We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Palm Beach Bungalows

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Palm Beach Bungalows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Palm Beach Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 November 2014

My husband took me back to Palm Beach Bungalows as we had enjoyed a luxurious stay once before. (5 years ago) unfortunately my excitement soon turned to disappointment once we arrived. Rusty outside furniture stacked outside the door that hadn't seen a clean since last summer? We walked through cobwebs as we entered the kitchen! It smelt musty, and needed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank My-Bella-Puka
palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Hi there - all fair enough comments for the state of the place when you stayed. We took over just after your stay and have now renovated, adding a deck and french doors to the bungalow you stayed in. New paint and carpet, insect screens on the windows...and no fridge in the bedroom! We agree - not luxurious, even now,...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 November 2014

We had stayed here before in another unit. That was 4 years ago and I don't think anything has been done to it since then. It is not romantic to be greeted with cobwebs in the face as you open the door and then the damp smell. The bed was covered in dust. Very sad because last visit was so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james1959136
palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Hi James Sorry to hear about your less than perfect experience. Having bought the bungalows shortly after your stay and now invested hugely in renovating them, we'd love to talk to you about giving the place another try - please get in touch if you're interested. Kate

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Firstly I have stayed here before in 2010 and it was wonderful, my wife and i were very excited to revisit this place as it was a unique and romantic place to spend a few nights tucked away in the serenity of the native bush of Waiheke. We will not be returning unfortunately as this it is not the same...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ngatai P
palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Hi there, Very sad to read about your experience as I look through old reviews. We completely understand your list of complaints and would love to offer you the opportunity to have a better experience at this accommodation, which we bought at the beginning of last year and have renovated and renewed. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the path...

Dunedin
Reviewed 13 February 2014

my wife and I spent 3 nights here, what a cool place, wife loved the quirky nature of construction, very comfortable with all the things you need, never saw anyone else as we came and went regularly, booked the Bali Garden and just chilled watching a movie, ( which we never have time for ) after the bath, along with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renegade53
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2014

What a wonderful weekend we have just spent at the Palm Beach Bungalows. We stayed at the Mudbrick bungalow and found it quirky, comfortable, clean and very well equipped. The extra touches of chocolates, romantic CD's, a well stocked mini bar, mozzie spray etc all made the stay one to remember, Great place to celebrate a special anniversary and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peeb_10
Auckland
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The owners have not refunded our money after we decided to not stay for a second night due to rats in the ceiling, gunge in the bath, the bed was as hard as rock and there are too many signs giving too many rules. Never go there !!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fijibaby2013
Peter C, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

We are very disappointed these guests have chosen to use this heading for their review as we have offered a full refund, despite their frivolous complaints. After the complaint we had Waiheke Pest Control inspect the property & they found no evidence of rats. No previous guest in 12 years has complained about rats, We supect that the sound of...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The 5 star Hilton it is not ! Having said that, it is a clean, tidy bungalow, with all the amenities you would expect in a motel unit. Including a spa bath. We stayed in the Luxury bungalow, and it suited our purpose nicely. A quiet place where you are left to do you own thing, although the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Auckland
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is my first review of a holiday but I felt I had to say something about our experiences at the Palm Beach 'Luxury' Bungalow. And there lies the problem- the description 'luxury' implies a sumptuous experience with added attention to detail. Imagine my surprise then when we arrived at the 'bungalow' which is a glorified prefab hut, with tatty...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ExYorkshireLass
palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows, responded to this review

Hi ExYorkshireLass So sad to read this review, even though it was 3 years ago. We have since bought this accommodation and done the renovation promised by the previous owners. But we agree with you that "luxury" is a misnomer. This particular bungalow is now known as the Old Boatshed - I'm sure you'll agree that's a more appropriate name....

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Im not much into reviews but this is the one place, that has a special place in my eyes. This was probably one of the most romatic, relaxed and tranquiel places I have ever been in. My girlfriend and I spent two nights here and we were lucky enough to be spending one part of our night in the Bali...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael R
Auckland
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and I has spent our 9th wedding annivarsary at Tree Tops Bungalow. We chose Treetops as it was the cheapest of the bungalows. Looking at other accommodation around Waiheke we felt that even luxury bungalow was still more affordable than most of the other available rentals elsewhere. The booking went smoothly and was handled very professionally by Brenda,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ldubafr

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
4.5 km away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
212 reviews
2.8 km away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
175 reviews
0.1 km away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
2.8 km away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
33 reviews
2.3 km away
Waiheke Punga Lodge
Waiheke Punga Lodge
#5 of 31 in Waiheke Island
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palm Beach Bungalows - Waiheke Island, Auckland, New Zealand. Set in a bush-clad section, each of our three bungalows has its own individual character and its own private space. Bored with bland chain hotel and motel rooms? Want complete piece and privacy? We are a small, family owned and run business, offering self contained, self catering accommodation in your own little slice of Waiheke. A perfect space to relax and wind down, and only 5 minutes walk to one of the best beaches on the island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palm Beach Bungalows

Address: 77 Hill Road, Palm Beach, Waiheke Island 1083, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Price Range: $164 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Palm Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Bungalows Hotel Waiheke Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palm Beach Bungalows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pay the high rate, if you do go here take your old clothes to clean and your nice fluffy towels from home. Ok accommodation at quarter of the charged price. Stay somewhere else on beautiful Waiheke.”
 of 5 bubbles My-Bella-Puka, 17 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Take a broom, and your own coffee.”
 of 5 bubbles james1959136, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Beware there is nothing luxury about the "Luxury Bungalow"”
 of 5 bubbles NgataiP, 13 Apr 2014 | Read review
“we stayed in the mudbrick bungalow”
 of 5 bubbles Renegade53, 12 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Try the Mudbrick bungalow for a quality experience”
  • Bedroom - lovely and comfortable!
 of 5 bubbles Peeb_10, 20 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay