We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 383: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stay here everytime we come to Picton because there is no better location. Great motel with all modern ammenities, clean and comfortable. Lillian and Micheal go out of their way to be helpful and will be missed when they retire, and thanks for the loan of your sprayer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AandC C
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Whenever we head to Waikawa and The Marlborough Sounds to do some boating, it's always our preference to stay at The Bay Vista Motels. The quiet, peaceful location can't be beaten. The motels are very comfortable and kept to a high standard by the friendly obliging hosts, Lilian and Michael, who always make us feel very welcome. Bob and Gina

 Report
Helpful?
Thank b0bgina
Beijing, China
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This motel has awesome view, which I think is much much better then Picton town centre's bay. We plan a pre-wedding photo shooting trip there, the host Lilian was a such nice lady gave us lots of help and suggestions, as well as a bottle of wine as gift! Thank you so much Lilian and the great time we spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeibeiZhang
Richmond, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

My 4 year old and I stayed at Bay Vista for 3 nights in room 3. The view is absolutely stunning of the harbour and so enjoyable to sit out on the private patio whilst my son explored down on the beach. The huge grassy area out the front of the motel was great also for my son to run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kurdle
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This motel is 4km from central Picton. It is in a lovely spot looking out over the water. There is a large grassy area in front of the motel. We were warmly greeted by the hosts, who are very helpful and obviously enjoy their job. The room was rather ordinary, and showing its age. There were a couple of flies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 22KiwiTraveller22
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

Yes, unfortunately we do have the odd fly around at this time of year 22KiwiTraveller22 and that is why we have flyspray in the cupboards for you to use, so I do apologise for that if there wasnt any there as there should have been. We appreciate you taking the time to put your Review on T/A for us and...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our experience was highlighted by our hosts, who may not be there next time we are, as they are moving to Blenheim. Their warmth and willingness to help was terrific, like a waitress can enhance a dining experience, this couple were marvellous. Although a tad dated inside, the motel did not disappoint with the facilities and glorious outlook to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dipage53
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

I know that you will be well looked after next time you come dipage53, this is such an amazing place to work (and stay of course most of all) and lets hope next time, as you say, you have more time to relax. We really appreciate your lovely review you have shared on T/A for us and we wish you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely view of the harbor. Room was clean and tidy. Location is quiet given it is located in a busy port town. Hosts were friendly and easy to deal with. Helpful advice was given for restaurants within the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliet I
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to share your lovely Review on T/A for us Juliet I, it's always nice to have the feedback to help others to have the selection to choose when you come in to an area you havent been to before. We do appreciate all our Reviews and hopefully you will be able to come back another...

Sequim, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night with my honey in room #2 at the Bay Vista Motel in Picton. The best part of the motel is the location outside of the central area. A car is needed to drive to the property unless you are a serious walker. Our king sized bed was comfy and the property is quiet. The motel sits on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronvoyage
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

We do have a free shuttle by arrangement for pick up to ferry terminal and town etc ronvoyage, we just need to know beforehand if you dont have a vehicle. Thankyou for taking the time to put your lovely review on T/A for us to share with others. We wish you all the very best for 2017. Kindest regards Lilian,...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter I stayed at the Bay Vista the day before we walked the Queen Charlotte Track, and on our return. The view to the Bay is quite lovely; the rooms are spacious and extremely well set up; Lillian & Mike, the managers were super helpful. The very best places we stayed on our NZ holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elenamurrum
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

Wasnt it lovely to be able to sit and have that quiet Lemon, Lime and Bitters while waiting for your takeaways from the Jolly Roger elenamurrum, a special time that we dont often get to have with our Guests. Thankyou for your lovely review and taking the time to place it on T/A for us. We wish you both all...

St Paul, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed being a few miles away from town in quiet surroundings with a lovely view. The suite was nicely equipped, quiet, and very comfortable. My husband had work to do, and he sat happily at the table by the large window that offered a view of the water. Lillian, our host, could not have been more helpful and friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
waterfrontPicton, Manager at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

Lets hope hubby got all the work done required Catherine L - it is an amazing place to be able to just sit back and spend the day relaxing (shame about the work, but of course very necessary for some). Thankyou for your great review you have put on T/A for us, we really appreciate you taking the time. We...

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.6 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
242 reviews
3.6 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
7.8 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
12.6 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
306 reviews
3.6 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spectacular waterfront location and 500mb Free Wifi. All 7 motel units at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel are situated on the waters edge in Picton's beautiful Waikawa Bay, only 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Set in 2 acres of park like grounds these 7 ground floor units are all self contained with sky TV and stunning views of the Bay and Waikawa Marina. Take a short 7 minute stroll over to the restaurants/cafes located at the marina or down to the swimming beach and boat launching ramp. Wake up to the sound of the native birds and enjoy a coffee on your private patio in the sun. Relax in peace and quiet away from all road noise. As well, we have available off site a selection of 2,3,& 4 bedroom spacious holiday homes for those who wish to spread out and enjoy your own private space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Address: 303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Price Range: $127 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Vista Waterfront Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Vista Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Family Hotel in Picton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Vista Waterfront Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Vista Waterfront Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have amazing views!”
kurdle, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All units have a great outlook, maybe more so on the slightly lower level.”
dipage53, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you arrive by ferry, make sure you arrange a pick up with the hotel.”
elenamurrum, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All apartments are built to take advantage of the views”
649JanetW649, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think they all looked like good views!”
rogersF6693RS, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5