We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Akaroa Waterfront Motels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 201: English reviews
Paphos District, Cyprus
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The Waterfront Motel is definitely one of the best motels we have stayed in, in our trip around the South Island NZ. It had everything, good position, excellent staff, modern rooms and an excellent view across the bay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

We are working hard to please our guests and reading your review make us very happy,tThank you for your nice comments. We will share your comments with all our staff and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels Team

Christchurch
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We spent a most enjoyable weekend here to celebrate a 70th birthday. We couldn't have chosen a more fitting place to stay. We had an upstairs studio unit that was very well appointed and overlooking the bay - what a way to wake up in a morning - a very relaxing weekend. Special thanks to the staff for their co-operation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, or should I say your stayS, after your recent 2nd visit last week. Our location right on the water edge is unique and very relaxing as you mentioned. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront motels team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Very nice motel, there are two blocks, one block faces the Harbour and the other is end on. There are several tables to sit at facing the water and all units have outdoor seating. The motel has been tastefully renovated and are spacious and roomy. My only slight negative is that the bathroom is very small. The situation is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swissjoron
Bubenreuth, Germany
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This was my last night of the trip, which was unfortunate since Akaroa has many things to do for which I did not have the time. The Waterfront motel has great views onto the bay and nice grounds with options to pass the time. Host was very friendly and helpful with tips for a dinner place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meike V
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. We are happy to hear you had a great time, and I agree with you one night is too short in Akaroa, but hopefully we would have a chance to welcome you again in a future. We hope you had a safe journey home. Akaroa Waterfront Motels team

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

This waterfront motel had a great kitchen, good beds and a fabulous view. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were there 4 nights and were sad to leave. They have bike rentals and sit on kayaks to rent for a very reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annawhartonp
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are happy you noticed the good beds as we have replaced few of them recently, and had a lots of good feedback since. The kitchenette is always a bonus for a longer stay, and we are pleased it suits you perfectly. Bikes and kayaks are good fun too. Best regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Akaroa Waterfront Motel on a Thursday in February, on our way around the South Island. This is a fabulous motel and the suites (we had #85, ground floor in the complex next door) are wonderful. The kitchenette was well equipped and the sitting & dining area just right. There's a king size bed in the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy to see our Waterfront Family unit suits your needs fine with the bedding, kitchenette, dining area and bathroom. The sunset are really nice and being the only motel in Akaroa right on the waterfront, it makes it pretty special. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels...

Reviewed 22 February 2017

We had a room upstairs, very clean and modern, serviced daily. Only downside for us, you couldn't see the TV from the bed, probably wouldn't bother others. Couch was very comfortable, I ended up sleeping on that, being a person that likes to fall asleep with the TV on. Impressed with the 'extras' - an outdoor pool table, Pentanque set,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for your nice comments about the unit and cleanliness. We apologize for the noise, from the private house, next door of the office side units (half of the complex), unfortunately there is not much we can do about it, however we have an agreement and work is done Monday to Friday only, 8am-4.30pm. Since your review...

London
Reviewed 21 February 2017

My mother and I were upgraded to a suite, so we had a bedroom and a bed in the living room, which was perfect. Lovely service, and you can't beat the views from the balcony! Right on the water, clean and well-equipped apartments and walking distance to all the sights of Akaroa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojeba
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed our beautiful location right on the water edge, and our lovely service. Do not hesitate to come again! kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels Team

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Our group from Christchurch stayed overnight as we had to play Interclub Golf at a Golf Club nearby the next day teeing off at 9 a.m. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as we were accommodated in a three bedroom unit upstairs at the end of the complex overlooking the harbour. All amenities were very nice, very clean, quiet and comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Yes the 3 bedroom is a great unit for group or bigger family. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the cleanliness, our housekeeping team is working hard to keep our high standards, We are definitely waiting for your next visit. Best Regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels Team

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The room we had was very clean & the daily servicing was good. Location is excellent, walking distance to restaurants & shops. If the room we stayed in had been refurbished it must have been some time ago. At $225 per night not good value, have stayed in much nicer & larger accommodation with as good a view or better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kim B
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thank you for your feedback, it is important to us. Please be aware your hot water cylinder was check on the first day during the service. Unfortunately since we took over (2.5 years ago) the motel we had to replace already 6 hot water cylinders for different reasons: earthquake, water pressure modification, road work or age...So we have...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.7 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
66 reviews
0.1 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.4 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.7 km away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
131 reviews
1.1 km away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the beautiful, historic French village of Akaroa, just 1.5H from Christchurch. With 24 refurbished units to choose from featuring studio,1, 2 and 3-bedroom units, you can enjoy affordable comfort with the waterfront right at your doorstep. With most units offering views of the water, spacious living and well-equipped kitchens you have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. We are only a minutes stroll to the art and craft shops, restaurants, cafes and other attractions Akaroa has to offer. You could also relax in our private hot tropical spa pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Address: 56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: $114 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa Waterfront Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Akaroa Waterfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Waterfront Hotel Akaroa
Driftwood Hotel Akaroa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Akaroa Waterfront Motels staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa Waterfront Motels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ground floor waterfront is lovely with great views”
JanD342, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Downstairs at the waterfront edge!”
Hakataramea, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We chose upstairs for the views”
kitandgail, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs room No 90 great view”
michaelhA6897NQ, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check before booking, is construction still going on”
164angelae, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5