate after a hectic week just previous. I'll definitely be coming back here when I'm back in the states next year :D

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McLabraid
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Hey there, thank you so much for such kinds words. We really do try to clean and update the place like crazy. Just got a bunch of brand new memory foam mattresses... $299 of pure goodness sitting in most of the rooms now! For any folks that decide to book with us, keep in mind we've got events inside the...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Having stayed in many hostels during my travels over, Capital View is at the top of the list. I was impressed by the commitment of the staff. The hostel had a great group of guests, was very clean, and the location a short walk from city center and the monuments. Thank you again for a memorable time in Washington.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hubert E
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice words!

Banovce nad Bebravou, Slovakia
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Price was ok. Location was just fine. It was quiet place to stay. Lockers and wifi were available too. Toilet was "funny". It got clogged.Showers were nice, small and clean. My bed was little bit uncomfy, but nothing I could not handle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katarína Š
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Hey there, I know it's been a bit, and I just commented on another post, how we put up a bunch of new expensive memory foam mattresses, to replace a few hold outs from the last year that were less than stellar maybe. If by chance you read this, let us know what room/bed you were staying in, so we...

Reviewed 15 July 2016

Hard to find unless you know where you are going. Clean, comfortable, cheap & cheerful. Did the job for a quick 3 night stay in Washington DC minutes walk from chinatown & subway (which connects to Ronald Reagan Airport)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoë B
Reviewed 6 July 2016

As a budget-oriented traveler, I've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world whenever I travel solo. Capital View was by far one of the best hostel experiences I've ever had. The rooms are clean and spacious, and even though I was in a 6-person dorm there was still plenty of privacy in the room itself. There are many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments. We do try to make sure everyone enjoys their stay, and we're happy to see a positive experience!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Quite a roomy hostel about 10 minutes' walk from Capitol Hill. The staff were friendly and helpful, the place is clean and comfortable and there's two common areas, one with a kitchen, and a roof top patio as well. Would have preferred a more secure area to leave bags on our final day, but there wasn't any problem in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank armrestdominance
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you! Do keep in mind that we can securely lock all important items in the office for you, and the less secure storage area that is free can be used for bulky luggage. Due to our proximity to the Library of Congress and generally being super accessible from all metros and in the very center, we do get people...

Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for one night on the 3rd floor girls dormitory. There was space and shelves for belongings, along with lockers for more valuable items. The beds were very uncomfortable and was not able to sleep easily. There was an insect on the wall, which was very disturbing and small pieces of mold on the wall. There was only one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zahra H
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

thank you for your comments, as we take them all in consideration. We have replaced almost all of the mattresses to brand new ones at the beginning of this year. Some mattresses were hold overs, if we thought they were in great condition. We do ask for guests' help at the time of check-in to help identify the few that...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

The location of the place was ok, only a short 15 minute walk from the train station and about the same to get down to National Mall. The hostel staff were very warm, welcoming and friendly. The price of the hostel for 3 nights was also fantastic. The Hostel and facilities itself were sufficient enough and very comfortable, it felt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leifstarkey
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

hey there, thanks so much for your review. We do refill free coffee/tea/sugar/creamer/oil/pancake mix and peanut butter daily, and I've reviewed the logs, and saw it there at all times; I'm sorry if somehow coffee was empty every time you checked, must have gotten refilled right after. Also we use a real time integrated software that doesn't allow for overbooking,...

Reviewed 27 April 2016

I stayed there with a friend of mine for 2 nights. It was a NIGHTMARE. It happened so many things that a single post wouldn’t be enough, but I will try to explain in a few sentences what a horrible hostel Capital View is, to warn all of you before it’s too late. 1. We reserved through the website Hostelworld.com...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marco G
Dc L, Manager at Capital View, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, but I have to address it on multiple inconsistencies, since they are very untrue. "1. We reserved through the website Hostelworld.com for 2 nights by credit card. We also paid a 12% deposit (19$) for the hostel" - Correct, there was a deposit paid, and when you arrived the due total was what was listed...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Phoenix Park Hotel
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
105 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton George Hotel
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
2,044 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#60 of 140 in Washington DC
725 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The most centrally located hostel in Washington, DC. We are just blocks, and less than 10 minutes away from The Capitol, The Monuments, The Museums, and all of the major attractions in the Capital. Feel free to explore, or just spend the time on our roof top patio, and utilize our roof top pool and Jacuzzi access on weekdays! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital View

Address: 301 I St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2524
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square , Upper Northwest
Price Range: $28 - $1,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capital View 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital View staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Capital View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 8 is a private room on top floor with 2 beds (bunks) close to rooftop deck and restrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles kathydZ734MR, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“room #2 gets really hot. while room #3 is on the chillier side”
 of 5 bubbles 329aniah, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The online info was accurate and description didn't disappoint.”
 of 5 bubbles 815seamusc, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Always ask for the below bed”
 of 5 bubbles PMCortez, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Third floor has two private showers with better water pressure.”
  • Second floor 4 bed room
 of 5 bubbles I1737PMpauld, 10 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay