We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Akaroa Criterion Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Akaroa Criterion Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Akaroa Criterion Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 238: English reviews
Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Wonderful, friendly service and went out of the way to offer us a good deal due to my wife being on crutches. Had a large, comfortable, sunny room with an amazing view of Akaroa harbour. Would happily visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
Mike-Vicki D, Manager at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing this lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us even though your wife was on crutches. I would be very happy to have you visit again when you are both in good health. Thanks and Regards Deborah

Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stayed in Akaroa Criterion Motel for 2 nights. Great View from the upper floor. It was our first 2 nights in New Zealand and it was perfect for that. We walked along the sea, enjoyed the local shops and restaurants. Big rooms, balcony,1 double bed, 1 single bed, kitchenette

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothea S
Mike-Vicki D, Manager at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Akaroa and at the Akaroa Criterion Motel. Being central means that all amenities are in very close proximity. Kindest Regards Deborah

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 April 2016

While we were only staying in Akaroa for one night, we wanted a great location (and to be able to take advantage of the town's pristine views; the Criterion Motel delivered on both counts. We were checked in by a lovely lady who showed us up to our room (top floor with fantastic bay views from the balcony). It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ntawali
Mike-Vicki D, Manager at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed both Akaroa and The Akaroa Criterion Motel. Our location is fantastic and whole team work very hard to ensure that your holiday is a memorable one. Kindest Regards Deborah Manager

Canberra
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We had a lovely large room which had an entrance onto the street and a view of the water. The location is very central and it was easy to walk to cafes and the wildlife boat tour. The host was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanberraJenny
Mike-Vicki D, Manager at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Our rooms are luxurious and very spacious. The location is central which makes it very easy to walk anywhere in Akaroa. Akaroa has many and varied attractions and I like helping guests to find activities that they will enjoy. Thank-you. Regards Deborah

White Rock
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We did a walk in booking and were welcomed. It was early in the morning and they offered us an early (noon) check-in plus a later check out without even asking. The room had a balcony with an ocean view and patio. It had a well equipped kitchenette with hot beverage options. The location was very quiet even though it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Whiterockerann
Mike-Vicki D, Manager at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review

Thank-you for writing this review. It is my pleasure to make your stay as memorable as possible. I'm glad you enjoyed your holiday in beautiful Akaroa. Thanks and Regards Deborah

Wollongong
Reviewed 25 March 2016

This is a lovely central hotel and virtually opposite the lake, although I was disappointed I was on 2nd floor and not top as that is what I thought I booked. View was partial but would,have been exceptional from the top. Lovely glass doors open to a balcony and room was very large and the bed huge. Very clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy J
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2016

A very well located hotel with excellent service. Despite our booking receipt clearly showing top floor, we were given room 8 on the middle floor - disappointing but OK as we had a reasonably good harbour view. The room and bathroom were very spacious, quiet, warm and clean. Good reading lights but a hard bed; no wardrobe for hanging clothes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yaggers
Mike-Vicki D, Manager at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm sorry that you were not accommodated on the top floor, but pleased that overall you enjoyed your time at the Akaroa Criterion Motel and in Akaroa. Management has changed since you were here in November so that situation should not occur again. Bed hardness and softness is a relatively...

S E Kent,UK
Reviewed 19 March 2016

The motel is in the village centre and has stunning views over the bay. It's fairly large and, on the outside, very functional not to say dull. However the parking is fine, the rooms a large and well kept and the staff are helpful. Akaroa is a lovely village and a great place for exploring the Banks peninsula.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
Mike-Vicki D, Manager at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing this review. The motel being central is convenient and our rooms are very spacious. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Akaroa Criterion Motel and found the village lovely. Regards Deborah

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Very friendly and helpful reception. Large well-furnished attractive room with comfortable bed, sofa and chairs. Good-sized shower room with plenty of towels and nice toiletries. Beach towels also supplied from reception . Microwave,toaster and kettle, coffee, tea milk etc supplied. Guest bookshelf and useful guest laundry, mainly available after the hotel laundry has been completed. Glass doors onto balcony with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhallcool
Mike-Vicki D, Manager at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to complete this lovely review. My team and I take looking after our guests seriously and aim to help the guests to enjoy their stay at The Akaroa Criterion Motel and and all the wonderful activities that are available in and around Akaroa. Thanks Deborah

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Stay three nights. Akarao is very busy during the day, tourists come by tourbus at around 10 am and leave at around 4 pm. Before and after these hours, Akaroa is very quiet. The view from my room at the top floor is absolutely gorgeous. But views at lower floor can be blocked by buildings in front. Breakfast can only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NamSheeTsim
Mike-Vicki D, Manager at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review

Hi .Thanks for taking the time to write this review. the views from the top floor are well worth seeing. Most motels in New Zealand do not have a breakfast room. Breakfasts are always served in room. The restaurants in Akaroa are plentiful and excellent. Thanks for the lovely comments about me.I hope to help all my guests enjoy their...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.7 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
48 reviews
0.5 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
202 reviews
0.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
107 reviews
1.0 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.4 km away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Superb harbor views from most rooms at this 4 plus star plus motel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Super-king beds, private balcony. Double glazing and underfloor heating. Free WiFi each day in every room. Free car parking with ltd under cover parking also. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akaroa Criterion Motel

Address: 75 Rue Jolie | Akaroa Banks Penninsular, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: $125 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Criterion Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Akaroa Criterion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Criterion Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa Criterion Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“second floor”
 of 5 bubbles tigersChristchurch, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room overlooking the bay is lovely on 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 828karenm, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 4 which had good views and very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles RitaSmith, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“3 levels (ground floor would be accessible for limited mobility) if able, I would opt for the 2nd floor for the views.”
 of 5 bubbles sherylm541, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You need to book early”
 of 5 bubbles valr399, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5