We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heartsong Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Heartsong Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 184: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great views in a secluded and beautiful part of Waiheke. This was my second time staying here. First was in the cottage & this time in the main house. Great service as usual! A really happy & special vibe to this place. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank morten808
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed every moment. We had the cottage it was so clean. Lovely lavender smell surrounds the place. The croissants were so delicious. Most relaxed and peaceful holiday. Morning breakfast was a yummy big spread of choice.

Helpful?
Thank marthajulie2016
TrishyAuckland, Owner at Heartsong Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was so lovely to meet you and I am pleased you had such a nice time. More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

A truly peaceful, private location. The cottage is a well appointed cosy spot, a perfect place to propose (as I did!). The host (Trisha) is very kind and welcoming, she provided a Vegan breakfast on request. All things considered (location, accommodation, privacy), one of the nicest places we have stayed.

Helpful?
Thank Jono R
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The cottage looks like it has just come out of a photo shot for a glossy mag. Very cozy with the fire going and the beautiful hot pool. A wine in the boat shed watching the sun come down. Outstanding breakfast each day bought to our cottage. We were very well looked after by Sue and Humit. I will be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Jane A
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Such a treat. We love Waiheke but hadn't been to this charming little spot before. The anticipation coming down the drive - like arriving at a best kept secret. This place oozes charm and personality and when you meet the owner - Trish - you can see why. The welcome, the attention to detail, the views, the fires, the boatshed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie J
TrishyAuckland, Owner at Heartsong Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Steph for the wonderful review. It was lovely to host you both here and I am so pleased you had time to relax and unwind after your busy work schedule. Although Waiheke tourism is focussed on the summer weather and beaches, Winter nights are nice and cosy with the log fire in the cottage and the heated spa pool.... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Warning - This is a long review because this place deserves it <3 Heartsong is one of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed. Amazing private spa, a private boat shed, shooting stars and great (complimentary) kayaking - such a beautiful place to be. Our hosts Sue and Hamid were so hospitable - really genuine and kind people, and Trisha... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kjames955
TrishyAuckland, Owner at Heartsong Retreat, responded to this review

HI Kay. Wow- what a stupendous review and thank you so much for the amount of time you must have spent writing it. I am overwhelmed by the generosity and positive feedback you have posted in your review. Many thanks and of course, we look forward to hosting you again ( and again! ) All the best Trisha,Sue and Hamid.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I had a couple of days to while away after a business trip, so I researched some places near Auckland. I hadn't heard of Waiheke Island before but it had some rave reviews. So I checked out Waiheke accommodation options on-line. And even if I do say so myself, I made a truly great choice in Heartsong. The location itself... More 

Helpful?
Thank pau1andrews
TrishyAuckland, Owner at Heartsong Retreat, responded to this review

HI Paul. Thank you for your fabulous review - it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also enjoyed meeting you and the shared laughs we had over breakfast. We hope you do come back and stay with us again, as we were sorry we didn't turn on the usual perfect Waiheke weather. Warm regards... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We had an amazing stay at Heartsong. Sue, Hamid and Trisha made our stay really special. From the moment we arrived until we left, they did all they could to ensure everything was perfect including: - breakfast brought to your room each morning - Tips on things to do around town - A beautiful room with an amazing view This... More 

Helpful?
Thank totocol
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We passed a stunning few days in this lovely hideaway on beautiful Waiheke, forcing ourselves to break away from the swimming, beach and boathouse to allow a little time to travel the island and dip into the wineries.

Helpful?
Thank Theska
TrishyAuckland, Owner at Heartsong Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Yes, Summertime on the island is perfect and I know what you mean, it is hard to find enough time on Waiheke to do everything you want. I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to host you both. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at 'Heartsong Retreat' for 4 days before we attended a family wedding in Auckland. Staying here was definitely the highlight of our trip! Trisha was the 'best' hostess we have ever met. Her vege garden supplied us with amazing salads & fabulous local wine was also available. We used the resort vehicle to go exploring for a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank LNR03
TrishyAuckland, Owner at Heartsong Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review. I am so pleased you had a lovely time exploring the island and thank you about the comments re the boatshed. It certainly is the best place to watch the sun go down with a glass of vino! Our garden was at its best when you were here,brimming with veges and salad greens.It is... More 

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
7.4 km away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
212 reviews
5.2 km away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
175 reviews
4.0 km away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#6 of 9 in Waiheke Island
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
3,617 reviews
4.8 km away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
229 reviews
3.9 km away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. Walk down the private path to the beach and a heritage boatshed is the perfect place to relax and read or watch the sunset. Guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained Cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private external access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Price Range: $407 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heartsong Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Heartsong Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the cottage”
 of 5 bubbles sarahjaneaitken, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They're all gorgeous. We stayed in the cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles stephwlc, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Cabana for couples, house for friends, cottage for families (or couples with more of a budget -has outdoor bath)”
  • The beautiful view from the house (balcony)
  • The private spa for all of the guests (set outdoors under the stars and nestled in the bush) <3
  • The views from the private boatshed
  • The Cabana - so cute
 of 5 bubbles kjames955, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“My room was "Kereru" - beautifully appointed. Simply amazing bathroom with a stunning view.”
 of 5 bubbles pau1andrews, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to sort out conveyance to and from the town,”
 of 5 bubbles siddharthgupta_3, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay