We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Akaroa House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Akaroa House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Akaroa House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We had a fantastic time at Akaroa house. The photos in the listing don't do the place justice. We were all so impressed when we opened the door and entered this gorgeous property. We enjoyed bbqs on the deck overlooking the picture perfect view of Akaroa. The house was well stocked with kitchenware and all the rooms were clean, tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliette W
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Thank you Juliette - I'm so pleased you all had a lovely stay - and thanks for choosing Akaroa House and Akaroa Apartment as part of your wedding weekend :) All the very best to you both. Kind Regards Alison : )

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2016

A group of us stayed at Akaroa House for Waitangi Weekend. It was absolutely fantastic and provided everything that we needed. The rooms were really spacious and there were plenty of bathrooms for everyone. Close enough to all of the amenities in the settlement. And a great view from the front verandah. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn I
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Hello Glenn - thanks so much for your review, and that's great you had a lovely stay. How nice to get all the family together - the house is rather magical and it's lovely that others can enjoy it for special occasions. The views are so special. Happy travels - Kind Regards Alison : )

SINGAPORE
Reviewed 10 December 2015

Very tastefully done and well maintained house. Could see that the owner Alison spares no effort in offering a wonderful experience for the guests. We were a group of 10 and enjoyed this part of our stay the most. The lawn in front of the house was well laid out with some fruit trees and well manicured. My parents were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TYLS88
AkaroaHouseAkaroa, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Hello T - thanks so much for your review - what lovely family time, and Akaroa is such a great climate for growing everything - the roses are looking terrific and the fruit trees are such a treat and so productive ! we are so lucky. PS - think the main tree is about 150 years old - certainly a...

Zhuhai, China
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Akaroa House. Each room was clean and comfortable. Children loved to play on the lawn. Kitchen and bathrooms were well equipped. We felt like at home. Thanks, Alison. We will definitely recommend to friends and return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jianing H
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Hello J - thanks so much for the review. I'm pleased the house worked well for your family of three generations :) We can make up to four "king" beds so handy when multiple couples staying and still room for a few younger ones in singles :) That's great you had a lovely holiday in NZ, and could stay the...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Our group of nine stayed at Akaroa House in November for a girls weekend. The house itself is just divine with loads of room to spread out and four bathrooms. It really does have everything you could need. I would recommend Akaroa House to anyone needing a larger place to stay in Akaroa. It was an easy walk into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZFamily5
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Hello M - thanks so much for the review - it was lovely that all you Mums could get away and treat yourselves to some friends time. Akaroa and the house are perfect for special "time-out" :) easy to get to from Christchurch when flying in from different places - but a world away over the hill with stunning scenery...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We used Akaroa House for an offsite meeting over two days, it was perfect for what we needed, great location and facilities. Alison and the team were awesome and made sure everything ran smoothly even helping us with catering options. Would definitely recommend and would use it again for a similar meeting, or indeed for a weekend away with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnancygreene
AkaroaHouseAkaroa, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Thanks so much J for the review and so pleased the house worked well for your team. It is a great venue for smaller meetings in a peaceful setting - also the accommodation on-site and outside options as required : ) All the best for your summer season.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a friends birthday weekend in beautiful Akaroa. The house is perfectly positioned for a quick walk into and back from the picturesque village. In our case perfectly accessible for our day at the Akaroa Cooking School. The house retains it charming villa character despite its significant modernisations. Built In 1882 but totally renovated in 2004, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BubbyBoo
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

I was nervous when I read the "almost perfect"!! A hot tub would be a fab addition. An option is the French Tub in the main en-suite - with the french doors open to the garden?!. thanks so much for the review - and lovely that you could all get together. Kind Regards Alison : )

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We held our small wedding here and it was exactly what we wanted. The house was perfect accommodation for our bridal party and parents, and the view from the lawn where we held the ceremony was fantastic. Alison was a marvelous host and was incredibly helpful during planning. Highly recommended and we hope to be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IngridFoster
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Thank you Ingrid - I am so pleased that Akaroa House worked well for your intimate wedding weekend. The heritage features and lovely garden are a great backdrop for a special occasion. Congratulations and pleased the apartment was available for you to book too : ) thank you for staying - Kind Regards A : )

New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We agreed 6 months ago it was so nice with such excellent owners who attend to every little detail that we should return so we have. The only change from our first visit is that it reinforces our strong appreciation of the place. Had the pleasure of meeting Alison which was nice to meet in person this very caring lady....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikijohn
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Oops thought I'd replied to this review : ) Lovely to meet you and the team this time and thank you so much for the compliment of booking to stay at Akaroa House a second time. The house is just perfect for special friend reunions - like yours - so important to take the time to enjoy friendships. We appreciate...

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 March 2015

4 day weekend here with friends - perfect house - beautifully renovated - lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. Fabulous open plan, well equipped living areas, which open out to the huge veranda's and outdoor entertainment areas. Morning sun on the veranda simply gorgeous for the start of the day. Great BBQ for evening meals made easy. No driving - relax and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joy75a
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review

Hello Joy - thank you so much for your review, and what a fun weekend you were all having - such a neat idea to all get together to celebrate a milestone birthday :) the house is perfect for small special gatherings and Akaroa is such a beautiful spot - and you had such gorgeous summer weather :) Kind Regards...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2.0 km away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#6 of 25 in Akaroa
25 reviews
0.3 km away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 26 in Akaroa
202 reviews
1.5 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
190 reviews
1.0 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Treat yourself to Akaroa House. Offered as luxury holiday home accommodation. Stunning sun and views over Akaroa village and sea - then up to the hills. A beautiful heritage property fully restored in 2004 offering five bedrooms and four bathrooms. The French Tub ensuite opens out to the gardens. A peaceful retreat in a great location in Akaroa village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akaroa House

Address: 13 Aylmers Valley Road | PO Box 205, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: $671 - $1,208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single beds can combine as kings, except in the downstairs room with 3 singles (prob the only not-so-desirable room, unless for kids etc.).”
 of 5 bubbles Cec27, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Close to town centre yet clear of busy people and vehicles. Perfect in our opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles Rikijohn, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
“5 couples can stay here and be altogether for a fabulous get together.”
 of 5 bubbles Joy75a, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms in Akaroa House are superb.”
 of 5 bubbles mightymonkey, 22 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Floor level room beside the lounge, has the most amazing claw footed bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Monksontour, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5